Chaos Attraction

Meg's Been There, Done That

2019-08-14, 10:11 p.m.

I talked to Meg today, which I haven’t been able to for weeks because she’s been traveling. I threw out my potential improv class plans for the evening to talk to her because she’s leaving again tomorrow and I wanted to snag her when I could.

Let’s just say I really, really, really needed to talk to her two weeks ago, but better late than never. Because her reaction to this whole boy drama thing was to say, “Oh, I did that to my husband.” They were getting closer in the first year of knowing each other, she said they needed to stop this and said they shouldn’t see each other any more. “If he had taken me at my word...” but they’ve been married 45 years now, so. Then again, it took them 5 years to get together after she had a freakout. She said he wrote her a poem about it (she doesn’t recall what it said) and then went traveling, and she literally moved and went into hiding, and he found out where she’d moved from a mutual friend. Then she thought, “I could marry this guy,” which was a first for her.

She straight up said, “don’t take him at his word” and said he’s afraid of what happens and didn’t know what to do about us getting closer (me neither, y’all), just see where it goes, and “you can listen to no if you want, but you don’t have to.” (Oh, the ethical dilemma.) Like my shrink, she’s all “you say the same thing, a lot.”

In other news, she thinks I have somehow manifested being in a better job situation, now getting my own office, acting, etc. I can’t say I was uh, doing that deliberately, but things have worked out much nicer, I admit! “You keep evolving, which is what I really like about you.” She also thinks I’ll get the role of the hippie in the play.

I also mentioned the hot ‘n cold thing and she was all “you do that, when you get scared you shut down,” though she says I get over it. Hmmmm.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com