Chaos Attraction

Technical Difficulties

2022-08-20, 8:21 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Cats Jokes - 2022-08-25
Alegria - 2022-08-24
New Big Boss - 2022-08-23
Not Eight Minutes - 2022-08-22
Spin the Beagle - 2022-08-21

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

"You are my favorite mini-series." -Jennifer Crusie.

This morning: up early to curl my dang hair for the show (didn't think I'd have time to later) and then haul ass to the Bay Area once again. During that drive the Shiny Unicorn group text was going off aplenty and then Mom started texting and calling me wanting to know if I want to go to Angelica's wine party in Discovery Bay next weekend. I have ignored all contact because I was trying to sneak into the olde hometowne for this stupid eye doctor appointment without her knowing I was in town, NOT stopping to have lunch with her because I didn't even have time for lunch because we had a last minute rehearsal starting at two and it's a 1.5 hour drive at fastest (facepalm). I don't think I can make that party since it'd be half day of driving, a drinking party, and then I'd have to drive home, sigh. Bleah, I haven't been to a party in years and here I am again not going. Didn't want to have to say so.

I did leave early to hit the B&N on the way over there because "The Princess and the Scoundrel" is out and apparently only being offered at B&N. I bought a few more books while I was in there, got gas and headed out again. That was the most pleasant part of the morning, for sure.

I was NOT IN THE MOOD for the damn eye doctor appointment, but managed to get out of there without being sold more glasses or given a spiel to pay for an extra retinal scan--apparently they've just decided to force everyone to take it and then pay $20 for the privilege now, grrrr. Doesn't sound like they suspect anything bad this time, so there's that. I got out early, even, but that didn't help since I had horrendous traffic going back home, SIGH. God, I hate driving on 580 SO MUCH.

I got to online rehearsal about ten minutes late, which annoys me, but what can you do. At least most of my lines are in the second half. I literally ran off to put on makeup in between scenes. And we finished early enough for me to get SOME food because I was starving and eating sweets out of my purse wasn't doing shitola. Seriously, sweets do nothing for actual hunger and licorice and cookies were not cutting it.

As for the show itself: we had very good plays, most of which were very serious/dealing with gender issues...and meanwhile I'm in the Scooby-Doo spoof play, which was going after THE most hardcore of the plays...oh well :P I really enjoyed doing it, though. It's how Fred Jones is a newbie narcotics officer who joins the band trying to bust Rogers for drug dealing (he's not), and it turns into a half-band, half amateur detectives. I love how it has hidden depths (especially Shaggy, called Rogers here, who has more intelligence than you'd think) and makes good points about the drug issues and abandoned everything in that town. I wish I could have chatted with the playwright, but she was directing a show IRL. It was great.

I do have to note that we had Technical Difficulties going on this one kinda big time. We forgot to test Kelly's sound sharing in the new Zoom before the show went on, so we had to start the show over a bit to get that in. Then that caused some host sharing issues when Kelly got tired and logged off and killed the fourth show in mid-airing and we had to reboot, and then some video got weird/had sound issues. Luckily we had a mix of live vs. pre-recorded and the pre-recorded shows were at the end, so we could just run it all back and start them over. What can you say, shit happens sometimes, especially with technology. Dana was all 'after this I'm drinking a bottle of wine and going to bed" and I was all "gonna do karaoke and drink" and Marge concurred with the alcohol-ing.

Anyway, the other shows:

"A Grain Of Salt," features two neighbors chatting during Covid about TikTok, relationships, and possibly if one of them has an illness coming on that's not covid (that bit gave me the chills, I admit).

"A Moment of Silence," based on the life/death of Leelah Alcorn. The actress playing the teenage girl in it was really, really good and that's the show where I was all "oh lord, we're going after this?!"

"We're Just Talking, Okay?" features a date between a trans woman and a cisgender man that starts out quite defensive, then goes to "I'm weird, okay?" and then they bond over weirdness in general. Quite touching/sweet.

"The Game," featuring two guys watching a game and one of them ending up coming out as gay. Kind of like the bleacher scene in "When Harry Met Sally," but deeper, and written by a college student going to med school soon, no less!

"What Happened in Greyston," in which two sisters discuss the recent suicide death of a guy they knew, which one of them fuckbuddied with briefly and the other was secretly in love with/rejected by him. (I was a bit triggered...but could be worse.)

So....very serious stuff for our little group this go-round. I wanted to cry but didn't mess up my Daphne makeup, so good for me.

In other news, Scott tagged me on some kind of nonsensical poll, no idea what that's about. It's too hot to do much of anything except eat Otter Pops. I choked down some egg rolls so I had some meat in me before I drank and I opened up a bottle of booze, but it was too hot to drink and I needed to make more ice. I just ate a lot of Otter Pops.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com