Chaos Attraction

Water Issues

2022-09-18, 9:44 p.m.

I didn't sleep except for 3 hours last night. Body still tired but WILL NOT LOSE CONSCIOUSNESS.... again. Around 10 a.m. it occurred to me "oh, fuck, it's going to rain" (of course, on the day of a pool party it'll rain buckets for the first time in months, I HATE YOU UNIVERSE), so I had to get up and spend $50 to get the windshield wipers replaced to live in a place where it will probably rain three times all year, per the very nice fellow who replaced them for me. It started raining the second I turned on the car again...second year in a row that's happened.

Show: went well again, thank goodness. People seemed a wee bit loopy, mostly because it was a "community day" in Pokemon from 2-5 p.m., i.e. during the run of the show, so half the group was on their phones looking for shinies and balls and the other half was all "I have no idea what's going on with this." Alisa: "It's going to be a great show, everybody!"


Quotes from the dressing room:

"I need some quiet alone time with my soup." -Felicia

Annie wishes she could play Jean-Claude in the show. I note that there's a section in which Lumiere and Cogsworth discuss their less intelligent coworker Jean-Claude, who was always as dumb as a brick and now has become a brick wall.... I was all, "I thought you wanted to become the library!"

Jillian couldn't find her flatter shoes for a few minutes and said, "I'm gonna have to do cartwheels in heels."

Jean (costumes): "If it works for everyone but her, it's her. I blame everyone else but me."

Annie on why she refuses to wear a microphone: "If I screw up a dance step, I say shit or fuck onstage."
Annie on quoting a kid (her nephew?) on swear words: "Is it a bad word like God fucking damn?"
Annie to Jan: "Got all your costumes? Anything I need to hunt for?"
Annie: "Basically I just sing whatever comes out of my mouth."

Andee: "Warning: I have had caffeine."

Steve on the newspaper review: "I am very very upset that the review said she loved the new start time."
Steve on the audience: "A lot of these people babysat Gaston."

Rachele has only seen the first Star Wars movie. Sarah: "You're wrong, but I respect that. Everyone's entitled to their wrong opinion." Also, same parties: "I love boba. Now can we be friends now?" "Boba tea or Boba Fett?"

Maya to Rachele, not in costume: "Aren't you a little underdressed?"

Sarah: "I eat pretty healthy, but I always have an emergency candy bar in my purse."

Sarah to Rachele on only having seen the first Star Wars movie: "You're wrong, but I respect that. Everyone's entitled to their wrong opinion." On a related note (I didn't write down who said what but can guess): "I love boba." "Now we can be friends now." "Boba tea or Boba Fett?"

Alisa: "Will you toss me my (gargoyle) head?" Sarah: "You're not supposed to lose your head."

Me: "I've always wanted more than this provincial life." Rachele: "Don't we all." Me: "And I never get it." Rachele: "Who does?"

We had a bit of a water saga backstage, as Jan was having some kind of throat burning going on and wanted COLD water. I went to Kimmie to ask if some could be procured from the lobby and she was all "get some out of the fridge in the costume office," and when I went in there for that, Jean was all "Jan says that burns her esophagus." I did not know of what to say or make of that, but Jan complained that the water in that fridge is TOO COLD and I had to go send Stacy out to the lobby for the right amount of cold water. (Her expression on her face upon hearing this story was exactly what you'd expect.) It felt very Baby Bear, somehow.

Pokemon conversation: "Everything always has the potential to be shiny, guys." -Anne "I only have enough space for another 40 Pokemon." -Sierra "All of this sounds dirty." -Annie "Oh, I think a boyfriend sent a picture of his shiny." (????) "All of this can be taken very badly. I'm going to run out of balls soon." -Sierra "I want to know where I can get unlimited candy and balls." -Jean

Jan dropped a mug in the bar scene, Alisa broke one! Jean stuffed her top with mugs before the scene started, and got on Felicia a bit for yawning.

Instead of calling "ten minutes," Kimmie was calling a "SUNDAY 10," which means "it takes longer when there's more old people in the audience."

When Julia was late to get onstage while getting a bow fixed, I'm told Scott improvised by lecturing the Beast on how he needs to be a lot nicer about pushing her chair in.

Jan: "I don't have to do the wolf again for another week. I hate the wolf." Apparently she didn't "get" that that involved pain in the ass masks? Post-wolf scene: "I don't think we got each other this time, which is good, right?" -Sarah "We got Jan." -Annie.

On the mob caps: Felicia: "Rocking it 1700's style." Alisa: "I used to hate this thing, now I kinda like it."

Backstage, Kimmie pulled out the Wardrobe's sword Arthurian-style and said, "Fire me, Jan, I touched a prop." Jan: "You're the last one to get fired. If you do something wrong, you have to work here forever." Annie: "Give me the headset, I'm taking over."

Annie, who continues to get/be injured randomly and kind of a lot, flipped us all off and said that's the finger that hurts the most. Rachele: "It's the one you use the most." Annie: "It's the one I broke."

On showering before the party (or not): Alisa: "If I have to smell, you have to smell." Me: "If the beast has to smell, we all have to smell."


Tonight was PARTY AT THE BIG FANCY HOUSE AGAIN, huzzah! Sadly, there was no pool party aspect of it this time since the weather sucked. It actually didn't rain too badly on the way over there or on the way home (thank gawd), nor was I there extremely late this time since things wound down right before ten. But it did look nasty outside during the party. Another tour of the geek basement was given and enjoyed by all. Mostly this party had more karaoke than before, for obvious reasons. I did some Avenue Q and "Little Girls" from Annie, some folks did more Hamilton (Scott and Omar), other people did musicals I hadn't necessarily heard of before.

Weird moment: I got told by Alisa and Rachele that I'd make a good Mrs. Lovett. Um....I do not know what to make of this whatsoever, other than to say I doubt I'd be cast as that?

Jillian was given flowers while at the show tonight. Later on, whoever gave them to her texted to ask if she'd seen the message written on them? Erm...nope, Alisa put them in water and threw it away, so the ribbon was fished out and it had a homecoming invite on it. Lots of squeeing and excitement occurred.

I was around Scott more during this one since well, it was a party and he was around the kitchen area. Had some slight conversation. So far I've just talked to him at social events and that's all these days. I doubt he notices anything's wrong there.

On the one hand, the drive home was almost entirely dry, THANK GOODNESS, because it was pouring and nasty through the party as far as I could see outside. So I was relieved. But I was unpleasantly surprised when I took my usual route home--the lazy quick way involves briefly driving through a tunnel--and as I started down the passage THERE WAS A GIANT FLOOD OF WATER IN THE TUNNEL that people were just driving on through! Now I've had two apartment floods and a car flood and there was NO WAY IN HELL I WAS DRIVING THROUGH THAT (nobody should!), so I straight up stopped in the lane and waited for all the dumb cars to drive through the flood before I very carefully U-turned around, honking behind me be damned. I hope they figured out it was a bad idea to drive through that...it took me awhile to figure out a looparound to go OVER rather than UNDER, but I did it. Whew. I was so tired after all of that, I actually managed to sleep over 7 hours that night.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com