Chaos Attraction

Back in SF Again

2021-08-14, 10:56 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Mask Testing - 2021-08-19
I'm So Confused - 2021-08-18
What's Wrong At 8 A.M. - 2021-08-17
In-Office Scheduling - 2021-08-16
Cue to Cue - 2021-08-15

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Friday night: went over to Rae's house. Her mom had pizza sent over (and later dropped off some food for breakfast). We had a dance party in her apartment and later watched about half of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets before going to bed. Both of us are agreed on not liking Dobby because trying to "help" Harry Potter by say, sending a bludger to beat him up during a game, is also not helping him! Also, house elves are annoying.
(Sleeping somewhere else went all right, she had a futon and I got the living room to sleep in, so that worked out. Even though I note that Rae is also slobby like me, but her bathroom sink....oy, that was bad. The rest I could deal with, but not that. I did not want to spend much time in there and there was the one bathroom. Rae is moving next month to get a place where the bathroom isn't only enterable through the bedroom, which I agree with. That is weird. I did hear her coughing in the morning in there and started to freak the hell out (she said she was choking on saliva) and I literally waited to pee until we went to the Farmer's Market the next morning and did not brush my teeth. She didn't go around coughing the rest of the day but I was all nuh-uh, i can hold it.)

In the morning, we wandered around the Farmer's Market for a bit and then eventually left go to to SF, which was its usual slog driving there. Luckily Debbie (Rae's mom) LIKES driving and driving in SF, so she cared not and did whatever just fine. Huzzah. She is fun to talk to and I look forward to hanging out with her more, told her a lot of stuff.

We did the following:

(a) Went to Baker Beach for a bit--pretty cold, briefly got feet wet in the water, mostly walked around in the sand until getting tired.

(b) Went to Ocean Beach Cafe for mocktail (me, drinking something very Hawaiian--it was a Hawaiian place), nonalcoholic beer for Rae, which she is obsessed with, and they had avocado toast and I had a breakfast sandwich that was delicious. They also had a nice little band outside that we danced to. The band enjoyed it.

I'll say this: the Ocean Beach area? Literally the chilliest part of the city of SF (ruling out beaches, parks, and other giant nature areas)

(c) Went to the Disney Store--Rae picked out a rainbow Minnie for me and got a sorcerer Mickey and backpack for herself. The gay guys working there loved my outfit. Rae declared this the happiest day ever.

(d) Then we wandered around Chinatown and Rae was less happy, more cranky. I think she feels the way I do about SF, i.e. some parts of it are just run down or scary or iffy or whatnot and she didn't like those bits. And the stairs/hills, she was not a fan of those either.

(e) We went to North Beach and had dinner, which definitely went over better :) Margarita pizza, lasagna, and fried Brussell sprouts. I was...skeptical of that last one, but whatever sauce they put on those? Actually good. Go figure. "Ate some vegetables," hah.

It was a lot of stuff and a lot of walking around (15000+ steps on my watch), long day. Good one, but looooooooong, as all days in SF are. Also quite chilly, as most days in SF are. I guess it was over 100 over here, so missed out on that one!

Allrighty, I am pooped out but only at 600-words-ish.

Okay, Mom called tonight. Notable things: (a) being annoyed at the relatives again being snooty/talking down to her, to which I was all "Can't we just get a new family?", (b) she thinks some very Republican-y things about the Prince Andrew lawsuit, i.e. "why was that girl making those decisions, she should just be quiet about it, she's just trying to get money and fame." I pointed out that pointing out sexual anything actually RUINS a Hollywood career and does not get you a movie deal, I doubt she'll get anything, and I think she's just trying to punish him any way she can try to. Mom did concur that Prince Andrew is most likely not innocent, so I got that one, at least. Also (c) not sure if she's going to go see Camelot or not, we'll see, (d) she's going back to volunteering at her local theater and whoever's in charge isn't enforcing the mask mandate. It was a tiring conversation.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com