Chaos Attraction

Vacation Recap: Santa Cruz

2018-09-16, 8:52 p.m.

So I have been on vacation for the last two weeks. I normally don’t go on vacation for two weeks in a row except during Christmas season (i.e. the one time it’s not busy in my line of work). I think I last went on a 2 week vacation in...I dunno, early 2010’s or something and the few times I’ve done it outside of holidays I’ve always come back and been like, this is too long to go away, I’m too out of touch and I spend a month catching up on the news.

YEAH, IMAGINE HOW THE NEWS IS GOING NOW. Okay, so I tried to read the news while I was gone, at the very least late at night or in the morning.

I will be paying for it and suffering when I go back to work though (writing this on my last day). I will wish I hadn’t done it and by 8:30-9 a.m. I will be wishing I was dead and be constantly catching up because nobody else will be doing my job and I will be making everyone mad because nothing was done for two weeks. Huzzah!


I went to Meg’s for a week. We didn’t do anything super super exciting but it was nice. We were going to mosaic her new outdoor furniture that she got wooden boards cut for, and then discovered they were slightly too big, sigh. We worked on how to do the crochet coral reef I want to do in my show a fair amount. I’ve decided that since I didn’t get as much done for it as I intended to--mostly because I’ve been redoing the backdrop for it again and again--I am going to add to it during the month of the show. I thought, hey, what if I just use T-pins and poke the pieces onto some foam or something? So Meg found me some free pieces of foam at Habitat Restore (recycled) to glue/harpoon together into a sort of wall, and I redid my backdrop once again to stretch over it. I also got two boogie boards at Goodwill (seriously, you can do that there) to pin coral pieces to as well. So I look forward to doing that.

We played the Transformation Game, but the last few times I’ve done it I haven’t really come out with satisfying events. I keep asking stuff like “what’s going to get me to DO something” (or whatever along those lines) or how to find another line of work, blah de blah and I don’t finish the game with results. I am probably asking the wrong questions. What I did come out with is that my intuition is on the fritz (probably because I’m so fucked up these days), and logic and reason have NOT been helping me to find a way out, I can’t find any jobs I qualify for. So what else is there?

Meanwhile Meg played the game trying to resolve how she feels about her neighbors.
I should clarify here that she has longtime neighbors who have a back house that they rent out (this seems common in SC), and the new renters, well, one of them in particular has been harassing the shit out of Meg about her aviary and the singing canaries. They have all been pretty mean to her about it. Meg is putting a sheet over the aviary at night, which you’d think would resolve it all, right? However, she decided to leave it up to God to take care of and no joke, the next day the neighbors decided to put their house up for sale and move to Palm Springs. But she has still not been wanting to talk to the meanest one of the pack. Well, we played the TG and at some point I said something about how I don’t sleep well when I know I have to get up early and that made her think, maybe the neighbor is just freaking out about having to get up early. By the end of the game, she had resolved things for herself and she went out and had a bonfire even though the neighbors were having a party at the same time. So good for her there.

As for me, at this point I’m just praying for the universe to find me a reasonable, practical, not “you get fired and homeless” way out of here. I don’t know what else to do to get this working.

We went to the wharf, we went to the beach, we went to the Greek festival and to the First Friday, where I finally got to tour the MAH art museum. That was fun, it’s pretty crazy. They had a gallery of portraits of locals that was awesome, and a steampunk room on one floor. Very cool.

I bought several books, surfboards, a few clothes and a bunch of yarn.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com