Chaos Attraction

Audition Prep

2021-09-22, 11:46 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Working On Staffing - 2021-09-27
Anyone With A Penis Gets In - 2021-09-26
Renaissance Faire Is Back - 2021-09-25
WHAT HAPPENED?!?! - 2021-09-24
Song List - 2021-09-23

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

It was actually a good day today!

I'll put it this way: today is THROWN TO THE WOLVES DAY usually at my job. Like Monday, but even worse. However:

(a) not working in the office today, (b) they did not make us answer the phones all day or be on the lines "just in case" all day. (c) they appointed us an hour apiece. Hope and Dianna were not enjoying their hours in the morning. (d) However, I was assigned in the afternoon, which got less calls, which was a good thing because.... (e) HAHAHAHA MY PHONE STOPPED WORKING AND REFUSED TO TAKE CALLS AT ALL AND NEITHER MY BOSS NOR GRANDBOSS COULD FIX IT AFTER AN HOUR OF WORK. Grandboss eventually just chalked it up to Mercury retrograde (again).

THANK GAWD. So I was happily un-fried today!

I will note that of Penguin Girl's entire team, well, it was Adventure Girl and Lioness and all of them were gone (Lioness is still obviously out) and Penguin Girl was also sick Monday and Tuesday...so not fun there Tuesday.

Though on the good news side, they got permission to temporarily hire Luis back! Luis was great! I guess he is "transitioning between careers" or something, but hey, we get him back! He's lovely and actually knows stuff around here without having to train him from scratch. Huzzah! I was just thinking the other day that I missed him.

I did ask if Grandboss talked to the anti-vax lady. She did. Anti-vax lady was pissed off that her kid has to be tested every 4 days when the vaccinated do not. Not our decision there, I think.

After work I went over to Ashley's, got her to sign up for the audition slot right after mine, and then we looked around for alto songs to sing. She's wanting to do "She Used To Be Mine" and "Think of Me," though "I Just Might" from 9 to 5 was also in consideration. We also tried out singing "Helpless" and "Satisfied," I was surprised that I did keep up with the speed of that one pretty well.

Then I went home and looked for more music...and ended up downloading "Hard Candy Christmas," "What Did I Ever See In Him?" "I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outta My Hair," "There Are Worse Things I Could Do" and "There's A Fine, Fine Line." Gives me options for the future there.

They said to prepare two songs, and I think I'm going to game my songs to the kind(s) of song(s) I'd like to be assigned in the show. Which is to say, the fun bouncy group numbers. So What Did I Ever See In Him? I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outta My Hair, and Poor Unfortunate Souls are the more fun ones.

On My Own, Hard Candy Christmas, There Are Worse Things I Could Do, and There's A Fine, Fine Line would be in the more.. emo category, so that'd be song #2.

Looking at the potential song lists for this show, I would want to be in the following: "You Could Drive A Person Crazy." Yup, this is up my alley, even if I'm probably not soprano enough. "Writing Down The Story Of My Life." This appears to be A Kid Song (mostly solo-y), but also a nerdy kid song. So, maybe? "We're All In This Together." Never saw High School Musical (no explanation for that), but that's bouncy group number territory. Ashley perked up at it. "Take A Chance On Me,' self-explanatory on group bouncy * "You Can't Stop The Beat," ditto, this would be my number one choice.

There's no way in heck I'd be getting a solo, nor should I, so let's hope for something where I can blend! In a large group!

I note that some of the songs Ashley considered or is doing are in the show--namely "She Used To Be Mine," and she was considering "Pure Imagination" except the YouTubes of it are frankly strange.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com