Chaos Attraction

The Perils of Being A Star

2022-09-16, 9:40 p.m.

This morning: got my flu and birth control shots. I feel like a puppy that got all its shots :P Otherwise, same old shit at work, sick of it and cranky. I also bought a dress online and got it today: not only is it not quite the color I expected, it doesn't fit the boobs (of course not). Going to have to return it off Amazon on Monday at the return center.
Show tonight: the usual "oh, we haven't been here for four days, life is so strange, do we remember this? yes, we do" experience. I took a covid test and texted it to Steve, asking if we were changing the testing schedule. Him (literally) "why" Me: "um, we haven't been here on Monday and Thursday this week?" He didn't care. Me: grrrr.

Me also grrr: the shirts came in, I gave my shirt order EARLY, they lost it and I didn't get a shirt :( I am upset but it seems too late to be able to do anything about it. Might have happened to Rachele too? Jan said Steve would look into it.

I note Steve wasn't there because he...sleep sprained his ankle. SLEEP SPRAINED HIS ANKLE. Dude needs to live in bubble wrap. Kimmie's theory is that Jan kicked him in the middle of the night.

Christmas Carol news from Jan:

(a) The lady cast as Mrs. Fezziwig has ALREADY dropped out. They were not super thrilled as to how she did it. Apparently she called in a panic, then announced that she's a wife and mother and teacher (or whatever her job was, I forge), and then Steve was all "You didn't know you were a wife and mother before this?" (Legit.) This was eventually followed up with something along the lines of mental health can't handle nightly rehearsals. Jan is calling around to find a replacement.

(b) Jan was complaining about not having enough women now. I was all "WELL THAT'S A SWITCH NOW, ISN'T IT" and it's because she wants an even number of women and men for the Fezziwig dance number. This is because...DUM DUM DUM....all the woman are going to have to SIT ON THE MEN'S ARMS AND BE LIFTED UP IN A CIRCLE. I am deeply unthrilled at the potential safety issues of this particular move. I was all, "I don't remember seeing THAT at Dickens Fair."

(c) Felicia, presumably for the heck of it (I note I told her Morgan was interested in tapping, she seemed pleased, we talked a bit about how the class went), asked if there was going to be tapping in this. I guess that's in "Abundance and Charity." And um...apparently THAT IS THE SKIMPY SANTA DRESS NUMBER. I note that I have been trying to figure out on my own if this is actually a thing that happens in the show--not in the online video, is this just something she made up?--and she said she does things differently. I presume Felicia and other ladies will be in that bit, I would reasonably assume not me unless they are bloody desperate because nobody wants to see me in sexy Santa short pants, including me. That said, the other ladies in this besides Felicia (and I) are...y'know, reasonably sized women who do not come off as people who would be into skimpy dancing, sooooooooooo..... I really don't know about this idea.

I told Jan I don't really plan on doing any shows after Christmas Carol but if she needs a warm body to fill in, I will, saying I don't really fit the ages/characters in them. She said Pirates and Sweeney Todd--she doesn't do "only young ladies" for the general's wards.

Other shenanigans: Jean (actress) was making jokes about the bread looking like a penis. Later she did silly dancing before the tavern screen and stuffed her shirt with mugs. "We have no men around, we have to entertain ourselves."

Quotes:
Jean (actress) has her petticoat sticking out of the zipper. "I thought I would do a tail, 'she said as I attempted to fix it.
"It may be the 1700's, but a girl's gotta have a phone." -Sarah
Rachele and Alisa discussed if they practiced. "Hell no!" "In my brain, I did."
Alisa feels like she looks like an old maid in the hat. Agreed.
Sarah (no clue on context): "Such a small enough butt, what I was looking for."
Jean (costumes) to Omar: "I don't know if you've noticed, but you're tall."
Kat to someone: "Can I borrow your tall?" Someone handing her her wig: "Here's your Marge Simpson."
Rachele: "I said shit in front of Maya and she said "you're really starting to get on my nerves." Also, I'll leave this anonymous, but "she said fuck in front of her father."

Felicia has been having deep thoughts about playing a wine bottle, which I deeply loved. What pours out of her? Is it her blood? Her soul? "Someone call OSHA." She also said the top of the bottle gives her a bit of vertigo. "The perils of being a star." Adorable.

Anyway, successful show tonight. Saw some Music Man people I don't know after it. Arthur is playing The Doctor (as in Who) online in a radio show and said "who would have thought a guy from California would get to do that?" Saw Isaiah and he said something good about "my facials." Hee.

Nobody seemed to know where to go afterwards for dinner or not, nor did they agree on anything, or anything....so I went home and ate ice cream.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com