Chaos Attraction

Covid Scare 2

2021-08-29, 11:19 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
I'm So Out Of It - 2021-09-03
Back In The Office Again, Sigh - 2021-09-02
Your Timing Stinks - 2021-09-01
Actual Emotional Clearing - 2021-08-31
Cancellations - 2021-08-30

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Saturday night: Oh dear. Where do I begin?

I did find out that Andi asked Steve if they were still going to do a 50-person Titanic and it sounds like they're considering cutting it down to 25 and doubling up roles. Uh yeah, much better idea. That said, I think people today at least have some reservations about the idea and were reconsidering doing so.

I am performing in KN95's this weekend, between the smoke and the Covid. Issues with this: (a) The over-the-ears ones kept popping off during rehearsal, so I am wearing the ones that strap around the head. However, having to strap them under my hair for the show just has them bending my ears and trying to come off and that hurts. (b) It's less hurt-y if I don't try to put them over the ears at all and most of the time they are fine. (c) However, they keep sliding down my nose during "Lusty Month of May" and the jousting song, i.e. when I do the most moving. (d) But at least since I double mask, the outside cloth mask covers this up, so I know it's happening (and I'm singing into the nose piece) but nobody else does. That said, my nose is a bit marked up and I'm starting to get a giant zit under my nose now.

The show went well last night--like "I wish we'd filmed this one instead" level of well, less set issues. Pellinore's belt apparently fell off during his bow and I guess he stepped out of it (I couldn't see this bit too well), but I did see him DRAMATICALLY throw the belt offstage! LOL.

I got to use a torch last night in the Guenevere scene since Dannette can't use it. However, Steve kept whispering to me to turn it off when I get offstage. Fine by me, but he couldn't hear me saying that back!

However: right before the show started, I heard Brian say he'd found out that two of the orchestra members just went home with Covid. One of them got a positive test and she came there with someone, so they both went home assuming the other one also got it. To which, uh, they CAME here while positive?! Deliberately?! I heard a third person didn't want to come back after that and James the stage manager had to go down there and clean.

Anyway, fun thing to find out right at the start of the show... There was a post-show Woodstocks gathering in lieu of a cast party. (Steve: "I'd normally make a big stir-fry, but I'm in the show and it's 15 hours long.") However, I went to the bathroom before leaving and then walked out and heard Brian, Kimmie and James basically freaking out about this, and rightly so. Brian was all "three out of 30 people got it, that's 10%" and he has MS, Kimmie's his wife, and James has immunocompromised relatives. All three of them sounded like they were considering quitting Mary Poppins over this--not because the theater's doing anything wrong, but because it seems so easy to catch even with protocols. Jan was all, maybe we should have an emergency board meeting, and then they all went off to talk to Steve and Jan never did make it to the late dinner.

The late dinner was fun, mind you. I had a delicious strawberry salad and got to hear other people's theater stories and who's been in shows with who and what parts they are right for and etc., etc. I also heard Tomas's story of auditioning for Mordred, which I had been wondering about. Apparently he was in some other show and Jan kept going up to him telling him he should audition for Mordred, until he finally caved in and did it. He was the only one that auditioned for it and obviously he got it! Meanwhile, Monica and Dannette apparently were up for Morgan le Fay and Monica says they are usually up for the same parts, being around the same age/altos/character actresses.

I was there talking to Don and Monica until nearly 2 a.m. when they wanted us to leave. Oops. I walked outside and started coughing right off, yikes. I didn't sleep at all after that.

Sunday: didn't sleep at all, but did have a collage club meeting to look at Jade's new puppy, which she has named Loki. Told folks what was going on with me.

I also keep being asked by the dentist to fill out surveys. I love when they ask "do you have a cough?" and I am all "well, not a chronic one, but have you dealt with the air outside right now?" and "uh, yes, I have had exposure to someone with Covid." We'll see how they react tomorrow. In all honesty I would not mind canceling that appointment...

I asked Brian how last night's talk went and he said, "I am not at liberty to say." I will say from later context it doesn't QUITE sound like he, James and Kimmie had all quit Mary Poppins that night since they sounded like they were going to be at rehearsal tonight. Jan claimed she didn't go to dinner because it was late and Steve didn't want her to go out....hmmmmmmmmmm.

Jan did have people gather round for the true story of what happened--she thought everyone had heard about it, but no: someone in the orchestra got her 2nd test and the results came in while she was in the pit and they came back positive. (No phone call? I thought they called you when it's positive.) Steve later told me, "She walked up to me when I was in the ticket booth right before the show and held it up, and I was all, get out of here!" Whoever she came there with left as well, out of an overabundance of caution. Presumably she got it elsewhere rather than here since the orchestra had no contact with Dannette and we really don't have much contact with the orchestra. I don't even know who this person is. In other news, there's some outbreak at the elementary school and the kids' show is on hiatus for a week and a half of quarantining, and I gather there's an outbreak at Matthew's school but he hasn't had contact with those people, but Joe was called and warned about it since he's the only one in a scene with him.

They are going to start some kind of Covid committee to discuss this stuff, apologized for not notifying us better or posting it on FB, said they'd send emails about this sort of thing to everyone. So hey, at least people were informed. But as for the future of here...who knows.

Jan said she got some criticism for mentioning Dannette yesterday, but she said they weren't keeping that a secret. She is also talking to Dannette daily and she's doing better and going back to work Thursday.

As for today: show went well for the final show, no issues, easiest set changing yet, hahahah. No present or card ceremonies happened at this one (note: a thing usually done at final shows) because "this show's long enough as is" and it started 10 minutes late just getting people in there. Hugo and Morgan came by and we were happy to see them.

Quotes from Steve backstage:

"We'll be in masks until at least 2023. Or mid 2022. And lambda variant makes delta look like..... Stupid people."

This one was onstage: "I have to fart so bad." Me: "Clench, sir, clench!" I later told this to the girls in the dressing room and they were all "Why did you tell us that?" Me: "hey, at least he held it off."

Also, Steve was very happy to be done with moving that damn wall too, hah.

So for the moment, my theater time is over (well, other than next weekend's online festival). On the one hand, I might like a bit of a break. On the other hand, I'm terrified I may never be in another play again after this one. It's part of why I'm considering auditioning for Titanic even though I'm meh on the show and oh, it's probably dangerous. I don't want to leave working with this theater (or any theater, I suppose!).

After strike, people were supposed to stay around until the set was cleared, but ahem, somehow people kept disappearing to take people to the airport, or feed the dogs, or take home Mrs. Bigglesworth because she started making noises, and ah...it dragged on. I cleaned the bathroom, hauled clothes to Jean's car, probably spent an hour removing staples from a table, and attempted to "take out my rage" (per Steve) on the fake trees, as we were pretty well unable to break the things apart to throw them in a dumpster. Finally someone had to break out a decent wirecutter for that.

Reasons why I am sooooooooo glad I am not in Mary Poppins:

(a) 11 people were in this show and in MP. So this show ended about 5:40 tonight, then we had to clean up the set/building for 2 hours, and then those poor bastards have to rehearse tonight. And they were saying they missed 1.5 weeks of rehearsal due to Camelot + Covid. That is just Too Much.

(b) There is an 8 minute long tap number. EIGHT MINUTES?!

(c) Today I got to hear a whole thing about how if you're in a flying scene, even if you are not flying, you have to be at the rehearsal because of blocking. This was something that most of the cast members here tonight had NOT known about and wasn't put onto the schedule. (Plus I recall Jan saying that flying is painful.)

(d) In general it sounds complicated as shit whenever people talk about it.

(e) Apparently people are dropping out due to the mask requirement, plus....WHATEVER ELSE MAY OCCUR.

(f) Oh yeah, who the hell knows if the show can or will go on these days?

Anyway, I finally got out of there about 7:20 and hit 7-11 on the way home for another giant slushie. I'm so worn out. I pre-made pizza, at least.

Oh, and Jackie texted me that she's throwing a 90th birthday party for her grandma in a restaurant in October! With formal invites being sent out!

....OMFG I CAN'T EVEN WITH THIS I KNOW SHE'S 90 AND FRAGILE, BUT THOSE ARE EXACTLY THE REASONS NOT TO THROW A PARTY!!!!!

.... why bother, nobody's going to listen to a word I say about anything, why bother to argue.

However, since I am now possible walking danger and had a scare this week and had to go back to campus, it's probably not a good idea for me to go anyway.

I haven't responded, I can't even with this today.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com