Chaos Attraction

Mrs. Potts's Bitch Slap

2022-08-14, 8:08 p.m.

Sunday: I got up early-ish (did I lose consciousness? Probably not) to get my hair re-reddened, which came out gorgeous, thankyouverymuch, my hairstylist. Everyone likes it so far, except she straightened my hair today and I thought "welp, can't send this selfie of myself on a throne at the theater to Mom about it...." After going home and having early lunch, I went to the theater, where hardly anyone was around until midafternoon. Molly and Annie's dad was there until they were going to a show, Sierra was there till midafternoon, Rachele and Jared/Alisa/Jillian came later.

Activities done: moving furniture/flats around, mostly. I did finally end up doing some painting with Alisa and Jillian for awhile. I got crocheting done (I think I'm finally done with the Daphne scarf, put it out to block when I got home). I also had some fun conversations with Steve, mostly involving him showing me an excellent example of Chekhov's Gavel.

At one point, Steve also gathered most people into the office, where he showed everyone the joys of online editing in Shrek. I think it amused him to show this to Jared in particular since he does video editing. I was all "Look at me being a pig twice" and "THE GROUP DANCE NUMBERS!" and explaining to people how we did this stuff. Steve said at one point some teenager auditioned from Brazil and he had to point out to her mother that this wasn't viable to come over here for filming.

Steve also (sorta???) invited me to a party on Friday night that he said the guy who played the mayor in Music Man was throwing. I was all "um, I don't know that guy, why would he invite me to a party?" and Steve said they were hosting this party in the lobby and I'm family, so. (Awww.) I know they are having some kind of Music Man viewing party next Saturday--I wish my shows had had one, oh well--so I sort of wonder if this is a confusion with that? I guess we'll see if I actually get an invite or not, but I think I'm free Friday so I'd go.

Quotes:

"LeFou is the fourth Silly Girl."-Sierra

Steve came back from lunch saying he nearly died while choking on a chicken finger in the car. I pointed out that would look pretty silly in an obituary. He said he Heiimliched himself.

While messing about with ladders and genie lifts and taking flats off the walls:
"Sierra can do it, she's expendable." -Steve
"This is how I die." -Sierra

"I won't say shit because she's here." -Steve, around 13-year-old Jillian who I am pretty sure hears it plenty. Her mom then said, "she had to watch her language this weekend around a 2-year-old."

Steve on editing: "That was fun and I never want to do it again," and also, " I just wanted you to see the Death Star" (that he put into Shrek) "because it was stupid."

Steve on screws that won't come out: "I'll get them out because I'm a good boy."

I had lunch with Sierra today (I'd already eaten but she fed me a peach while she did that) while everyone else was out, and she finally got moved out of her shitty sales job into a job she actually likes at her work that is research-y and not unpleasant. I am so jealous, I can't even tell you. Oh yeah, and this is how she met her future husband: in college, she thought he was cute and stood next to him, he did the same. Why is it so goddamned easy for some people to find love and meanwhile I haven't been wanted for 18 years and never will be and I'm never going to be wanted again? Why can't I get a miracle transfer out of what I hate? I feel like my future is keep working at this job until I get fired or diagnosed with a degenerative disease, be alone the rest of my life, and die a hoarder. I don't know how to not end up like this.

Talked to Ashley: her boss is not being nice to her and gave her shit in public for going to her sister's gender reveal party and said they are stupid and what if the kid comes out something else later. Which I agree with actually (also, let's not turn a gender reveal party into an accidental murder party either?!), but I wouldn't exactly say that to deliberately yuck someone's "I wanna go to a party" yum, or finish off with "no offense," or say that stuff in front of the entire work team. Apparently this lady has become quite unpleasant of late and Ashley is all "only sticking with this job until the end of the month when my checks start coming in."

As for the actual gender reveal party: (a) it's a boy (Ashley's guess) (b) her brother in law totally blabbed it before the actual reveal, (c) they shot off some kind of powder gun, which (d) scared the dog. Ashley filmed this.


Rehearsal: end of the show from "Mob Song," to fight scene, skipping to transformation so we never saw the Gaston/Beast fight or anything, darn it, outta time. The main leads sat around a whole lot. We did a lot of stage clumping, then assigning who gets to make noises in the dark. I am happy to report that I get the first "Eeek!", my one solo (let's hope I don't screw the timing up). I'm writing it down: Lefou says "I want to go home," count to four, scream! We also rehearsed running around the stage and screaming and running into furniture a lot, which was fun (and got me to 5000+ steps today, apparently). We then finished off by having to do a much more complicated waltz at the end than expected, with turns, which Annie wasn't too thrilled about. Also, "I have a crushed hand," so we were working around that.

Some people costumed up: the napkins had on their skirts, Cogsworth had on his giant box, Scott got out his fire gauntlets, and Jillian dressed up as the carpet AND WAS ADORABLE and deemed "She was born to be the carpet."

Quotes:
Steve: "Jillian, you have to cartwheel all the way to El Dorado Hills." Jillian: "Ok!"
Rachelle on Steve's iPad artwork of the stage: "You keep drawing a cake."
Jan, why weren't you on cue? "I was stalking him at night."
Steve: "You never hear anyone say, hand me the piano any more."
Lucas after Belle finishes singing and everyone applauds: "We're not supposed to clap for her." (Good point.)
Ryan to Julia: "Slap the shit outta me, it's ok." Jean: "Oh, he's one of THOSE." Omar (previously not around) totally was shocked at the whopping slap she gives him.
Steve to Ryan: "You got the snot kicked out of you." Me: "BY A GIRL."
Ryan: "As long as I only have to use one leg."
Steve to Lefou: "You're his hype man."
Me whispering to everyone else at the start of Mob Song: "Why haven't we thrown them out years ago?"

I note that Katrina is in Germany for some reason and posted a dubious photo of her hotel window having a notice on it that if you open it, you will get a ton of mosquitos, and "I see a river. Urinetown." Steve: "Oh, that's where my car is."
Steve: "Can someone go to Germany and get Katrina?"

Steve: "Did we record this? The director should look at it.'
Steve: "You can sit on the stage. Don't get splinters in your tuchus."
I see Omar attempting to sit on the floor in his costume. Me: "Is that a good idea to get comfortable right now?" Omar: "No."
I will also note that Mrs. Potts slaps the shit out of Lefou (albeit not making actual contact in her costume, presumably, unlike Julia). Mrs. Potts doing a bitch slap??

So the other night Shorthaired Sarah was explaining to Annie and Rachele about the joys of the 1980's TV show "Beauty and the Beast." Those two tried watching it. Sarah never could figure out if they finished watching the entire episode because they kept making fun of it, acting out the girl with the gun, and questioning why she got plastic surgery and kept one scar. Sarah kept trying to explain the (not great) logic behind this, like "she wants to remember meeting him!" and "the scar was on the side!". Annie: "I've had plastic surgery. That is not how they do plastic surgery!"

The napkins sit down on the floor. Me: "They're dropping like flies. I mean, napkins." Jean: "The napkins are no longer neatly pressed."
Me on being terrorized by napkins: "I'm totally terrified of layers of ruffles."
Steve, referring to the cart: "You don't need Chip." Rachelle, wheeling the cart out: "Cool."

What should Omar do on his second jump-out-and-scare-people moment? A shimmy? Me: "'Cause Cogsworth is totally the type to shimmy." Presumably the suggestions got dirtier from there, and we were told there'd be children in the audience. Rachelle: "He'll do a wiggle or something."

Jean and Sarah somehow headbutted each other at the end. Oops.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com