Chaos Attraction

Cue to Cue

2021-08-15, 10:57 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Smoke or Covid? - 2021-08-20
Mask Testing - 2021-08-19
I'm So Confused - 2021-08-18
What's Wrong At 8 A.M. - 2021-08-17
In-Office Scheduling - 2021-08-16

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I spent pretty much the whole day except the morning in rehearsal: 1-5 p.m. was "cue to cue" (whatever that is?) and then there was a 2 hour dinner break and then rehearsing the show with the orchestra from 7-11.

They are STILL TRYING TO GET AROUND THE MASK MANDATE, this time by pulling strings and trying to contact local political bigwigs. I'm not sure how that's going to get around the whole "only the public health director can do anything" rule, mind you, but frantic phone message leaving is continuing.

They said that everyone has to show up at 6:30 tomorrow to get mics put on. However, I'm one of the few without a mic because I don't have any solo lines/dialogue. This is fine by me, mind you, but alas, they said I had to show up ta 6:30 to start rehearsing at 7:30 anyway. Wah.

"Cue to cue" was with the stage manager, James, and literally it's "who's assigned to moving which pieces of furniture, because we don't have stagehands." And since I've lost track of how many people dropped out by now (4? 6?), that stuff had to be reassigned. So basically I move a wall back and forth throughout act 1, I put a stump out at one point in act 2, and that's about it, BUT it's something else to keep track of along with "uh, what scenes am I in again?" So that went to about 4:35 or so, so extra long hangout break.

They asked if anyone wanted to go out to eat during dinner break and I was all HELL YEAH LET'S SOCIALIZE!!!! However, the diner they went to.... well, I'll put it this way, they USED to have outdoor seating, but clearly weren't doing it today. (Possibly/probably because it's like 100+whatever outside this weekend.) So....so much for outdoor dining that day. The conversation was fun--shows other people have been in, whether or not it's safe to go to Hamilton (too late for me, said I, but James the stage manager gave up on going), stuff like that. I had some fun conversations during dinner and afterwards with people.

I did hear from Tomas--who apparently was cast in Winters' The Miracle Worker--that he said the show was coming back in November. I did check the Winters webpage and they updated a few days ago saying they'd come back when it was safe and were hoping to do Miracle Worker in fall, but they didn't specify. I sent this info to Robert and got no response on that one.

I got to watch some numbers of the show (Jan cued us when we had to go do something), but I got very confused when she kept telling me to go back stage. Because (not in the script) apparently at one point we just chase Lancelot around the stage. Muahahahahah. Poor Lancelot.

They did break out the box of Clear Masks if we wanted to try them out. I gamely kept one on for the entire rehearsal, a few other castmates tried it briefly and did not like. (I note that despite the claims of "these don't steam up," they did with one person.) My castmates were all "Oh, I can see your face!" but said I sounded like I was talking through a tin can. Basically this thing was having plastic across your face with a foam strip across your nose and chin. Which was okay until you had to open your jaw wider, at which point it tried to slip off my nose again. After the first act I found some scissors and cut the string at the top and tied it tighter around my head, which worked BETTER but still not totally covering a moving face so well. I don't think anyone's going to end up using those, so I ended up ordering some pale pink masks off the Internet to match the outfit. Hopefully they show up in time, due sometime around the weekend....

It took a long time to get started, somehow, so we only got as far as the first few numbers of Act 2 ("Fie on Goodness") before it was after 11 and everyone wanted to quit and go the hell home.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com