Chaos Attraction

The Crooked Mirror

2021-09-19, 11:44 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
WHAT HAPPENED?!?! - 2021-09-24
Song List - 2021-09-23
Audition Prep - 2021-09-22
Sick Day - 2021-09-21
Hell Day - 2021-09-20

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Late last night Robert texted people asking if anyone wanted to go see Singin' In the Rain (note: going on at another theater, on exact same dates/times as Mary Poppins) next weekend. Scott does! It hurt to see this. It hurt a lot. I didn't respond. I'm really hurting.

(From the book I just read: "It wasn't just the agony of wanting someone I couldn't have. It was like the guy I'd loved so much for so long no longer existed--even though he was standing next to me.")

Collage club: I ended up not saying much at all, mostly because I didn't keep track of time and then was all "um, I gotta leave at 12:45." Everyone but me sang the joys of being assigned to write gratitude lists and I wanted to vomit. Val was all "I forgot the last few days" and I was thinking "good," but sadly she still wants to do it.

Jade let me not do the meditation in which people once again talked to someone they wanted to talk to (I can't....sigh), so during this I started reading my emails, which I have pretty much not read all week. AND THEN I FOUND ANOTHER SHOW TO AUDITION FOR! Woodland Opera House is having a Broadway concert in mid-November. Just sing songs! No rehearsals on Mondays/karaoke night! Don't have to rehearse every night anyway! Literally that sounds perfect, I was even hoping for a show where I didn't have to rehearse on karaoke night! So I signed up, downloaded two 32-bar music sheets online (it's next Tuesday) and I feel a lot better about not auditioning for Titanic tonight. Heck, I saw several people in Camelot/Mary Poppins (Joe, Jori, Amy) auditioning for this, along with my coworker Erik. So, woot! I wanted to brag about manifesting THAT in the meeting, but...ran out of time.


Mary Poppins, Day Three: more people in the audience today. One guy came up to us afterwards to say he's been a techie too and it's stressful but addictive. Interesting...that's what I'd say of acting, hahahah.

I had a few more flubups today, but nothing super major, at least, sigh. Mostly Kimmie saying "lights" and I hit the button by reflex and then uh...she jumped the gun a little there, sigh. Steve is still avoiding everyone except when he absolutely has to come up here, which is fine. Kimmie had a lot more issues--curtain-y stuff being opened or not, but nothing that bad, per se.

At one point Mary Poppins hangs up a mirror from her bag. * Night One: it's a round mirror that's had the mirror finally put into it and it looked...weird and terrible and bulgy, even from the back with my glasses off? * Night Two: she pulls out a nice square mirror and I'm all, "Nice new mirror!" on the comm. Kimmie is all "the first one broke." And for some reason, while the new one looks a lot better, it hangs up...crooked and has to get straightened out on the next scene * Night Three: the mirror still hangs up crooked, Jori finally just adjusted herself to be crooked in the mirror instead and cracked the audience up. Good move, "practically perfect!"

Probably the biggest thing was that Mary Poppins flies out of the end of act 1, and somehow that...never happened. I don't know what happened because Kimmie didn't talk about it on comms, but Judah was just waiting and waiting and waiting and finally just gave up and walked off. What else can you do?

I'm also wondering why Jan is in her Miss Lark costume a lot more during the banking scenes? Like...all of them? Whatever, I guess, but it stands out when everyone else is in boring white and black. I tried asking Don if he knew anything about it (didn't get up the nerve to ask Kimmie) and he was basically all, whatever. Who knows.

Anyway, I'm grateful as all heck to get four days off from MP! Time to go back to watching Lucifer!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com