Chaos Attraction

Try The Beast

2022-09-09, 9:15 p.m.

This morning, went to the periodontist. I was afraid I was going to get busted for high blood pressure, which I guess I was (there was a new assistant guy in there and he just muttered something and walked off, so I was all "hm, if there weren't instant complaints, maybe I'm ok?"), but the lady who works on me does a ton of relaxation techniques and after all of the poking and prodding was done, checked it again and said it went down. WHEW. Other than that, I got told to floss daily, blah de blah...I do hate that we HAVE to have these appointments where people are paid to tell you exactly what you do wrong all the time and end up feeling bad because you always fail. Sigh.

As for the shot: that was pretty easily done, though they told me "Kaiser won't let us give flu shots this year" (the fuck?), so that isn't done. I am now shot up with Moderna and hopefully safer in this shitty covid world of ours. Fingers crossed. Yemi went to the same place an hour and a half later and said it was a mess and they had like 9 people and 1 person to wait on you. Guess it pays to go at 10 a.m. there.

I note that by the time I got back to work (at home) today they announced that they will require everyone to get a booster shot, but not quite yet because of availability. I spent an hour trying to get my vax card photo off the phone and uploaded, but it's finally done. Sheesh, technology.

Back in the awful ol' Shark Tank days in my old unit, I had the three coworkers: the bully (still there, interim manager at the moment), the self-described psychopath (gone now) and the "somewhat nicer but also sometimes shitty" one, who leaves every job after 2 years because she gets bored. Well, guess what, THAT one has gotten the permanent manager job for my old unit. Not that she's not good, but (a) I'm surprised she'd circle back here because "bored," and (b) don't they know she leaves every two years? Like, it's obvious on her resume? Anyway, can't say I'm thrilled to have her back (though hey, at least it's not psychopath), since even if bully leaves, I can never go back to that unit for the next two years until "bored" kicks in. SIGH.

All of the archived Important Documents that have been sitting here since 2013 have now been thrown out. I do not approve of this, but my opinion on the topic was not asked for or wanted. I know it's gonna cause drama with some people, and while it is annoying to have all of them around in perpetuity, it also seems pretty mean to toss them too. We also don't warn anyone about this on our website--I asked my boss to and she said no. Sigh.

There's some fire out in El Dorado Hills/Folsom area (Alisa said she could see the smoke from her house yesterday) and Yemi said that an online crafter acquaintance of ours told her she got told to evacuate ASAP. The lady ah...took some time to film her crafts before she ran. I don't know if I'd take time out for that if it was not even "you get an hour," it's "GET OUT NOW."(But I do photograph most stuff after it's done, so no need, I guess.) Anyway, air is unhealthy over there, not great over here but I'm staying out of the 100-and-balls of late anyway. I saw that Accuweather updated to say that it was 116 on Monday and Tuesday...I have a screenshot of them saying it was 117 Tuesday previously on the day. I think I am going to add a stop at a craft store onto my list of places to go tomorrow to see if I can get more colors for the SUPER hot days on my cross stitch.

Steve posted a video testing the rose and the petals falling. "Not bad, not bad." On a related video note, I finally got the Spring Fling DVD and flash drive, I'm attempting to very slowly upload the latter to my private YouTube so I can send it to a few folks. I don't know if YouTube will allow it, mind you, but we'll see.

Also, I got a (rather fancy, like someone else did card making class) thank-you card from DMTC for my donation. To which I am all, HEY, DIDN'T I MARK THAT THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE ANONYMOUS, THANKYOUVERYMUCH?!? Grumble grumble.


Friday night's show: smooth like buttah, other than me and the fork. I guess the fork is more fucked-up woodwise than the knife and spoon, which would explain why it is still wiggly and got into Cogsworth's innards last night...sigh, oh well, he seems to have disentangled. Oh yeah, and the belt CAME OFF while I was removing it. Annie said she'd work on it again....may have to bungee cord it on the front or something. I hope that gets done.

So at the start of the show Lefou is supposed to catch a (dead) bird falling from the rafters. This has not been done before and he was told he specifically can't practice doing so ever because they have to use the genie lift to get it up there. It went...dramatically? I think he kinda caught it/it hit around the top of his chest?

Oh, and Alisa forgot to put the bloomers on...and then did the can-can in public and noticed this at intermission .I note she has like, tights/Spanks or whatever on so it's not like you saw anything, but she was all "hopefully Jean's not in the audience." (She was probably at the bar.) This did get a comment of, "You ARE the dirty napkin!" Rachele said, "We're going to do a bloomer check every night."

Andee got herself and Maya shirts with Mrs. Potts and Chip on them, that say "Cute-Tea." So cute.

Kat got big applause even BEFORE her aria started, which must have been gratifying.

Jan continues to say there's insanely quick costume changes in this next one. (Mentioned this to Morgan the next day and she was all, "What is with Jan and the quick costume changes?!")

Quotes:
"What, are they going to stop the show because napkin #3 is missing?" -Rachele
"My undergarment outfits are cracking me up." -Kat
I forget the context of this one, but..."You're like that person out in the back with drugs in the 80's." -Sarah
Annie is apparently playing some kind of pick-up stuff(?) game with Maya: "If we find that someone's fingers come off, that's an extra jelly bean."
Omar: "What's up, duck?"
Rachelle: "Belle and I have conflicting curling irons."
Andee on medical conditions: "Hives for no reason! Hurray!" and after making a crack about an ex of hers showing up at a show: "Did you happen to find my next ex-boyfriend?"
Sarah: "Something goes wrong in every performance. That's life."
Sarah is making her eyes look disturbingly rummy and red to play Monsieur D'Arque. Me: "That is so disturbing." Her: "Good, that's what I'm going for."
The show's specialty drink is called "The Beast." Someone said, "I want to try The Beast." Someone else pointed out that his wife (Alisa) is right here. Alisa: "It's ok, you can try him out."
Sarah on the wolves' appearances: "So much prep we have to do for 30 seconds."

We got a standing ovation! After the show, there was a little girl in a Belle dress for the meet-n-greet, and she got a little mirror. Photos were taken, it was cute. People I saw afterwards: Don, Arianna, Mary, Nate, Other Jennifer...I note that I stayed as far away from Scott as I could possibly get during all of this, sigh.

There was cake and drinks afterwards, talking about auditioning for Young Frankenstein--Jean politely said ah, I shouldn't get my hopes up on that one and I said I'm just doing it for fun. Annie said there was some jerk director at Woodland that wasn't nice to Molly, so depends on who's directing over there. I also got to see some of the costumes she's done--a light-up Cinderella dress for Molly, fairy godmother for herself. Scott came over at the end of this to talk to Sierra, I ignored it all.

So far Felicia, Ben-of-the-birthday-party's wife (I cannot recall her name), me are planning to audition for Christmas Carol.

However, ignoring him ended up ending while at Woodstock's because he ended up across the table, so we ended up having conversation about his vaguely injured wrist, auditioning, the time he broke his leg in high school, etc.

I sat next to Ryan, which was entertaining:
On why he's performing without a microphone: he's one of those people who sweats through the whole apparatus, and "we tried putting it in a condom and it still didn't work." His voice is loud enough he doesn't need it anyway.
On the photo of himself: "That picture of me is so terrible it needs to be seen. I did the dumbest smile and knew I'd regret it."
On playing Gaston: "It's great, I get to be a douchebag," and "He's so dumb, it's awesome. He's French and can't even speak French."
On Lefou: "He doesn't need a sound effect every time I punch him."

At some point I heard Jared say, "Hey, what about me? I just got stabbed."

I was going to avoid the walk-to-our-cars together thing, but it pretty much happened anyway because Stacy and I talked about yarn on the way out and he came up behind us, so naturally that came up. We didn't talk that much afterwards, but he did briefly hug me goodbye before leaving.

So...as usual, he's just oblivious, I suppose. Didn't notice anything was wrong or miss me or...whatever.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com