Chaos Attraction

The Kickline Is Not A Line

2022-09-01, 8:59 p.m.

Today, I had to go into the office. I did a lot of mailing of things and tracking down things for 2.5 hours. I had to pick my schedule for the fall, which presumably at this point I will have to keep. I bought a ticket for The Book Of Mormon for my one half day off, pre-sale. I answered questions. I cussed out the office calendar for not working. Blah blah who cares.

Rehearsal; went long because they stared doing mic checks. I will note that the last few shows people haven't gotten interesting during mic checks, but we're back to the Producers level of wacky again here. Kat and Andee can hit VERY HIGH NOTES, I can't even imagine being able to do that. Scott tried. Jean did a whole monologue about stale baguettes and how nobody likes Belle anyway. Rachele didn't remember her lines, Julia had to say some, then she was all, "I couldn't do my lines without you!" Omar was all, "Hello, my name is Omar and I am auditioning for the role of Cogsworth." Boris played some Music Man stuff at Maya.

Me: "I like mic check. I don't have to do mic check and I can laugh at everybody who is doing mic check."

People joining the show: Amy and Dannette in the booth, Stacy and Sage (with green hair now!) as assistant stage managers.

The napkins actually put on full outfits tonight: the tops and belts with it actually look really cute, as do the blingy shirts on the silverware. I'm still not bothering to get into costume, but most people are. Ryan and I just don't feel like it, we said. I did briefly have to do "Be Our Guest" with a platter (meatballs), which was not too bad/about what I expected. I don't know which one I'll be assigned, though.

Quotes:
Steve:
"When people get a microphone, they don't know what to say."
On Babette's sneeze: "I think that would sell thousands of tickets. We should put it on Instagram."
"Is Beast in the show?"
"That's what the cannibals said while they were eating the clowns: Does this taste funny to you?"
"Ryan, much better death!"

Other Steve/Maurice (in the Maurice shirt again, but tank version):
"There is no ready."
"Bye bye, village people."
"Falling is easy. Landing is hard." (Me: "Trying to fall and miss is even harder.")

Kimmie: "Nobody startle the turkeys outside."

Sierra: "I full on smacked Julia last week."

Lucas: "I'm just going to go around until I apologize to everybody."

Sierra is putting a billion curlers into ALL the Silly Girl wigs. In the aisle. Ryan: "Am I supposed to put that much effort into my wig too?" Later he comes out in it and is all, "What's wrong with my wig?"

Omar: "Everything's going so swimmingly....Line?" He was also called out for saying "Jesus" and "Shoot." Steve later: "I wrote Omar and I don't know why."

Jan was told to say "More cheese!" louder. Me: "More cheesy." Annie: "I gotta get the knife for it."

Boris on the whine during "Be Our Guest:" "I did say I wanted it to be obnoxious, but there's a line."

Sherilyn: "The kickline is not a line."

Jean (costumes) says she has the right to change costumes. Julia: "Can my dress be purple?"

The only interaction I had with Scott was me muttering, "Did he just kiss himself?" as Gaston pulls out an (imaginary at the moment) photo of himself, and Scott nodded at me. Otherwise, we continue to ignore and avoid each other and it's all for the best.

Mostly I spent tonight timing the show and how long it goes between times I Have to be onstage.

The beginning/Belle is about nine minutes long, then it's about 30 minutes or so before I'm on again, then about 14 minutes before I'm on again, then done with act 1. Second act: on after the first ten minutes, then on for five minutes, then about twenty minutes before the mob song, about seven minutes of mob and battle, then about four minutes until the end singing. Lots of changing time in this one, lots of kickback time to be lazy, a la Producers.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com