Chaos Attraction

Hell Day

2021-09-20, 11:45 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Renaissance Faire Is Back - 2021-09-25
WHAT HAPPENED?!?! - 2021-09-24
Song List - 2021-09-23
Audition Prep - 2021-09-22
Sick Day - 2021-09-21

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I knew this week was going to be hell week. I knew Monday would be bad. I JUST DIDN'T KNOW HOW BAD. Because no matter how bad you know it's going to be, IT'S ALWAYS WORSE HERE.

(a) One of the managers called in sick. The other two were quite swamped today answering phones and front counter with the rest of us. I'm seriously wondering if the managers are ever going to be able to work from home again. I suspect not. (The way this day has gone, I wonder how soon they will cancel "hybrid" altogether.)

(b) The printers were supposedly fixed at the end of Friday. Guess what, they weren't. Only one person, Grandboss, could get any of them to work. So I had to have her print out 2/3 of the stuff I needed to have printed out. Which is better than nothing, mind you.

(c) I was promised to get a spare employee to work on mailing. That literally didn't happen. Lioness was all "yeah, right" to this and sure 'nuff.

(d) Lioness was hauled away on a gurney by EMT's to the hospital with chest pains after lunch. I'm presuming she survived but isn't going to be back for at long time now :(

(e) I probably spent at least 3 hours answering the phones because as usual, we somehow either have nobody to answer the phones or too many calls even if we do have people.

(f) The first call of the day was someone who didn't pay up in time and now is in dire situations, i.e. "I'm from another state and having anxiety and crying." Because of course they are. Grandboss, you deal with it.

(g) My last call of the day was a polite enough kid wanting to know why his religious exemption for vaccination hadn't gone through yet (heck if I know, can't find anything on my end and we're not actually handling such, but they were supposed to be done Friday...and all we have is an email for that, no human phone number).

AD THEN HIS MOTHER WANTED TO TALK, by which I mean "yell at someone in power about how GiantIOrg is supposed to be "welcoming" and instead she thinks they are discriminatory. And we have poor service because our phone lines suck (I note that the phone lines supposedly hung up on her twice even BEFORE I lost her calls twice) and she kept demanding to talk to a manager RIGHT NOW and I could not get one RIGHT NOW.

I tried Grandboss (who LIKES this sort of thing--?!?!) and she was all "I'm waiting for another angry parent to call me back," and this one kept at it with me--and even called back after the phone lines closed--and then the phones hung up on her twice. At one point I was going to have my boss take the brunt of it, but then the phone hung up. I spent the rest of the work day dreading her call and trying not to cry and snot all over my mask. Also, why isn't she calling the CEO of the giant org (she brought it up) if she's so mad? Hell, if you want to vent at someone, might as well.

(I really wanted to say "Your kid sounds nice, it'd be a shame if he got Covid." I don't mean that in some kind of gangster way. As for "discrimination," as far as I know everyone's required to wear masks everywhere regardless of status, the one major difference is that the anti-vaxxers have to be tested every few days. Which sounds like a "for your own safety" issue more than anything to me. I concur that the kid should have been notified by now and hell if I know why that didn't happen--Grandboss was all "they probably haven't made a decision yet." But this lady was insisting he come back in person and um....eeeeek.)

I will note that my boss was all "I'm just going to tell her she has to wait for the email. I'm not taking the blame for GiantOrg and you shouldn't either." I can't even imagine having that level of self...anything. You know what? I wasn't born a doormat. It's not a reflex to just lie down and die when someone screams at you. I used to yell back and scream and defend myself. It just never did me any good and made everything worse.

About the only not horrible thing about the day was that I did manage to get a lot of Important Documents ordered and a fair chunk of International Important Documents put into the mail. Not nearly enough, mind you--there's circa 300 to do and I probably got....I dunno, 40ish, I'll have to count tomorrow...all repackaged and put out for mail pickup. But that's something. Lord knows nobody else is going to do them the rest of the week.

Anyway, I want to fucking die to get out of this. AND IT'S ONLY MONDAY. The whole WEEK is gonna be like this. Or worse.

Sometimes I wonder what will happen if I just start screaming and screaming and never stopping.

After work, I went to the bar and found out that the bar had BEEN HIT BY SOMEBODY'S CAR on Saturday. (Not while I was there, apparently.) Now, I came in on the side that wasn't hit and I didn't actually go walk outside to see the damage ,but the door had a "limited menu" printed on the door and when I walked in, the beer wall had been totally busted up. I was all "damn, and the bar hit it too!?!"

Not a lot of people were there tonight and it got colder--around 70 according to my car on the way home. I hung out with Ashley and Rae (I gave the latter a ride back to town since her mom was unable to stay tonight) and god knows I needed some hugging and dancing there. I lost track of all the songs I did. There was one Incident in which Stephanie asked if we could tone down the talking because she couldn't hear while singing and then Rae got very upset about it and wanted to talk to Stephanie about it. Stephanie was incredibly sweet about it and said with the new speaker set up, she was having a hard time hearing anyway. Hopefully everyone's made up, fingers crossed, and Rae got out of her mood about things, yay.

Heck, Rae and company helped me to feel better about my shithole day. Hugs help.

I am going to try to get together with Ashley on Wednesday--I sent her the audition info for the Woodland show and she said she could teach me music stuff I do not know. Huzzah.

One hell day down. Four more nightmare days of phones and yelling and no staff to go. I wish for death every day.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com