Chaos Attraction

I Got A Callback

2022-09-13, 9:30 p.m.

Welp, THIS is weird: I got a callback, but not until 8:30 p.m. when most people are called back at 7:30. Probably Big Leads doing it, I guess...

People I recognize going at 7:30: Other Steve from B&tB (I'm guessing for Scrooge), Danny, Dannette, Other Jennifer/Maya, Don, Felicia, Sage and sister (I guess her older sister did audition?), Omar, Victor, that other Scott guy from Titanic I don't know well, someone named Irene.

8:30: Noel, Maya's dad, Sage's mom Soji, Virginia, me. I wonder why five of us have to go later...not that I'm complaining, that's great for my karaoke and all that. Possibly that group plays people who are related.

Nineteen people for this...that may just be the entire show, I suspect. I don't see anyone who's considered a "dancer" here that auditioned.

I presume Other Steve and Don for Scrooge/Fezziwig/Marley and possibly the other dudes, not sure there. Danny is clearly Cratchit, so gee, no worries for Scott to be called in for that one :P Omar is clearly Christmas Present. Maya will probably get Tiny Tim (playing a boy again) since I don't see other small children in that. Not sure where they will get other small boys (unclear if Maya's little brother is...I dunno, up to learning lines/songs?) to do all the other small boy roles, maybe she just ends up doing them all. Sage is probably gonna be Martha (was not thrilled with that one) and/or Grace Smythe--one off girl role, if not Maya if it's supposed to be smaller. No clue who they'd get for Christmas Past since I don't see anyone fitting this role who auditioned. Dunno who they will get for "Young Scrooge/Young Marley" unless Danny does 'em all. Fred could be anybody.

Looking at the lady roles: Christmas Future: they want a dancer, NO. Don't even know who they'd get for this since none that "count" as a dancer auditioned. I guess they will have to recruit somebody. Mrs. Fezziwig: probably gonna go to someone older (any of the other women but might lean towards Virginia/Dannette) Mrs. Cratchit: probably gonna go to someone younger (Other Jennifer? Felicia?) if Danny gets it. Otherwise could be anybody. Emily: young hottie, NO. Maybe Felicia since she's the only young hottie auditioning for this that I saw, or Sage's sister (don't know her, teenager). Sally Anderson (nephew's wife, described as "Tired of having Uncle Scrooge over for Christmas dinner every year): this is what I'd cast me as. Mrs. Mops (Scrooge's maid): This is the other thing I would cast me as. Mrs. Scrooge: only billed as "Sings" (um, duh, that's everybody?) so that's a possible third one since it sounds like she's in one scene barely from the placement.

Work day: same old, same old, who cares. Never did hear anything on the mail drama from yesterday.

Therapy: I just rambled on about the latest news, nothing much to say about this, other than "you believe in negative evidence," which...yeah?

After work: went to karaoke with Ashley, sang "If You Could Read My Mind," "I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues," a bit of "American Pie" (Jim had a group sing tonight of that) and "Don't Stop Believing" with Ashley. Got a deli sandwich there tonight and that's probably the best thing there I've tasted short of the now discontinued chicken bacon ranch pizza. Also didn't make me uh...have any issues later, which was GREAT. She wanted to go home circa 7:30, so I ended up going to the callback about 25 minutes early.


Callback: this was confusing to me. I eventually deduced (circa 9 pm. when they finished the singing) that most people had been called back for singing auditions and had to learn a bit on the spot and then do it. The remaining five of us told to come later were... not. I don't know what Felicia/most of the women were doing, but I saw the tail end of Marleys and then the Fezziwigs auditioned as pairs (Danny and Dannette being the most enthusiastic about it), and the various Cratchit kids. There was a third girl, Irene, who I presume is somewhere between Maya and Sage in age.

The singing went on until 9, then she had everyone read parts aloud again. Did the same scene as before with the group as last time, except this time I got assigned to "Old Joe," who I guess is some creepy scavenger, so I did creepy Halloween voice for that--Jan started laughing slightly at that one, Felicia told me she liked it. Most everyone else got assigned to another large group scene and then there were the three remaining stray women only there to read aloud + Other Steve**, so she had us read a scene between Scrooge and his maid, Mrs. Mops. The other two read it pretty straightly, I did it in vaguely Cockney accent and kind of ' tudey.

** Regular Steve played Scrooge last time and is happy they have enough men so that he won't HAVE to do the show and can take one off.

Now, obviously I don't particularly want, nor am I suited for, most of the parts. (I wonder what Morgan's reaction will be to my not getting a singing audition will be....) About the only things I think I'd have a shot at are Sally Anderson ("tired of having Uncle Scrooge over for Christmas dinner each year"), Mrs. Mops...well, I would have said that one, but Jan said that one comes in and out so I presume that's too big of a part for the likes of me. And Mrs. Scrooge's only description is "sings," so not that one, I guess. ...Yeah, I dunno there.

Well, at least I've seen what a "real" call back is like, for once in my life. There's that.

Here's the thing, though; Like, I will think I've done pretty good--tried to read in a lively accent, have personality, have cackle where it seems to be needed (it's Dickens)--and then she will probably cast Noel or Virginia because they read in a normal voice and I will get nothing because I suck...


Casting guesses: I have no clue on the following: Past, Fred, Marley, Fezziwig, Mrs. Cratchit, Emily, Young Marley, Mr. Smythe, Sally Anderson, Scrooge at 12, Old Joe, Jonathan, Mrs. Mops, Mrs. Scrooge. We don't have too many young guys to play Young Anybody other than Danny, no young boys around, Felicia's the only hot young lady unless they cast one of the young teens in that. Maybe they just end up with a lot of doubling. Or Jan has Steve start texting people with invites tomorrow morning.

Present: probably Omar, maybe Don, someone doing "large and in charge" Future: I guess Felicia since that's the only part she "read" aloud, i.e. was told to just...be a ghost, I guess, during "readings." I note that at one point Jan pointed at Felicia and said "Old Hag" and Noel said something along the lines of "yeah, who wants "old hag" being directed at you?" and I agreed. (Note: same character.) Scrooge: didn't see that one, can't guess, but Other Scott (older one) was doing a pretty good job of it. Maybe Don there? Cratchit: obviously gonna be Danny on that one, that's all he ever read. Fred, who knows, Marley, who knows, Fezziwig, who knows. Mrs. Fezziwig: clearly Dannette. Tiny Tim: obviously Maya, the shortest of auditioners. Martha: probably Sage since that's all they got to do. Grace Smythe: probably Irene, the third kid there.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com