Chaos Attraction

Smartass, But Accurate

2022-09-07, 9:11 p.m.

In office day, same old kinds of shit as usual, whatever.

I had to officially quit the Craft Center today, as they asked if I was ever going to come back or else I should get my stuff, and well....I don't think I'm coming back. Waaaaaaaaaaaaah, but there it is and I'm sad. I literally said I've been putting off this email for years :(

In other news, I did read the tap dance teacher's email and followed up on that, so good for me there. I may go shop for tap shoes and go to a costume sale in Sac on Saturday morning. Temperature was supposedly around 107 today, but weirdly enough yesterday's 117 I saw on accuweather.com was demoted to 113 on their monthly calendar. What the fuck?! Oh, and I found out most of my town WAS blacked out last night, but not my place or the theater, go figure.

Rehearsal: still going well. Full on dress/wigs/hair/makeup tonight, which is more work for some than others. Happily, this is a trouble-free production (so far, fingers crossed, knocking on wood here) and no Evita cursed drama or covid so far..

When I got into the theater, I had to wait around for all the kids from the previous show to disperse, so I found myself a fancy comfy chair. Jan came over and said, "You're in the Sweeney Todd chair." (Apparently it had been on loan and returned, with improvements.) Me: "Is that ominous for my well being?"

I was by Elissa tonight while she was covering up her tattoo (everyone with chest/back/arm tats has to cover them up now) and she did a fantastic job of it, like it actually looked NATURAL and not just the whole Dermablend thing I've seen Sabrina and Lindsay do where it just made the tattoo look faded. She said she took classes in Sacramento at their equivalent of young performer's theater in special effects. She put yellow on her tats, then red on top, then all the blending colors ("I have about five billion types of concealer.". It was amazing. She brought in a kit for others to use (which they did), though she said she needs to get more latex because it dried up. Hopefully she finds more tomorrow at Target in the Halloween section. I said to Sierra that maybe we need to have tattoo coverup stuff in the kit and she said since she doesn't have any, it wouldn't have occurred to her either.

Scott had on the white face makeup and full on wig tonight, though it looks like they possibly ditched the candle on top of the wig (it wasn't great). Honestly, I don't think the white face makeup looks good, especially when everyone else playing an object doesn't have to use it (note: sounds like the theater's idea rather than his) and that's more crap to clean off in a rush, but...whatever. We're still not talking and it's not anything to me.

Jan had Steve try on the wolf mask, which he wandered out in. Kimmie petted it. I am told that the eyes have finally been adjusted so the wolves can actually see. Jokes about four blind wolves/three blind mice went on. Me: "I bet you're fiercer wolves if you're able to see."

Steve also acted out "Doe, A Deer" while we were singing it, which was adorable.

Jan talked about A Christmas Carol today--4 costume changes ("today, today of the past, ghost, party"), and apparently even worse than Evita on quick changes. The heck?!?!

The fork continued to fall about and nearly injure people, something I kept trying to point out last night and apparently nobody in the front noticed. Well, they noticed tonight, finally, and people were roped in to deal with it and I was allowed to remove it DURING Human Again, it was so lurchy. It has the straps like, drilled/bolted into the thing and needs to have at least 1.5 inches taken out, and Annie said her dad fixed up the fork and apparently it had issues before that.

Quotes:

On costumes:
Eve: "We're boring matrons."
Alisa: "I will never be a boring matron, ever."
Eve: "These costumes, all I can say, it's acting."

Sierra:
"I probably should have put on my costume before I put on my wig."
"I had a kid tell me, you look kinda pretty. I'll take it."

Rachelle:
"I'm going to Google how to contour."
"Also, they frown on me being topless."

Jan: "Directing is so relaxing. Being in a show is hard." (I sorta wonder why she's in them then? I mean, she seems into it, but also yeah, that's a lot of stuff.) Jan was also griping about how we can't get ushers (then again, ticket sales are still not good so I presume that's why, whee pandemic) and Eve said, "Maybe you need to raise the prices for a free show." LOL.

Alisa briefly nicked me with the candle thing she's supposed to be holding (note: still doesn't have candles on it), I was all "it's okay," and "Hey, I hit Molly in the head once, she's fine." Molly giggled.

"If I have the chance to be a brat, I'll be a brat for a second. It's a little sister thing." -Sarah

Post-show (2 hours 2 minutes! It keeps going down!), Steve said Andee was looking around randomly for Chip at the end. Andee: "I can only hear in one ear." (I note she has a cochlear implant, though I'm not sure if it's hooked up all the time when her hair is down) Steve: "Smartass." Me: "Smartass, but accurate."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com