Chaos Attraction

Cats Jokes

2022-08-25, 8:35 p.m.

Today at work:
(a) My contact that's supposed to download a batch of labels for me just got out of the hospital(!), so... yeah. Well, hopefully that happens tomorrow.
(b) I mailed non-international shipping things and had to come up with another list of international people within an hour. Sigh, but done.
(c) I sorted out the ones that have to be internationally shipped.
(d) Oh, I found out that everyone with long names and accents had their Important Documents fucked up. Despite us making the changes for them in the computer program--WHICH I CHECKED, WE DID IT--somehow they didn't actually download into Excel, and now way too many of them are fucked. My boss said "don't go through all 63 pages of those," but the problem is SO bad that clearly I have to (I got through 40 today). God, this season's project was SO FUCKING FUCKED.
(e) I found out that one of my references (a buddy in another office) apparently got another job elsewhere. I'm gonna have to take her off the possible references at least for now because I don't know her new position or if she keeps her phone number or when she changes over. I thought about asking her, but given how much of a loser I am and how it's highly unlikely I'll even make it to round two of interviews, I don't really want to tell anyone, including references, about this unless there's good reason to. Why jinx it. Fuck it, I'll just put another supervisor on there.
(f) Regarding the supposed future supervisor position: only nine people applied, seven of them "did not meet minimum requirements," and the other two got other jobs. BACK TO THE DRAWING BOARD AGAIN. Maybe they should just take the hint and give up on trying to get someone to do this job? Maybe put the money towards hiring more lackey staff or paying for computer fixes?
(g) My boss--I note she just came back from Hawaii--went to the dentist and got told her blood pressure was so high they refused to work on her. Greaaaaaaaaaaaaat, something else to look forward to and live in fear of.


Rehearsal: all singing (minus Human Again, fine by me) with Boris. I got a lot of knitting done.

Per the previous day's remark about how I strongly suspect Marguerite isn't making it to tech week, well... she's not. Now she has to have surgery opening weekend. They have gotten a replacement (a third Andi, I don't know this one), theoretically for just the first weekend, but ... yeah... Well, I'm glad they lined someone up.

Annie and Rachele got custom shirts with their dogs' heads on them. Jean (costumes) wants one.

Scott and I came in around the same time, so he wanted to hug, we said hello, that was about it.

Quotes:

Steve: "Cats, that wonderful show that has been so plot ridden." Boris started playing "Memory." (I note that I have a running theme every time I have to send Steve a picture of my covid test, along with a picture of my watch to prove it's current. I said I felt like it was hostage/proof of life and thus have had hostage jokes since...Monday I said I was being forced to watch Cats, today I said I was forced to pick a cat name and I picked "Spillicus-in-the-genetchitizoink." Amazingly, autocorrect let me do that.)

"Katrina, it's so nice to have you back." Katrina: "I agree!"
Boris played "You'll Be Back." We sung along. Steve: "Guys, there are some church officials out there that will sue for that."
On Tomas thinking they got paid for hits on the website: "We're not going to say it was Tomas, but it was Tomas..."

Boris: "Annie--'I'll get the knife." You sound too cute." Everyone starts yelling "Sweeney Todd it!"
"Is someone stealing Jan's line?" After Jan said she wondered if there was another ghost in the theater when she found mystery ice tea poured. "Everyone, stop messing with Jan."
On "Gaston." "Every song has a mood, right? This song, you're wasted."
"Jean's going to yell at you, come back!"
Jessica: "We just wanted to make you happy." Boris: "Don't do that!"
"We sit on that note for 5 hours." "I love the obnoxiousness, but I want to hear the note." "Shower the first row with your spit."

Jean (costumes), on Katrina doing the ironing: "Under that mask is a mean girl."

Alisa: "I have to go spank my family." (Jared and Jillian were horsing around in the back.)

We got out early, so now I need to figure out what the heck to do with my time.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com