Chaos Attraction

Covid Scare

2021-08-25, 11:15 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Cancellations - 2021-08-30
Covid Scare 2 - 2021-08-29
Close Call - 2021-08-28
"Subclinical" - 2021-08-27
Watching Titanic Online - 2021-08-26

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

So I woke up today and found out that Dannette in Camelot has Covid.

Well. First I see on the FB page that Steve is still hitting some anonymous person up trying to get permission to go without masks onstage, and THEN I see a bunch of posts about Covid. You know what, MAYBE IT WAS A GOOD IDEA TO ALL HAVE THE MASKS ON ANYWAY????

So she had symptoms at 2 a.m. Monday night, got tested twice over with saliva and up the nose. When I first saw this circa 7:55 a.m. the saliva had come in positive but they were still waiting 2 days for up the nose, everyone better go get tested NOW. Steve and Jan went to dinner with her Sunday night and both they and Dannette's husband Arthur so far are negative. Dunno on others yet.

The kid in the show's mom is some kind of medical professional (I'd guess nurse but I don't think anyone has spelled out specifically) and she said if you have no symptoms, get it done 3 days after exposure, which is oh, TODAY. So I had to tell my boss and look into where to get tested.

I'll note that my town is extremely on the ball about this stuff (like, it made the NYT even) BUT if you're in my situation, um..... They want you to make an appointment to get tested on campus, I tried, but since I said I'd been exposed to someone* they wouldn't let me, they said to call my primary care physician to get tested. So then I tried Kaiser and they wanted me to make an e-visit for Covid testing (O RLY????) AND said they wouldn't test you until seven days after exposure THE FUCK? (Later, someone else said Kaiser gave him no problems. Sigh.) So then I started looking into walk-in places and got permission to leave work to go to the walk-in center**

And I definitely have, no question, I was next to her at multiple points for eight days straight, we ate across the table from each other Monday night indoor without masks off. I had double masks on from Wednesday on and barely had them off at any point at the theater, but who knows if that worked or not. I GUESS WE SHALL SEE.

** Which, btw, is supposed to close down in two days. Um, why?!?!? Is that a good idea to do now?!?

The walk-in center wasn't too bad. They let me do the spit test because I didn't have symptoms. I said it was my first time (first of MANY in the future....sigh) and I kept screwing up the spit test because I wasn't making enough spit. I note that my mouth was dry from fear, they tell you to not consume ANYTHING before the test for a half hour, water included. She was all "Hydrate the day before!" and I was all "I was asleep overnight and I DIDN'T KNOW I WAS DOING THIS TODAY." Anyway, after three spits and a lot of bubbles, well, I guess we'll hope it's okay.

I ran into Jean (costume mistress) there, now actually wearing a mask and not just her face shield. She said "Oh, Dannette gets bronchitis all the time" (I guess if you have chronic shit that may set off a false positive) and I asked about canceling the show and she was all "oh, they'll just have other people do her parts, we've had plenty of people be out sick before and we managed."

I had to postpone a work meeting and told the coworker I was meeting with why, and she said she had it in January 2021 pre-vaccine. She was saying that we still have to live our lives, but I dunno now....

Anyway, about an hour or so after that, Dannette's second test came back positive.

At that point I felt obligated to notify Jim (via text, he made jokes about characters in Camelot and implied STD's) and my mom via phone at lunch. She took it a lot better than I expected. (Seriously, the woman gets mad that I forgot to put up towels, but this is fine? Mostly she was all "how close were you to her?" (very) and "did we hug?" (yes), but otherwise just kept telling me to calm down. Um, I'm as calm as I can get under the circumstances of fear limbo for the next however many days. I also booked a test appointment for Friday afternoon since that will be day 5 and presumably I'm still not out of the woods even if I test clear (hah) within 48 hours.

My boss did offer multiple times if I needed to not work the rest of the day, but half the staff is on vacation or called out sick (AGAIN....yeah, let's see what happens come September when that happens in the office), so I did not. I had more mail drama to deal with anyway, I had a phone shadowing session, and more awful questions over email I don't have answers to. Blech, couldn't even get the pile down under 100 today. But also was full of WHO GIVES A SHIT ABOUT THIS PETTY CRAP in my heart. I was trying to be distracted by it instead, like "OMG I ORDERED MY VERY EXPENSIVE RUSHED IMPORTANT DOCUMENT AND THEN I HAD IT DELIVERED TO SOMEWHERE THAT JUST HAD THE PORCH RIPPED UP TODAY!!!!!" (Why these things? Why me? Why doesn't anyone tell someone this shit before they hand over an address?) I had to bug the company to tell them to deliver it across the street instead. And then I've had this doofus guy who hasn't paid attention to most of what I said and is now literally going to have to pay huge amounts of money for his mistakes, so that's a joy.

Rae called, wanting me to come over. Nope. She took it in stride and also LOL'd at my remarks about having dry mouth at testing. I also texted her mom Deborah (a nurse) a lot, who was very helpful. Deborah says I probably don't have to again after Friday if I don't have it and stay asymptomatic, but who knows. I may just get it done every 2 days until 2 weeks after this play is over because it seems like testing negative really means nothing other than "not official yet." I wasn't wanting to have to play this fucking head game.

By the end of the day:

(a) they canceled Mary Poppins rehearsal tonight since there is some cast overlap (Dannette isn't in it but Andi, Monica, Jan and I forget who all else are), but....

(b) they are not canceling Camelot. At least not yet, I guess. Yes, they are aware that whoever ran out to get tested today won't get results until Friday. I guess they are hoping for the best that only one person is/will be out and they can rearrange things. Dannette has a few line/verse solos here and there so I guess those will be assigned to someone else. This is, of course, assuming nobody else comes back positive.

On the one hand: probably should be canceled? Or if so, it'll be down to the wire? On the other hand: theater may close if it doesn't run. I don't know what I'd decide either if I were them. I'll still go as long as I'm not diagnosed positive, mind you, but now I'm REALLY glad I didn't invite anyone else to go in person.

On the good news side: (a) I read a book and listened to podcasts after work on the patio--no hiking around for me any more. (b) I got my new sunglasses in the mail (oops, I can't wear them, they don't come with nosepads and fall off my face, fuck) and my new "athletic dress" in the mail. It is basically a romper for the gym. It is very cute though. I like a dress with both bra and shorts built into the thing, I wish all the clothes had that. (c) I got this posted: https://fullmoon.typepad.com/crafts/2021/08/its-an-entire-outfit-now.html (d) I have been attempting to do this Elf Coat pattern in Tunisian crochet, just wasn't really getting it to work without coming out large and gappy, so I started doing it in regular crochet and that works just fine, thanks. So there's that, I guess. In the meantime, I'm back in jail again. I played Covid chicken and it's at least pretty likely I may pay the piper.

Do I have symptoms? Nothing out of the ordinary for life as me, but every time I felt chuffy again or vaguely like my throat felt a bit off, guess what I was thinking. Joy.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com