Chaos Attraction

Happily Thrusting Down The Street

2022-08-27, 8:38 p.m.

At the theater all day today from 9 to 7-15-ish, more or less, except for dinner. I painted stuff--painted in the stones on the stone walls and filled in the edges to make them smoother. Jean (actress) said we were the A-team of painting rocks. Kat was in charge of stippling the stones with brown tones, which apparently I... did not do well. Don't ask me why someone with a design degree can't somehow figure out how to properly stipple, but I did not do this well. She was very polite about it, but I still felt like chicken fried shit (which I do every day anyway about everything, mind you, I'm SO TIRED OF BEING A STUPID GODDAMNED FUCKUP ALL THE TIME, I'm so sick of being bad and wrong) and stupid as hell and after awhile just kinda stopped doing it and knit in the audience for hours instead since after awhile there was nothing but stippling going on. Later after Kat left for the rest of the weekend, I filled in more stone walls and other people did the stippling, which they seemed to enjoy.

Marguerite is definitely Out Of The Show For Good--she's now bedridden from the medical ailment (I did hear what it is, but won't mention it, I will note that Jan had the same thing in the past and Steve said it was awful) and she seems to think she'd be back after the first weekend and I was all "no way in hell." So the new girl starts either Sunday or Monday--gets her picture taken in the role and then starts doing it, I guess. I gather they were trying to make sure Marguerite didn't have to do much moving or rolling of the cart, but well...anyway, hope she recovers well.

Apparently Scott and his dad were at the theater till over 4 a.m.(!!!) last night fixing the stage. He came back again in the afternoon, but we didn't really talk and he avoided sitting at my table at dinner even though there was more room, so fuck him. He did mention that he went to Something Rotten alone(!) and bought a ticket 20 minutes before the show. Wonder what happened there. Or maybe he just made it up that he didn't want me around. You know what, I can do that. I'm just going to be fucking gone.

I did finally finish the bodice/ribbing on the bolero sweater to a result that I'm quite happy with...then realized I somehow didn't have any of the double pointed needles and had to go home and get them. Nobody noticed, but it was only 20 minutes. On a related-ish note, Omar was there and I saw that Jean (costumes) had him sewing out in the lobby. I said to her, "So, you're having him sew?" and she said, "Go to your room!" I don't think he finished the whole outfit, but he did something...after that, he went back to carpentry.

Then around 3 we painted the stage with primer, then left for about 2 hours to get pizza at Woodstock's. I will note that usually when we go there (circa 10:30-11:30 p.m.) it's usually super swamped and takes like an hour to get a pizza, which is why I usually skip ordering a pizza. (Well, also their pizza is okay, but I like their non-pizza dishes better.) Today I thought, "hey, we're here early enough during dead time, maybe not an issue," but still ordered breadsticks. Still an excellent choice, since those who ordered pizza had a looooooooong wait for it, sheesh.

After that, we went back to the theater and painted the stage. That took about 45 minutes, then I finally went home to get dressed for karaoke. I presume we have to go back and finish more...something, plus repaint the stage again, tomorrow. But I guess we got enough done that we don't have to go until 1, so that's nice. I should take the morning to get ready for the interview, check my wardrobe, etc.

Quotes:

Jean (actress) was trying to text one of her sons that she was thrifting across the street and instead texted him that she was "happily thrusting down the street." Her son was amused.
Steve brought donuts. Jean had considered donuts. "I was going to text you but I thought it was obnoxious, even for me."

Kyle came to paint/stipple for awhile, which led to puns. When Oprah came up in conversation, he said that Oprah did it all on her OWN (as in her network).
Steve: 'Kyle, I've missed you. I had to do all the bad puns myself."
Julia comes from a very literal family: "If you say you're going to jump in the shower, we say be careful."

On stippling and weird Beast behavior:
Steve: "That one looks like someone took a poop on it...the beast wiped himself..." This led to discussion of how the beast can't read either and is a mess, and how is Chip still 10 after ten years?
This led to pointing out that in the live-action movie, they said the mom died of plague and the locals had their memories wiped. Jean: "BP brown? Beast Poop Brown?" (I guess we're lucky Jared came later in the day and missed this.)

Julia: "I've destroyed my sponge, though." Kat: "That's the sign of a good technique." Steve: "The sponge is named Bob...we're having a bit of a moment for Spongebob Squarepants."
Kyle: "This looks lovely." Julia: "I hate these rocks. They're so tiny. My sponge is destroyed." Steve: "But are they spongeworthy?"

Julia: "I thought you said Boris is going to be 108." (I guess he's a vampire? Oh, wait, he does make it to 2 p.m. shows....)

As Steve slides into other musical references: "So we're doing West Side Story now? Cool." -Sierra

Julia: "That joke was rock solid."

Ryan: "Unless it's 5 dozen eggs, I'm not eating it."

There was some amusing discussion of bridges and tunnels for animals and whether or not the animals are smart enough to use them (NO). This led into Steve saying, "I saw two cockroaches having sex. You're gonna die happy."

Sierra: "I've been banned from painting after every show I've done."

Kimmie: "I'm a grandmother, I'm always paranoid."

Kat: "Our dogs (corgis!) are high maintenance and hate each other."

Jillian: "Dirty napkin!" Jared: "Really dirty napkin." Later I thought I heard Alisa say "bush" while saying she was getting paint out of her brush, and then we snarked that we have dirty minds.

Steve: "Remember, come into my mind, you need a shower." Steve: "Don't say fuck in front of the k-i-d."

Steve gets a phone call while at dinner: "At the theater right now, going through a tunnel...."


Karaoke tonight kinda felt like the crazy magnet was starting to go off a bit. Nothing bad, but definitely more people in there than you'd expect in this town at this time of the year and some were a bit strange:

(a) Jim seemed a bit off/slaphappy--apparently he got like 4 hours of sleep after his new Folsom gig, something like that. He drove a bit weird over but didn't drink tonight as far as I know, but was enjoying himself in the bar otherwise.

(b) Ashley and I both dressed up, got out of the car because Jim was dropping us off, and then some CRAZY ASS FUCKER literally sped up, literally drove in a circle in the intersection and then drove like a bat out of hell, followed by some speedy friends. We were literally across the street and were all, "We are NOT crossing the street here." We got back in the car and had Jim literally drive us across the street first.

(c) I tried an orange creamsicle cocktail and it was MAGNIFICENT and I had two. Like an alcoholic creamsicle, it was perfect and the bartender loves them too, and the girl picking up drinks, and the girl across from me at the bar also enjoying it.

(d) Buzz was in the bar with his friend from Texas, and kept walking by not noticing us half the time. Jim said he talked to her and she said she liked Trump and um......

(e) I think the biggest reaction I've EVER seen in this bar though was someone doing "My Way," go figure, followed by (obviously) "Big Balls."

(f) I did "Eye of the Tiger" and "Total Eclipse of the Heart." That got me some new drunk guy friends, particularly one (wearing some kind of "freedom is better than peaceful slavery" shirt, I ain't asking what that's about) who got right up close to me and wanted to sing along. I'm happy to sing along with whoever, but I was a bit annoyed that he kept singing ahead of the rhythm...oh well, ya roll with it. His friends came in and waved and made "bow down to her" gestures and slapped hands, so I was quite happy with them. Ashley's last song was Proud Mary, Jim's was Uptown Funk, both got people in the groove (and in her case, going "OMG IS THAT REALLY HER VOICE?!?" Pintsize powerhouse, indeed.)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com