Chaos Attraction

Interview

2022-08-29, 8:45 p.m.

Welp, I am back from my interview. It went well enough, I think. I don't know if I'd be the standout candidate out of three (I saw the list of them on the wall when I came in, I was the third interview, didn't recognize the other two), but I gave it a shot. The supervisor lady seems nice, they all seemed pleasant enough. I asked how their hiring cycles work and they said the second interview would be with the director and they send the top two candidates to that one and then finish the whole hiring in about two weeks. So, pretty fast for GiantOrg. We'll see. I'm not getting my hopes up, but I did email my old managers/references after I got home. They said they do contact your current supervisor (ugh) but did ask if I wanted to be notified about that ahead of time. Who knows how that'll go. I think mine would be supportive of me leaving for sure, but god only knows what she'd say as a reference. I don't think I'm going to bring it up until/unless I get another interview. They might be all "you don't work with faculty enough" on me, so who knows cue song for Lowered Expectations.

Notes on the job: in person every day, no more working from home (sigh), they sound nice, the job sounds super busy and you work for multiple people, you partner with one person (who I sorta-know from over email already) as your backup and vice versa, deals with big shots--I have been ruled out of jobs for "doesn't work with big shots enough," so I would not be shocked if that does me in. They sorta-asked on that topic but I didn't get anything like "how do you specifically work with that clientele" like I have in the past ,so don't know there. It was reasonable questions--what do you do when you make a mistake, teamwork stuff, can you show up on time (only one time they asked that one!.,,,the weirdest interview I went to asked multiple times) how do you prioritize, strengths and weaknesses. I did get the "how do you like to be supervised" question, which I definitely have opinions on and an answer for (heck, we discussed it together here). That's one of those "proposed interview questions" you read about online but Giant Org people don't normally seem to care about it. So that was nice. Sounds like she's available when you need her, which is a yay and one of the pet peeves I had in the past pre-pandemic/Slack channels. They also gave me candy in the interview, which I think is adorable (even if I didn't eat it 'cause I was yakking).

Anyway...who knows. After I write the thank you note after work, I'll try to put it out of my head and not jinx it. I don't feel strongly as to whether or not I get it, it sounds like as much of a zoo as my current job, except a DIFFERENT zoo and no public service phones and front counter BS (I asked). So, would be a slight improvement. Who knows. I'm pleased to have been in the top three, anyway. I did write a nice thank-you letter reiterating my candidacy after work, so good for me.

Other than that, I re-ordered all the screwed up names again, I keyed some information, I had a long meeting, and I helped out a coworker with stuff. I did not hate myself today, so that was lovely.


In other non-news, I'm considering what musicals to audition for in the future. I'm not very thrilled with most of the slate in 2023. The next one coming up is A Christmas Carol: The Musical and I figure I'd be just fine with performing in that. The group dance scenes look quite fun, anyway. I saw Cabaret years ago as a kid and was not into it because of the downer subject matter and the emcee reminding me way too much of Pee-Wee Herman. Upon reading the TV Tropes page...yeah, I still don't wanna do it, and I am not a sexy Kit Kat Klub dancer anyway so NBD. And Newsies is full of men and god knows I don't pass as one so I am not really even considering that show (also it was ... just okay, IMO).

That leaves Sweeney Todd, which I've never seen and suspect I would not like, but people seem quite hyped about, and Pirates of Penzance. Now I am trying to rewatch Pirates, a musical I had wanted to see for years, finally saw it and I just remember thinking it was so dumb. I don't remember much about it other than the Leap Day birthday and of course, Modern Major General. I'm trying to talk myself into it because it at least sounds more fun? I dunno who I'd play though since I sure as fuck couldn't sing or play the one old lady part (also, I get why she's doing it because desperate, but it's pretty squick to try to come onto the 21-year-old you like, raised or whatever and try to get him to marry you because he doesn't know what other women look like) and otherwise it's pirates or young ladies. Also, opera singing. I dunno...I'm kind of bored watching it now?...yeah, also, no parts for me in that one. Never mind.

Had to open a new brand of covid tests today since I'm using my stash by expiration dates. This is from the boxes of 4 I had to order off Amazon (and never did get reimbursed for). This brand (Roche, I was using iHealth before) makes you wait 20 minutes to read the test rather than 15 and then it says "don't read it after 30 minutes." What happens after that? Does it explode? Test fake positive? Da fuck? I told Steve if my apartment explodes, I blame it on him and Amazon.


Rehearsal: all of Act 1, which took 1.5 hours or so today, so good job there. We had Andee (yes, she's spelling it that way...) there since Marguerite is out permanently. There was a confusing mix of "yay" for the new one and "aw" for the old. And we had Maya there. Sherilyn was out again, her mom's having chest pains.

Steve: "We'll have a whole new cast next week." Scott: "I'll be a silly girl."

(Director) Steve lines:
Steve demonstrated how to walk with baskets, as in "Imagine you've got these enormous tuchuses behind you."
"There is one musical director...", points in Boris's corner, but he's not there, he's in the opposite doorway. "I'm so bored of that corner," Boris said.
"Scott will be lifting up panels during the show..."
"Felicia, can you have a child now?"
"It's a walk and talk, a la the West Wing."
On the prologue: "That was very good, considering we only did it once."
"Kissing him on the button was perfect. That was not a euphemism." Jan, of course, thought he said butt.
To Ryan: "Could you drop her a little more? You're being too saintly with her."

Sarah: "I'll be a basket case."

Kimmie on the antlers, which are finally in the decorating: "Don't stroke them nicely."

Alisa on her candle prop, which she volunteered for: "I hate this thing!" She's also sad she can't sell candles off it--we were told no buying/selling anything nor putting it in our baskets. "They're on an honor system in Provincial Town," Steve said. Though I did point out to Rachele that if she bought a candle, it might set her bookstore on fire. "Good point." Alisa: "I'm having a day. Just saying."

Actor Steve: "I can't get this..fakakta thing to work!" Nice improv!

Kat briefly went on her toes a la ballet at the end of her aria. Steve: "You will not be able to do that." Kat: "I know."

Boris: "You guys are just standing there for four bars."

The actual run through went pretty well for the first time ever doing any of it in full order. I wished I hadn't left my script in the car to check where we were, but let's face it, I've seen the movie a bunch and you can tell when to get up when everyone else gets up. The cups was the worst of it, no shocker there. (Rachelle on her notes: "It says oh my god, cups.") The switching of the prince for the beast involves rolling in and out of the curtain, apparently. Mostly what was bad in scenes I wasn't in was remembering actual lines...I won't name names, but Steve was all, "You've had the script for two months. I'm sure you've been looking at it every night, right?" I note Andee had them on flash cards, but no judgement in her case. Overall verdict from Steve: "That was not good, but not bad. It was ok." I'll take it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com