Chaos Attraction

Close Call

2021-08-28, 11:18 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Back In The Office Again, Sigh - 2021-09-02
Your Timing Stinks - 2021-09-01
Actual Emotional Clearing - 2021-08-31
Cancellations - 2021-08-30
Covid Scare 2 - 2021-08-29

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Last night went pretty well, for having two less cast members (someone remarked that the cast has been different every weekend!), reconfiguring without people, etc. The dance numbers didn't have to be changed too much, I gather the verdict was that if you didn't know people were missing, you wouldn't know the difference. I now do a slight bit more--I twirl Mitch around a bit onstage and I actually got a line, "He's so poisonously good!" I love that line anyway and am happy to have it. The show was about 5 minutes shorter with less people in it, which reminds me of Brian saying that part of why this was so long were the various "court people parading around" scenes. Yup.

I asked Steve and he said everyone tested negative except Dannette's husband Arthur, who has "the sniffles." If anyone else had come down with it they would have canceled, per the cast nurse (i.e. Matthew's mom). Ray the music director said that he was avoiding his husband for days, but when his test came back negative he gave the guy a hug. AWWWWWWW. They are also "sold out" for Sunday but said they figured only sixty people would actually show up in person. There have been some donations, but also Steve just got two grants for the theater....suffice it to say I don't think they will be sweating bullets about closing right now after all. Huzzah.

The one big issue was that the stairs (probably the worst setpiece in this, it's usually having some trouble) had something break on them last night and Andi got some kind of foot injury jumping away to not get hit by them. Molly's dad was around and repaired them, thank goodness. Steve did a very dramatic wiping of sweaty brow gesture after the end of Act 1.

I also felt like the energy was different...kind of a "close call" sort of energy, I guess. Didn't sound like anyone wanted to do dinner afterwards last night, which is probably all for the best after all of that shit. I would have gone if anyone wanted to, but at the same time wasn't really in the mood. Andi and I had a conversation along the lines of "is it REALLY a good idea to do Titanic this year with 50 people?" and Andi said she wants to ask if they are still going to have 50 people in it, because she loves the music but if there's that many people in it and they don't cut the cast, she's gonna nope out. It was also mentioned that the kids' show audition didn't get too many kids at it, which seems totally reasonable under the circumstances.

One of the former cast members came last night and I met her. I said "I bet it's weird to be seeing it" and she agreed. I don't know why she had to drop out (I know one lady had to because of going into the military, I'm guessing this one wasn't that one since she was here!), but at least she got to see it, I guess.

I feel like someone needs to do "An Oral History of Camelot" after all of this is over.

As for today, I have just been lazily lying around the house, in bed till after noon, etc. Can't leave because of fires. Why bother to do anything? I did sleep in, so yay there. I haven't been outside at all at the time of reading this, but I can feel the grossness of the fires in the back of my throat. Uck, it wasn't that bad the last few times, I don't think?

My mom is ushering at her theater--Paula Poundstone, full house! Oh lord, full house. (Am I awful for never, ever getting the appeal of Paula Poundstone? She just doesn't do it for me at all. I know Dawn loves her but I dunno, she just makes me feel like I'm rubbing sandpaper to listen to her.)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com