Chaos Attraction

Not Eight Minutes

2022-08-22, 8:26 p.m.

Today at work: Grandboss is apparently...living?....in a van now, per Zoom. That is a thing that has happened with her peripatetic lifestyle. I said she now has to go find a river (I note she brought up the joke herself), which she agreed to, albeit she'd have to find one with wi-fi.

My new temp coworker and I are being harassed by this guy, his dad, and the military to prove something that another office refuses to prove until January. More Official Demands were sent to us demanding that we prove it, which we can't do. I am all "I said over and over again we can't until they do, they ain't gonna until January," and also his thing isn't due until March and it'll be done by then so Y'ALL CAN CHILL, but this is Manly Men Doing Manly Things And They Will Not Chill. I was forced to forward their latest demands onto Grandboss (and theoretically my boss, if ever, she's still out). Wheeeeeee. Grandboss proceeded to ask me the same questions over and over and over and "can't we just do X?" and me saying, "No, I repeat, WE CAN'T JUST DO X BECAUSE Y ISN'T BEING PERMITTED AND THEY BOTH HAVE TO BE PERMITTED AND WE'RE NOT ALLOWED TO JUST DO X WITHOUT Y" and I finally wrote down, "My question is not, how do we give them what they want, because WE CAN'T. My question is, how do you want us to formally say NO to a repeated request that we can't grant because they ain't listening to us as to why we can't?" because you don't like how I talk anyway? Good god. She's been around for ages, this should not be fresh and new information to her.

Since I had a free lunch time for once, I worked on reading Ask A Manager's paid and free advice books (I'll be honest...that's the same stuff all over her website, you probably don't need to pay for the book if you read her website for years/regularly) and have drafted potential interview questions of the most common type. I need to go through and analyze the actual job and how it corresponds to what I already do. I already more or less am a "coordinator" here and that's the job title word rather than "assistant" or "representative," but the current management won't give me that kind of title in the way that my old guy manager did, sigh.

I did track down the previous occupant of the job (name sounded vaguely familiar), who was in it for 11 months before getting a new job, which makes me... concerned-ish about it perhaps being a crap/disposable job. She sounds fairly new in the working world on her Linked In. In all honesty the job doesn't sound like something I'd love or particularly like (more international clientele, albeit ones who live here and I presumably would not have to mail them anything but nag emails), but it doesn't say "call center" or "first point of contact" or "front desk" or professional phone answerer or any of the shitty buzzwords that indicate interchangeable shitty service worker, so I have to go with that as being more positive. Sounds like it's an in-office-all-day-every-day place, sigh, but I might get my own office, I dunno.

I don't really like the idea of not telling all and sundry that I got an interview (I told a few random people), specifically most of my friends/mother, but what's the point in telling about it if it doesn't go through. Why jinx it. I admit I had a few fantasies today about getting to bail out of this job for another one, but that's not a good place for my brain to go and the way things go at this place, even if I do get a second/third interview it could be months to find out any of that.

I do not have rehearsal Tuesday or Wednesday this week. I booked a ticket for the nearby Cirque du Soleil show on Wednesday. I don't know if Ashley and co. want to go to karaoke on Tuesday again or not, but I'll leave the day free.

My therapist got covid. 'Nuff said there. Well, at least nothing's on fire right now. What do I say, do I tell about the job interview or not, and otherwise I'm shutting off my heart again. Yay.


Music lesson went well, worked on "Vanilla Ice Cream" hard parts (well, they're all hard parts) and then did a bit of "I Could Have Danced All Night" because I said I need to come up with something for the next audition and might as well use one of the songs in the roster (also not a lot of time to start a fresh one). She was talking about the one thing I need left on that song is getting vibrato--weird concept to me in singing, I'm aware of what that involves in playing the violin. She said to try singing into a straw that you stuck into water, which I immediately tried. She said she'd try looking around for exercises on that topic.

Quotes from Morgan today:
"Honestly, that was better than I expected musically and melodically."
"If anything, you know that I'll be your #1 cheerleader."
"You are going to look stupid if you're doing things correctly."


Rehearsal: "Be Our Guest," entire thing, actually done in order/strung together. Everyone confused and exhausted, but at least it's better....though I feel like an Etch-A-Sketch trying to remember which version of what we are doing now, and "watch the video!" has also gotten confusing when there are a bunch of them.

Things going on:

* Chip (i.e .Maya) was there for awhile, with her mom pushing her in the cart. God, that looks boring as shit to do, not to mention cramped.
* Mrs. Potts (i.e. Marguerite) was out once again. Seriously, I can't speak for character scene rehearsals since I'm not in 'em and it's not like she does a lot in these group numbers anyway, but she's hardly ever here and she always seems ill/pale/exhausted/kinda looks like she's gonna fall over/looks like pushing Chip around isn't going to go well. I seriously have concerns that she can even make it to tech week, much less a month of shows. Do we have a possible reserve Mrs. Potts (Kat's currently singing her parts tonight, but she's playing the wardrobe)? Maybe get Dannette or something?
* Jean (costumes) told me that Omar wants to make his human-Cogsworth costume and sew it himself ("with the help of his mother") and she gave him all the stuff. Then she keeps asking for him to show it to her and he does...not. Both she and I are all "uh-oh" to this. I thought about warning him tonight, but didn't really have time for a conversation and well, stalling on sewing is on him anyway. Dude, that's why we have a professional....and last minute costumes are not good. (I note that Jean's mom, like my own, was also a "makes the costume the night before" person.)
* Shorthaired Sarah is out, so only Molly was there to do the "salt and pepper shaker dance." There is...really really not a lot to it, and looks even weirder with only one person doing it...and one person is trying to fling herself around in a circle alone...I seriously wonder if this looked any better with two of them? People were amused at the awkward.
* Cogsworth is supposed to run on during the tango and object to it. He got that cue wrong the first time and we were amused.
* Dear lord, the idea of doing a tango with the candle gauntlets on, I can't even with that. It looks awkward.
* Jan tripped and fell on the stage again. At least it wasn't her shoelaces, but I'm not sure what set it off this time since it was in the middle of the stage in the one section that can't be replaced. Scott was muttering something about it. She was crying that she hates the stage...but otherwise, she got ice and was fine.
* Scott briefly said hi to me since I mistakenly sat close enough for that, but that's about it. I'm continuing with my path of detachment and avoidance and no longer hanging around hoping to talk to him at any point in time. Good for me.

Quotes:

Steve:
Steve got a haircut. "The hairstylist cut it, I didn't."
Julia: "He cut more than one, I think."
Steve: the good and bad news is we open in 2.5 weeks.
Steve asks who lives in Elk Grove and gets Sierra. "I said there's about 5 people in Elk Grove. You have five personalities." Sierra: "That's fair."
Steve on Maya: "She is 10 going on 45, btw."
"Plates, get back in the cupboard."
"I have directed this before and I didn't know the lyrics."
"When you get to the silverware, they're going to attack you."
"Let's fix it now that Julia has been thrown to the ground."

Annie is also having a rough time (and recovering from a scooter accident and already took all the Advil one can take in a day): "I got here an hour early so I could learn it. Did it work? For the next 30 minutes."
"If I get the steps to this right, I gotta buy a lottery ticket."
"I literally just did this and still can't remember what I'm doing." Me: "ME TOO."
On caregiving for their infant niece/nephew: Jean: "Does Molly help?" Annie: "A little, but you gotta change a diaper or they start crying and she's all, nope."

Sierra: "Let's start the struggle today."

Jean (actress): "If it's Rachele, push her." Rachele: "Go ahead and push me."
"I gotta go get some glasses. Don't want to fall down the stairs."
To Omar: "I haven't taken you out yet." Omar: "But the night is young."

Rachelle:
On Steve: "I fight back all the time."
Leo: "Where do we put the plates?" Rachelle: "I think we put them in the dishwasher."
"What was I looking at? Bueller?"
"Let's just run it, run it, run it until you hate me."

Boris:
"Let's just axe the number, people won't even notice."
On splits: "Ouchie, that's what I would say."
Rachelle: "I know we don't want to be here all night--" Boris: "I love you."

Scott: "I could be a French Iron Man," pretending to take off into the air with gauntlets.

Steve, timing the last run of it: "Seven minutes and forty-five seconds." Boris: "NOT EIGHT!!!!"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com