Chaos Attraction

I'm So Confused

2021-08-18, 11:02 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
People Have Moved On - 2021-08-23
Camelot Weekend - 2021-08-22
Camelot Re-Opens - 2021-08-21
Smoke or Covid? - 2021-08-20
Mask Testing - 2021-08-19

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

After work, I did the first of three "emotional clearing" classes my therapist said I should sign up for. I will note that it ran from 5-6:10 and I had to be at the theater at 6:30. I had planned to eat my dinner from 4-5 or so, but instead from 3-5 I was working on Big Quarterly Project with my boss the entire time. So I tried to snarf down pizza from the weekend as fast as I could before it started.

Basically it was a cross between sorta-meditation and sorta-tapping? I was expecting it was going to be some kind of tapping class, but she had you repeatedly think about all of your various relationship problems/issues for most of the session with one hand on your forehead and the other on your stomach, and then finishing off by imagining your ideal relationship. (Hard to do these days.) Then you may or may not be entirely "cleared," I can't say I felt "cleared," more like just kinda scrambled. I wouldn't have minded taking some time to de-whatever a bit, but I had to cram in more food and then leave, so never mind that. I don't know what to make of it all.


Last night at Camelot rehearsal:

(a) Mitch (Lancelot) has to do a show at some other school before graduating, so he was at the callbacks for the requisite show for half the night and came in for Act 2. This meant that James the stage manager was playing his part. Which went fine, but he was all "I am NOT singing C'est Moi." And then the girls were all "crap, we need those minutes to get changed." I note that Jean wandered by and mentioned that Lancelot sure looked strange this evening. Also, apparently the show Mitch is trying to be in (Rocky Horror at SCC) was having callbacks from 2 p.m. to 9?!? Who needs callbacks THAT LONG?!?

(b) One character (Pellinore) asks where he is at one point during the show. James gives a very detailed answer to this, from the address of the theater, to the town, to planet Earth....

(c) I kept minorly fucking up all night. It made me somewhat feel like I was at work. Mostly ticking off Brian and Steve, since (a) I walk too fast for Brian, (b) effed up the dancing a bit, and (c) attempted to help him do his quick change since James wasn't able to because he was playing Lancelot, and it's not like I knew exactly how they were working it out. As for Steve, (d) I got confused/fucked up the set changes twice and he got annoyed at me. Not bad mad, mind you, but clearly a little cheesed. Jan gave me a hug after, awww.

I'M SO CONFUSED A LOT OF THE TIME. Trying to figure out when I'm supposed to be standing around waiting to do a set change and remembering what direction it 's going in this time (I'm spending act 1 flipping a wall back and forth about every 2-3 scenes) AND figuring out when it's okay for me to head out to get changed, or not, is the biggest pain in the arse there.

This is all act 1, mind you. As for Act 2, I'm in two scenes and only do one brief set rearranging of putting out the stump, so that's not nearly as bad as "costume 1, some set changes, costume 2, some set changes, back to costume 1 again" stuff. And I'm not even poor Jori (Guenevere), who isn't doing much in set changes but has to change into a new fancy outfit in at least every other scene. Poor girl doesn't get to hang out with the rest of us much.

Anyway, yuck, I don't want theater to make me feel like work does.

(d) Monica (playing Morgan le Fay) broke out a fancier mask for the Morgan scene and wants to bling it up. I will be interested to see if that happens since she was all "I could glue on sequins" and I was all "I would definitely sew on sequins, those things shed like hell."

Then this made me think, should I get another mask for my third costume? My main court dress is shades of pink and the "Lusty Month of May" outfit is pastels, so I've ordered pink masks online. But the third outfit for the Morgan scene is a straight up brown monk robe with a green leafy headband. I'm not buying a brown mask I'll never wear, but I have some green ones about. Some folks said the mask I had on last night might work with it. I'll bring other ones to think about it.

On a related note: Monica makes a big deal about getting the candy and she doesn't even grab it at the end of the scene! Ahem....? Is that the stage direction or just forgetting or being busy? I dunno.

(e) They are doing Mary Poppins rehearsals either in the parking lot or in the lobby during ours and at one point I wandered out and spotted someone in rainbow leggings that I was coveting. "That's another Jennifer," Monica said, and I was all "that figures."

We actually finished by 11 p.m., I got home sometime after 11:18 and still diddled around not going to bed until like 11:50. Then woke up at 5 a.m. Why?

Today at work:

(a) The Big Quarterly Project is now finally done. Huzzah. (b) Dianna is now out sick for 2.5 weeks. Aiee. (c) The employees that went to the office today were sent home today because for the first time this year the AQI went into the unhealthy level. I briefly went out to get my mail today with a KN95 on and yup, it's ucky. Not that I need to go out much except to the theater for the next week, but what happens when it's this nasty and comes Monday karaoke? (On a related note, Rae and family are supposed to go camping this weekend and she was already freaking out over possible bad air in Truckee. To which her mom was all "fine, we'll get a hotel then" about it.) (e) Hope and I got forced on the phones today. I had two trainings: one with my boss and one in which I watched Adventure Girl. AG got one call during hers, so we just hung out talking. On the other one, thankfully the calls were not too heinous AND my boss admitted she didn't know 2 out of 3 of them either. So, not awful, huzzah.

I ordered two pink face masks for the show and one of them came in the mail today early! Huzzah for medieval mask fashion!

I watched today's press conference about 3rd vaccines. If they are very specific that it takes 6-7 months to wane, why are they not allowing us to get shots before 8 months have passed?!? I'm really concerned about this and it sounds arbitrary on the months thing. Why can't I get one after six months, or seven? Why EIGHT? Also the Pfizer news isn't great, so does that mean I need to quarantine myself until the next shot?

Fires are back again, or at least ruining the air here. On a related note, the anniversary of Scott's fire is tomorrow. I'm debating reaching out, but again, what's the point? He'll just ignore me again and I'll feel like shit again and I'll wish I hadn't done it, again.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com