Chaos Attraction

Off Color

2021-09-04, 11:26 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Starting Mary Poppins - 2021-09-09
Sir - 2021-09-08
I Don't Have Glaucoma - 2021-09-07
I Have No Good Title Again - 2021-09-06
It's All Uncomfortable - 2021-09-05

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I spent most of the day doing not much of anything, but in the afternoon Kelly and I put on the Off Color Play Festival. (All woman-identifying playwrights writing about...off color....material.) I don't think I've gotten into it much of late since I have been occupied with Camelot, but it went really well. I admit I was fonder of the plays seeing them live than reading them when I did, especially certain performances. Jackie (plays Jackie) of course did a spectacular monologue about having a magnet in her underwear--apparently that's a menopause remedy in the UK. We had a play about a dating service in which one checks in with someone's exes before you date them, and a live streaming comedian who's cheesed off at her husband while trying to get pregnant in quarantine ("Limp Dick Streaming Services" is the title of that one). Jackie also wrote a play about farting. Another one was about a girl coming out to her parents and they were SUPER EXCITED about this, like "I think they pre-planned that fancy scroll and dancing and all the gay puns" level of that. The parental actors were adorable too. Then there was a play about a "book club" (we all know what those are like) that names their vaginas, and then finally, we did Tailwind.

It all went really well. I admit my enthusiasm for the whole thing had kind of palled over the months, plus distracted by Camelot/Covid/blah de blah, but it was a really fun festival to do and didn't end up being too difficult or anything going wrong, so huzzah there! I definitely wanted to finish doing one before discussing another, which I guess we shall do tomorrow with Shanna since she did come today and seemed happy.

(I hope she's better....? I hope?)

Oh, quote from Kelly in our pre-show talk as her dog Avery was losing it and barking and barking: "Mommy is going to have to smoke some dope in order to deal with you tonight." I was all "Avery!" like I was Martha Arable again, that amused me.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com