Chaos Attraction

Song List

2021-09-23, 11:47 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
My First Singing Audition - 2021-09-28
Working On Staffing - 2021-09-27
Anyone With A Penis Gets In - 2021-09-26
Renaissance Faire Is Back - 2021-09-25
WHAT HAPPENED?!?! - 2021-09-24

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I got forced to answer the phones again today at10 a.m. However, my phone broke IN THE EXACT OPPOSITE DIRECTION from yesterday! Now I hear them but they don't hear me. So I got forced to report it to tech support, who said he'd "escalate it" (take your time, sir) and that was the end of that shit for the day. So my coworkers were stressed out, but I had a pleasant day getting shit done, thanks.

Tomorrow, who knows since I'm forced to go into the office and use the landline (which Grandboss reported wasn't working either). Let's hope it doesn't!

After work I went over to Ashley's again to work on the audition. Another problem got thrown in around noon when I checked my email: instead of "do a minute of 1-2 songs apiece," it's now "do one song, which we may cut you off during, and if we like you well enough we want you to sing about 8 lines from one of these 8 songs. AND I PRETTY MUCH HATE ALL OF THEM.

"Pure Imagination" from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: literally, how does one sing to this? It's a slow funeral dirge song and no fun at all! Even Ashley can't do it.
"Back to Before" from Ragtime: boring, and a belter song for the part they want you to do. Can't do it.
"Gimme Gimme" from Thoroughly Modern Millie: the only song on the list I actually like, but it's a belter song, probably can't do it really.
"Tomorrow" from Annie. I'm not a perky 9-year-old. Ashley was all "is this if kids audition?"
"The Human Heart" from Once On This Island: I may have to do this one, though um....I'm white and probably shouldn't. It's probably the only one not utterly out of range though.
"Somewhere That's Green" from Little Shop. This song makes me want to vomit and I hate it a lot. It's both about being abused, and being a 1950's housewife, and it's high pitched and I HATE IT.
"Wouldn't It Be Loverly?" from My Fair Lady. Ain't no way I can pull that off. Also not so much a song I am into. Also just don't wanna sing in a Cockney accent so much. Let Jori/Mary Poppins do that one (I would bet money she's been in My Fair Lady already, I know she's got a "Wouldn't It Be Loverly" shirt.).
"Beautiful City" from Godspell. Ashley's going to do that one, though it is a dude song, as she said that's as close as she can get.
Seriously, this list hurts. THESE are what they wanted to do?! (A good chunk of these aren't even on the original song consideration list.) Not too many people can do certain of these songs. And much as I'd sell my soul to the devil to be a belter, I don't have it. This is mostly a list of high pitched belter stuff. Fucking sopranos.

Ughhhhh! I don't know what to do and lord knows my heart isn't into any of them. I put down on the form that I'm only going for ensemble/backup (should be obvious from my voice as is). I guess I'll do "The Human Heart," but even the first 8 lines of it are slow and make me zone out in boredom. Though really, I doubt I'd make it far enough into the audition to be asked to do one. I bet they're done with me halfway through my number :P

I'm so mad that my soul really wants to be a Katy Perry/Lady Gaga/Madonna type, but the shell and body and voice I got born into just don't allow that AT ALL.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com