Chaos Attraction

Lincoln Highway, Part Two

2012-09-16, 10:19 a.m.

I didn't want to leave Marianne's-she's fun to hang out with. We didn't leave until noon-ish. We didn't try to go the Triptik route back--went on the Lincoln Highway again because we wanted to go back and see stuff on it. We went to Gettysburg. I had wanted to try seeing the cute downtown, but Mom, alas, wanted to see the national park. Turns out that seeing the fields, or video, or museum, all take about 3 hours apiece, which we couldn't do. So we poked around the building and hit the gift shop. It was well stocked with both scholarly reading and well, tacky souvenirs that I love so very much. I bought some postcards and a keychain with the Emancipation Proclamation on one side and a compass/temperature gauge on the other-figure I could use that for geocaching or something.

(Pictures from Mr. Ed's start here.)

After that, we went to Mister Ed's Elephant Museum and Candy Emporium (mistereds.com). This is quite a sight, let me tell you. I love stuff like this. He has a few general outside. Inside is elephant merchandise, shirts, jewelry, toys, candy (got a lot of that), a mosaic, and the museum display stuff. Fun place to go!

Alas, by the time we finished all of that, it was around 4 p.m. and uh...time to get going, 'cause I think the relatives were annoyed it was taking us this long. We only got a little lost, so good for us.

Aunt Babs, under the circumstances (3 weeks ago she fell and broke her nose and was totally devastated), looks pretty good. I was expecting her to look like all the girls who got plastic surgery in Clueless, but by now it's fine. She does look very frail and tiny, but the oddest thing is seeing her wearing pants-she was always dressed up when she visited CA when I was a kid. It's nice to see a relative of mine still has her faculties and no dementia, though. (That's a damn miracle in the gene pool.) But of course she can't hear well and between what my voice sounds like and that I'm a fast talker, she can't hear me. Mom pretty much has to translate.

I don't think we'll be doing much of anything for a week-now that she fell, Aunt Babs plans on being a hermit from now on and we won't leave the house except for food. Can't say I blame her under the circumstances (it makes me nervous to see her use steps), but I guess all we'll do is watch Mom go through photo albums for a solid week.

Oh well, at least I can sleep in since we won't be going anywhere.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com