Chaos Attraction

Camelot Weekend

2021-08-22, 11:11 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
"Subclinical" - 2021-08-27
Watching Titanic Online - 2021-08-26
Covid Scare - 2021-08-25
Not Cleared - 2021-08-24
People Have Moved On - 2021-08-23

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Last night's show went great as well.

Had one weird incident that I don't know what went on about: Brian was pissed off at somebody or other and was grumbling that he could out-act the other person, something like any day with a baby on his back...? I never did hear what went on. They have a sign with rules on it posted around the backstage and one of them is not to critique other actors's performances...I'm guessing that's what happened?

Nobody I knew in the show audience again, oh well. Around 50 or so people, this time they actually laughed. Some folks in the cast noted that Saturday audiences are more lively/less tired than Friday ones, coulda been it.

They attempted to have a "go out to dinner after the show" again, this time at the Denny's in Woodland since that might be the only place open after midnight. I drove over there and guess what? It closed at midnight! So never mind there. Went to bed at 12:40 and slept till nearly 9.

Also, my electric toothbrush died, so uck on this.


Sunday:

Air is back to moderate here! I have felt what I have been calling "chuffy" (i.e. you kind of slightly feel like you want to cough, but it's not a chronic cough?) since Sarah's birthday, also the first day things started getting smoky. Today it's gone, and I only realized it hours later when I was at the theater and was all "hey wait, I forgot to take some Claritin." I guess we're over the fires thing, for now. Hope that means karaoke tomorrow.

Nobody showed up for collage club. I am long since off on which weeks are the "off" weeks and which are the "on" weeks, but I don't think anyone has shown up at all for at least the last few. I guess people have moved on? Whatever, I guess. I wouldn't have been there long anyway since Mom showed up at my house at 11:20.

I confess, I though telling them "show starts at 2" meant they'd arrive...later? Even worse, Mom somehow turned up without her vax card in her purse and couldn't find the photo on her phone. And frankly, I WAS OUT OF IT. I wasn't really in the brain space to solve Mom's problems, figure out where to consume food in a hurry, and decide what new electric toothbrush to buy at Target. I eventually did all three things (ate Jack in the Box in the car, told Mom to find that website with the QR codes), but I was notably out of it. And then I couldn't bring her in the theater to sit for 1.5 hours beforehand when I had to go in and there was nowhere for her to go and you can't sit in the hot car for 1.5 hours....so I had to give her my car keys and hope for the best. And then she went to the stage door within 5 minutes to ask how to take the brake off. I WAS VERY NERVOUS ABOUT THIS.

Anyway, she figured out the car, got herself into the theater, moved herself higher up in the seating (saw it!). More people were in the audience today (I didn't try to count...100ish maybe?) but less than was promised when Jan said there were maybe 15 seats left open. Who knows. Mom seemed to like it, anyway. I told Roger to do pickup at 5:30 ("for a show that starts at 2?" Yup) and that was about accurate, I got to talk to her briefly and then she took off. Oh well.

Today also went well, albeit there was a bit of tripping, the throne briefly losing its cover (thankfully, easily stuck back on), and various flowers falling to the ground and having to be kicked out of the way. Also, one lady in row G was spotted filming and photographing the whole thing by a few people, which was reported to Steve and to James (I presume James dealt with it). Not allowed by the licensing. On a related note, I asked when filming happens and they said "the last weekend," which I guess explains why they hadn't done it earlier.

Fun fact, Andi's dad, who works here doing electrical stuff, isn't vaccinated. "I'm surprised they let him work here," she said. "Well, he's wearing a mask....but he wants to wait until things are more vetted." To which I was all, hey, I hear Pfizer's getting fully approved on Monday. Well, let's hope.

I feel sorry for all the people who have to go back to Mary Poppins rehearsal a mere two hours after this show ended. Ugggggggggh, so glad I am not double dutying it.

No attempted afterparty today. I ended up going to get more gas and the car washed, and then drove around trying to find a place with a working slushie machine. Dear lord, I needed that large amount of sugar. Eventually I went home and read on the patio. Mom gave me a few free newspaper "magazines," one of which was clearly written/produced circa June 2021 because it was all about everyone reuniting with their families and festivals opening up again. Sigh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com