Chaos Attraction

I Got A Named Part

2022-09-15, 9:33 p.m.

Had the big big CEO/2IC (second in command) all staff meeting today. Apparently they sent in-person invites, which I never got. This is fine by me since I only had to Zoom in from home and they didn't do anything but mingle for the first half hour and listen to rock n' roll tunes, and once they started playing "Name That Tune" I wandered off to make lunch.

I finally got acknowledged for 20 years, THANK YOU VERY MUCH, woot! Good job, upper management (finally)!

Quotes from the meeting:
"I've never been so excited about wastewater." -CEO
"I have a feeling there are going to be a lot of changed job descriptions after this activity." -whoever was hosting Name That Tune.
The two in charge were asked their favorite colors. CEO said purple (score) and the 2IC said hers were purple, hot pink and turquoise (I love those too), and her kids said, "you're in 60's colors still." Unashamed, thanks.

'Someone did ask if we'd keep the option for remote if/when another pandemic happens, and the 2IC (an epidemiologist) said essentially no, we wanna be in person (sigh), BUT "but there are two more pandemics predicted within the next ten years." Oh good god.

Mom called five minutes before the end of lunch: "are there any tickets left?" I have no idea, Mom, I haven't looked for a week when you ignored me and never got back to me. Why don't you check yourself? Then she proceeded to complain that Roger doesn't do much on trips. She actually had one good thing of sorts to say about my dad, "at least he put up with this," i.e. going around to multiple places on a driving trip. faint thud I later nagged her over email and she said she was considering the very last performance. Mom! There's covid! (I have to tell Jared this later, on opening night we were saying "don't book the last show....")

After work, I went over to Dawn's to give her this mini-care package I found of stuff she'd like at the Dublin Barnes and Noble. A perpetual calendar with old school national park posters on it, "Paper Tantrum" and "Self-Therapy" Knock Knock notepads, and a "Cheaper than Therapy" sticker featuring two chairs looking over the lake. She actually had a present for me too, a rainbow turtle towel that I shall be taking to this weekend's party now :) I brought my cross stitch over and worked on that. She likes to detangle things, so she detangled my cross stitch threads, taught me a new cast on, and we also looked at pattern books and talked to her neighbors and their cute dogs.

After that, I had singing lesson with Morgan--did more of "As Long As He Needs Me," which is hard, 'nuff said. I told her I was taking tap classes and she's also interested for the same reasons as me, i.e. "I never got to that." She may try it in a few weeks.

Oh, and I got the part of Old Joe in the show. So I have ONE named part!...and I'm the only one with one named part. So....that's both depressing AND better than my usual, isn't it.

Otherwise a lot of my predictions were right on the money. The older guy named Scott got Scrooge (has the voice for it), Danny got Cratchit and Young Scrooge, Dannette got Mrs. Cratchit (there's an age difference for ya...), Maya is Tiny Tim and Young Scrooge and Scrooge's little sister, Sage is Martha (I'm sure they're thrilled at that :P). Dannette is Christmas Past, Omar is Present (called it), Felicia got Future and Young Scrooge's fiancee Emily. Don got Mr. Fezziwig, Sage's dad got Marley, her mom got the maid, Sage and dad are also Gracie and Mr. Smythe and Sage is also Jonathon the street urchin and a slightly older Scrooge. (I guess the other kid auditioning didn't get in or had to bail on late rehearsals or something--sounds like her dad might have had issues with that. I think she's the only one not listed here.)

So, there you go, rehearsal starts Monday.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com