Chaos Attraction

Spin the Beagle

2022-08-21, 8:23 p.m.

Last night's karaoke was good fun. I drank two drinks, bopped along to songs, sang breakup ones, and there weren't that many people in there so I got to sing three times. Good for me.

I spent all day and night at the theater. Painted a lot of flats and occasionally moved stuff around, got some knitting/reading done while waiting for paint to dry. Rachelle put on the Broadway Spotify playlist and it played a lot of songs people hadn't heard of and people kept asking what they were. It did lead to Hamilton sing-alongs though, particularly on "Satisfied." Kat brought not only Leo, but another of her students, Justin, who had fun snark and dance moves and grumblings over sanding the back wall. We got to see some video of them doing "Bring It On: The Musical." There was also discussion of who hates Cats (Steve, Rachelle, me if I ever saw it) vs. who does like it (Jean saw it 12 times).

Quotes:
Sierra:
"We're doing theater construction here. Close enough works." (I note she and Rachelle spent like 1-2 hours on just one wheel on a flat.)
On Omar: "He's going to the restroom, he's cutting wood," then realizing what she said. "I just smacked myself in the face."

Rachelle:
"Children, we need nuts! I just wanted to say that."
"I need someone to claw this off."
"So we need a bigger nut?"
Sierra: "I need a bigger brain, I think I lost it 2 shows ago."

Steve:
(When asked if the theater has ibuprofen.) "We have cocaine and heroin."
"I love non sequiturs."
"I have answers for everything. They're not good answers. I make stuff up."
"To me, everything looks like a tuchus."

Steve to Leo: "Your nails are black? Deliberately?"
Leo: "Yes, I have the black plague. That's why I have on a mask."

Omar, even though he's single: "I want a musical wedding." When asked what if he had an SO who objected to this: "Who cares?!"

Circa 4:30 those of us here decided to go out to a new sushi place, which was delicious. A lot of us ordered miso and gyoza and then rolls, and all of that was delicious. I got pretty full and passed off my extra ones to Omar, who also loves fried rolls. Then everyone but Omar (not in "Gaston") went back to the theater and kicked back for a bit before the night's rehearsal.


Notable thing of the day was that there was a viewing party of The Music Man video last night. Obviously I was not invited and would not have been able to go due to the Shiny Unicorn show if I had, but man, it makes me so sad I didn't do that show because this party sounds CRAZY.

Apparently Harold Hill Steve has another VERY large house a la certain other cast members, though Steve noted that "it felt like a museum and like nobody lived there." Jared and Alisa and Jillian weren't in the show but apparently lived close enough to get invited anyway.

This party had much liquor served, as Harold Hill Steve has a large, name-labeled bar. I gather he cracked an expensive bottle of tequila at some point.

I'm told Arielle, of all people, got noticeably drunk. (I'/m sure Scott was absolutely at the ready to take care of her. Sigh.) I also seriously wonder if that explains yesterday's uh, tagging on FB. I'm also told Alisa seemed fairly drunk, though Alisa said it wasn't that bad and hey, she had a designated driver .

Isaiah was locked out and forced to use the doggie door, Sierra filmed this as revenge.

Speaking of the doggie, Harold Hill Steve has a very laid back beagle, who they played "Spin The Beagle" with.


Rehearsal: "Gaston," going over the mug clinking bits again (thank gawd) and actually doing the scene where Maurice comes in begging for help and everyone either shrinks away or laughs or makes fun of him, followed by the guys's song of evil. Good, fun stuff. Looooooooong day, though.

I did ask what happened to Sherilyn, i.e. is she sick? No, Rachelle said she had personal stuff going on and is out for another week.

Alisa was wearing a Minnie Mouse shirt, Jean came in in a Mickey Mouse shirt, Rachelle had some kind of "I eat Mickey shaped food" shirt on.

Steve claimed he'd have people drink during the show, "Wisconsin chasers." Which I guess means eating cheese.

Ryan tried to do a split and some people sang, "My what a guy, that Gaston!" in response, as well one should.

Quotes:

"I'm stretching right now, I know it doesn't look like it." -Ryan
Jean on Shorthaired Sarah's absence last week and the video filmed: "Did you see my conversation with my imaginary friend? I missed my imaginary friend."
Steve to Rachelle: "You do the choreography and I do the comedy."
Boris: "Don't get so caught up in acting you forget to sing." (Legit.)
Steve: "The only reason we do theater is that I'm entertained."
Rachelle: "You're going to faint into Katrina's arms." Sierra: "Yessssss!" (She is THE MOST into Silly Girl actions.)
Ryan: "Sorry, I'll be less tall." Steve: "He's like a weevil."
Rachelle: "You're coming out like you're peeing."

Steve to me: "That was a really evil laugh for a change, Jennifer. Really evil."
Steve later to everyone: "Show 'em your laugh."
Me: "You want to say that to ME of all people?" Steve: "No."

Lucas: "I'm like the second most popular person in town."
Felicia: "I live in town, that doesn't make sense."

Steve to Jean: "I want you to walk bowlegged and like your pants are loaded."

Misc on drinking:
"We have 16-year-olds drinking."
Later, Leo: "The 16-year-old is the bartender."
Presumably Jan: "Drunk Princess Leia."
Elissa was balancing cups on her head.
Steve: "This is not Fiddler on the Roof!"
Jean claimed she's drunk.
Sierra: "You know, if I fall during the show, I'll blame it on drinking."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com