Chaos Attraction

New Big Boss

2022-08-23, 8:33 p.m.

Work: The last BigBoss left in...April 2021, I think? They have finally hired a replacement, the #3 candidate. He has to move from Florida and won't start until the end of October. I'm a little surprised since last I heard last week they were still trying to recruit(?!), but I guess they liked him well enough. He seemed the most competent of what I saw, at least, so fingers crossed. I'll miss Interim BB though.

Today's drama was someone wanting to change her mail from Black Hole Region to the US with the shipping company we use for tracking numbers, and her continuing to call here again and again and again about it, and me being all PLEASE CONTACT THE COMPANY AND CHANGE IT WITH THEM, I CAN'T CHANGE IT. Finally she started contacting them and they started bothering me, and after I told them she had to go to them, they told her she had to cancel her order, place a new one, and transfer the funds over, and then she was all "never mind." Meanwhile, found out my contact at the shipping company was in the hospital, aiee.

I have committed to the interview or at least gotten permission for an um, medical appointment.

Work Slack has been fun because it went down a rabbit hole of unicorn poops and Squatty Potty commercials. I may have to post about this somewhere. At one point they screwed up captioning on a commercial and put the name Scott in there and I thought about sending it to him for the lulz, but...nope, nevermind, not doing it.

Other news:

Kelly, not unsurprisingly, is out of Shiny Unicorns until December because she's too tired/relapsing to be able to do them any more. Bummer but not surprising since her brain health keeps getting worse and worse :( Not sure where it goes from there anyway since she wants to "move away from doing festivals," but I'm not sure what that would entail anyway.

After work, I picked up Ashley (she's ready to go to karaoke again) and went guess where. She was happy because after starting to put in for disability in March, she's finally getting that money and aides/services (and presumably in the future, an apartment) starting in September. We had fun, I did... 5 songs, I think? Some Maroon 5, "Time After Time" at Jim's request, "You and I" and "Starships" dueting with Ashley. Adam and Buzz from UOB karaoke came tonight and hung out, so that was fun. A bunch of small girls sang "Shallow" (pretty well, for kids), followed by, you guessed it, "Let It Go." We all took bets on what their third song was going to be--we assumed Disney--but it was "You Are My Sunshine."

After karaoke I needed to get gas and groceries, Ashley went along while I did those things and seemed at least mildly entertained while that happened. She did say she needs to learn how to get groceries while living alone, anyway. So, we had a good time.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com