Chaos Attraction

Shopping

2021-09-11, 11:33 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Mary Poppins, Night 1 - 2021-09-17
HAMILTON - 2021-09-16
Tech Week Continues - 2021-09-14
I'm Totally Fried - 2021-09-13
Mary Poppins Tech Week - 2021-09-12

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

(a) Went to Farmers Market before anyone I know goes to pick up nectarines and bread. The nectarines were amazingly juicy. (b) Went to the DMTC costume sale and bought myself a fancy shiny dress for $5. I'll probably never have anywhere to wear it, but what the heck. Conversation with Jean was her telling Monica (kids' costume mistress) that I was doing the lights, and I said how that happened and Jean was all "Got ambushed, huh? That's how I got into the theater."

(c) Went to Sacramento to hit the new Halloween stores that just opened up. Spirit Halloween did an excellent job--I didn't buy anything but I was inspired by the $50 inflatable light up wings they had. I didn't get them, but I wanted to. Halloween City, on the other hand, didn't have much. Probably not worth hitting that one. (d) I went to a few thrift stores in Sacramento and in town, no real scores there.

(e) I went to Joann's and bought buttons for the coat I'm making--5 packs for $3. (f) I bought a book at B&N. (g) Got lunch groceries for the work week (sigh). (h) Got another slushie, which was delicious. God, I wish I could have a slushie machine in my house. (Though looking for these on the Internet, I guess they don't go well). While in there, I also found these noodle dishes I literally haven't been able to buy in two years or find anywhere, so I grabbed them and snarfed this down when I got home. Hours later, my stomach is gurgling and gurgling and gurgling LOUDLY (but not having the ah....effect you'd expect from that activity, somehow. I dunno if this is something I should blame on the noodle dish, which did not have that effect on me years ago when I used to eat it, but I pretty much just ate noodles, bread and nectarines today so I dunno..... (i) Went to the library, got more books, did I need to get more books?

I somehow managed to do 12000+ steps and most of those WERE INSIDE STORES. I don't normally do that much steppin' inside and the only outside walking I really did was to FM and back. Go figure.

Then I collapsed on my patio for awhile.

I'm still debating whether or not to audition for Titanic. Reasons to: (a) Not a whole lot of other shows to be in these days. Nothing I want to be in anyway. (b) I really like DMTC and want to keep being involved here and what the hell else am I going to do all fall? (c) There's one minor female part in it I think might be fun (Alice who's obsessed with the rich and famous), though I rewatched the songs she does just now and I dunno....I don't think I'd cast me in the part? There's better actors around for that one. She has one patter song and one kind of operatic song.

Reasons not to: (a) I didn't love the musical when I saw it online. Didn't love the plot (I used to be a Titanic buff pre-the-movie and I've read better plots going on besides the sinking). Didn't love the music. Everyone over here is swooning over the beautiful music and I literally can't remember the songs (except for "Still," the one with that old couple dying on the boat--the Strausses?). (b) "Six part harmony" is not a selling point for me, it is a confusion point. Like that MIGHT be easier actually working with a musical director IRL from the getgo on this sort of thing, but I really have no idea on the concept overall. (c) Would have to buy a pair of those high heeled old granny shoes that half the cast of Mary Poppins was complaining about (the other half seem fine or got them "stretched"), as "everyone doing a play before the 20's has to wear them," or something like that. (d) Oh yeah, Covid and Delta.

Anyway. Auditions are next weekend, so I have around a week to decide. I decided it might be a little easier if I actually, ah, rehearse a song to do, so I got out my 16 bar audition book and decided that "On My Own" might be the closest to the mood of Titanic to audition with, so I worked on the 16 bars of that and looked up piano versions of it.

Jess and Mike are doing a podcast (note: as far as I can tell this is a Twitch-esque livesstream thing, except not on Twitch) in which some Nosferatu movie is playing on the screen, all three people in the podcast are depicted as aliens on the screen (with trucker caps....?) and talking about weird spooky shit. I rather feel lost at the whole thing because this is somehow all very Gamer Culture (their latest business appears to be gaming) in the chat and whatever, even if the actual conversation isn't a gamer topic?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com