Chaos Attraction

In-Office Scheduling

2021-08-16, 10:58 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Camelot Re-Opens - 2021-08-21
Smoke or Covid? - 2021-08-20
Mask Testing - 2021-08-19
I'm So Confused - 2021-08-18
What's Wrong At 8 A.M. - 2021-08-17

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Mom has decided to come see the show on Sunday because Roger will go see Evan and drop her off.

Work today: couldn't work on Big Quarterly Project (which I spent hours prepping for today!!!!) because the computer program broke! AGAIN! My boss was all "hasn't something broken every single time we've tried to do something this season?" and yes, yes it has. I told her that every spring something breaks and the spring project is postponed by weeks because something goes horribly wrong every year, and she said something like "I was hoping you'd be wrong about that." I sadly never am.

Oh, and Grandboss, she who was all "I'm not going to get the vaccine because I don't like putting things in my body?" circa February? Casually was all "oh yeah, I got Covid and...." frankly, I'm not sure WHAT she said about "vaccinated" after that. As in, did she get it before or after being vaccinated? Either way she was totally all casual Friday about this and I was all.... I can't even say.

In other news, we had to start picking what days to work on today. We are supposed to do at least twice a week, though I am unclear as to what exactly we're doing on short weeks. I asked to take the last two weeks off of work again and did get told that since I was going to be out for two weeks, I have to do two other makeup shifts too.

I tried to do the math on this: 77 days, 2 people on shift a day equaled 150-something days, which divided among 5 people should be 30.8 shifts per person. BUT they want a minimum of two days in every single week, which came out at something like 39 shifts over 19 weeks and ..... arghhhhhhhhhhhh I CAN'T DO MATH.

I said I'd come in every Friday on round one because all of my coworkers are long-distance and I'm the only one who doesn't have to deal with Friday causeway and I am trying to be nice and not abuse my first pick privileges, choose the less scenic office to work in, etc. Round 2 came back to me today at the end of the day and I spent the last hour of work trying to do math calculations and giving myself a big headache. At least going first, I can avoid the worst busy days (which my boss helpfully pointed out which those were), but having to do at least one Monday a month kinda sucked* and trying to figure out how many extra days I have to do (plus trying to figure out how many I have to do on a short week) also sucked. My head hurts.

Though she suggested I should trade with Hope, who gets last pick and wants Mondays, on this one.


Last night's rehearsal:

I'm so confused as to what I am supposed to be doing and when I am going on. Like "oh, I'm supposed to be randomly standing around on stage right now?" and "when's the furniture scene change again?" I missed one and Steve gave me a bit of crap for it until realizing this is literally my first in person musical and then literally blessed me (hah). Then he forgot the next scene change, so :P I tried writing it all out on flash cards and that still didn't help because there were other things I didn't know.

I note that the main performers doing the most singing are perpetually losing masks down their nose when their jaw opens. I really want to say GET TIE ON MASKS, STOP WITH THESE EARS ONLY THINGS, but most people are not into that and I keep my mouth shut.

I really don't like "What Do The Simple Folk Do" as a song. I had enough free time at the beginning of act 2 to go watch the start of act 2 and it got problems:

* I think the song is what, 15 minutes long? It's Arthur and Guenevere, two people who have never been simple folks, vaguely wondering and asking each other what simple folk do. Perhaps they should call in a member of the kitchen staff and ask someone? That would make it more on point/interesting. "What do the simple folk do? Whistle. So they try to whistle. This doesn't go great in masks, I'll note.
* "What ELSE do the simple folk do?" Repeat, repeat, repeat. This is not really doing anything for anybody here. Everyone seems bored. This isn't helping their ennui or whatever.

Everybody pretty much inexplicably biffed "Guenevere" and totally lost which of the many parts of it we were supposed to be singing. This was after 11 p.m. mind you, but it's a song that gets interrupted by dialogue a lot. I guess everyone was just scrambled by then.

Got out at 11:30. I pity the people slogging back to Sac after this. Jan claim that WE WILL START AT 7:30 TOMORROW, NO SERIOUSLY, NOT EVEN IF THERE'S TECH PROBLEMS. We shall see.

Re: The Mask Wars: Steve finally got told absolutely not, no exceptions are being made to the rule here, all masks must be on, period. This was followed by the stage manager saying that if actors go unmasked, he'd have to quit, and one other person saying she'd keep hers on too. So THAT is over....yay.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com