Chaos Attraction

A Surprise at Karaoke

2022-09-10, 9:19 p.m.

Saturday: woke up around 8ish, left town around 9:30, went to a costume sale at some warehouse in Sacramento. It was legitimately a large costume sale, which was cool. I ended up not getting that much stuff (would have bought more if I fit into it), did get a skirt and a lovely dress I got for free because the zipper pull broke. I actually managed to jury-rig a new zipper pull out of wire and it worked great, I think I'll wear it tomorrow for the audition.

Then I went to Capezio to buy tap shoes. This was, weirdly enough, the easiest shoe buying experience in my LIFE and I was out of there in like five minutes. I warned the girl of my whole "feet hate shoes" issue, but apparently tap shoes do not have the usual weird "something's rubbing me! Aiee!" kind of BS other shoes do. I tried in about two pairs and got the more expensive/leather one for being an easier fit. The girl was super nice (she knows/pet sits for Andy from DMTC) and said to wear them around the house ON CARPET ONLY and if anything else goes wrong, return them before I actually tap anywhere.

After that I went to Michael's and got more DMC floss to make the temperature cross stitch EVEN HOTTER--I ended up getting GLITTER for those days, har har. The girl at the register was quite interested :)

I bummed around a few other stores in the area, but only got stuff at Goodwill, which did NOT have Halloween costumes out yet, but I got a few lovely thermal shirts (one tie-dye, one black with silver glitter hearts) and one really cute pastel rainbow buttondown dress that also is a ruffly skirt? It said 3X, but yeah right, it was only slightly big on me. Even the lady ringing me up liked it. So, I'm pretty pleased, even if I was trying to find stuff to wear as Queen Elizabeth II (my backup Halloween costume idea, perhaps?) and struck out there. That might be hard to do, I admit. On a related note, Rae wants to costume shop on Monday, so I'll do that after work.

Did text with Felicia a bit--she has signed up for the tap classes via phone, I guess I will have to do that later since

I came home, had late dinner, then singing lesson with Morgan. Pondered doing "Once Upon A Dream" but I don't think I'm ready to do that one in public, so I'm going with "I Could Have Danced All Night." We practiced the minute cut of that, then discussed songs for "Young Frankenstein" and said she wants to go for Elizabeth, said the one time she auditioned there before she didn't get in. I pretty much know I'm not, this is just for fun...anyway, she didn't think I should do the songs from the show because one of them is very nasal and the other "is very very alto." I looked on theatretrip.com awhile back (she just read it right before class, I looked at this like a week ago so now I forget what I said) and she thinks I should do a snippet from "A Trip To The Library" from She Loves Me. She is also coming to the show tonight, hurray.


Saturday night show: also went well. The fork broke BEFORE the show even started--one of the straps broke off entirely right after I tested it--and Annie had her dad drive in from Sac to fix it. So it at least is back on me again, but the top of it continues to wiggle about inexplicably since the knife and spoon don't have the same issue. Oh well...I guess there's nothing to be done. I seriously considered tying a ribbon around my neck to try to stabilize the thing, except then I probably would have choked myself onstage. "Try not to dance too much" is what I ended up having to do, so that was...iffy. Oh well.

The bird being launched from the ceiling REALLY hit Lucas in the head last night. Comedy gold! Also notable: Leo yelling, "THAT'S TOO EXPENSIVE!" out of nowhere.

We had discussion backstage about the show plot holes, like "Where are the Beast's parents?" and "Seriously, why are we blaming the servants for how the prince turned out?" and "How are they getting food? It's not like Mrs. Potts can walk to the village now," and "Didn't the village NOTICE the castle was gone?"

Quotes:
Julia on the little girl in costume from last night: "Her parents were all, go get her."
Rachele on Gaston's hair: "I can't keep it together during the Mob Song. I look at his bangs and laugh every night."
Kimmie: "I saw someone stand on those windows last night." Ryan: "I'm sorry, I won't do it again." (I presume it wasn't him.)
Alisa: "I don't want to forget any undergarments today." Later: "Let's see if I still have my bloomers on." (I did see a bloomer check backstage.)
Eve: "I don't think the audience would care if one of us lost an apron."
On having to pee during a show: "I'm hydrated, but at what cost?" -Sarah
Stacy to me: "I think Belle should bring you out to the Beast and say fork you!" I told this to Julia later and she laughed her head off.
Jan on the wolf outfit: "I'm going to wear this for Scaryoke."
Alisa to me: "We like your laugh. Any laughter is good, in my opinion."
On us jerky villagers: "No sympathy for us." -Sarah

AFTER is where this got interesting. Jan wanted to go to a different restaurant and decided on "Nick the Greek," a new Greek restaurant that's open till 2:30. I'm so-so on Greek food but probably would have went, BUT Morgan and Hugo went last night and as I was walking out of the theater, asked if I wanted to do karaoke. HELL YEAH. (Surprise to Ashley and Jim, who were still there when we got there since we got there around 10:30-ish.) Also along were Sierra and a friend of M/H's from the time they did B&tB together. AND THEN A BIT LATER SCOTT, OF ALL PEOPLE, SHOWED UP IN THE BAR. Obviously I didn't invite him, I did ask Sierra later if she did and she said that he texted her asking where people were going. Total shock there, especially to Ashley and Jim (I said to Scott something like "go say hi to these people you haven't seen for years."), Ashley even noticed that he wouldn't go for me alone--of course not. He mostly stood around in the back being semi-introvert-y, but got into things at moments. I liked that he came back to karaoke, but I asked afterwards and I doubt he'll ever do it again-- said the bar was loud (well, literally all karaoke bars are loud? That's the point?) and it was more for the people being there.

I was standing in between both groups (with Scott lurking in back), which worked for me. Most of us only got in one song, some folks leaning towards Disney in particular, with Sierra doing "Part Of Your World" and Morgan apologizing, then doing "Let It Go." (Hugo less Disney'd.) Buzz (also in the bar) and I did more Hamilton, with him doing "You'll Be Back" and me doing "Satisfied." I did ask Scott if he wanted to do the Alexander bits (yes), so I can say we finally debuted together, at least. The other girls kinda did backup. Scott very eventually did "Should've Known Better," which impressed people.

Sierra was all "nobody tell Boris, who knows my vocal coach, that I'm doing this." Morgan was all to me, "as your vocal coach, I should be telling you not to to do this, but..." here she is doing it too, LOL.

I will note that at one point, a guy (who'd brought his dog, our group was trying to pet it) came in and sang "Gay Bar." Very loudly.

Conversations in the bar that I could hear involved...well, there is someone who's been at the theater. I won't mention the name since this gets into Not Nice territory, but she has been briefly mentioned here occasionally and I have not gotten to know her very well. Apparently this girl hates Sierra and openly said so to Annie--both because Sierra got Hope in Urinetown and that at some point Sierra described a part she was doing as "I get thrown around a lot" (accurate, she does) and this girl, who umm, weighs more, took it as personally fatshaming her. Morgan basically said that this girl gets jealous/mean to people who people who she thinks are better than her, and if she's going to think like that, she doesn't belong at DMTC because this isn't that kind of place.

On a related note, Morgan told me to stop thinking that I'm crap (I forget exact phrasing, but you get the drift) because that's the issue Unnamed Lady has and it's believing in herself that got her this far in doing shows, and I'm not crap--she admitted she thought I might be "a bit of a dead end" but apparently I'm better than expected, so go figure on that one. It was really sweet. I said she's the only one who's said anything nice about me lately.

Theater discussion post-karaoke:
(a) How the hell are they going to get a bunch of male dancers for Newsies if they can't get enough males in shows these days anyway? Jan thinks "they'll come out," Scott was all "not too many of them in community theater and those people would probably go to Woodland or get paid gigs." We presume a lot of ladies will be in drag.

(b) Scott keeps saying he won't be in Christmas Carol because he needs a break, isn't going to do 4 in a row and is supposed to move into the replaced house at the end of the month. I will note that he has actually listened to the show more than right before auditions and noted that there's like 12 guys with speaking parts in it, and again, how are we going to get 12 guys when there's seven male parts in B&tB and we had to have a lady fill in? Then he said the one part he'd consider is Cratchit, and Hugo and I both said, "so what happens if they ask you to play Cratchit?" and I noted that he said he wouldn't do Music Man unless he got asked to do barbershop, and then he got asked to do barbershop. Whatever, dude, we're done with shows together anyway.

(c) Rance said he wants to see the show, knew Ryan from high school and said, "ask him about the pink tutu, it will MESS. HIM. UP." Apparently Rance wrote a song about one and Ryan wore it and danced around in it.

Morgan insisted that buddy system be used to go back to cars, so Scott was designated to walk me to my car...half a block away, actually just parked behind the bar, ha ha, which is where I asked if he'd do karaoke again. He gave me a brief hug goodbye and that was it.

Really, the guy used to like me, but he really...stopped acting like it. I wonder what the hell happened. Did I do something wrong? Did he just lose that loving feeling?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com