Chaos Attraction

Renaissance Faire Is Back

2021-09-25, 11:50 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Didn't Make It In - 2021-09-30
Drunk On My Patio - 2021-09-29
My First Singing Audition - 2021-09-28
Working On Staffing - 2021-09-27
Anyone With A Penis Gets In - 2021-09-26

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I have booked my Covid booster shot at Walgreens on my next day off, October 5. (Said to throw in the flu shot too.) HUZZAH. What a relief this is. Thank god Rochelle Walensky put in "if your job puts you at risk." God bless that woman for that. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

I went to the Folsom Renfaire alone (again, naturally) but it was great. It felt just like old times except for around half the crowd (including myself) wearing a mask. I am happy to note that I had a mask that matched one of my headpieces, so huzzah there.

I spent the first hour shopping, which was a solid choice. I got a lot of stuff: * a book from the library sale * a cauldron! Mine was stolen years ago and I have not been able to find another one since for years! They had one like my old one too! Now I can go back to setting things on fire! * rainbow metal feather earrings * rainbow metal rose "pearl holder" necklace with teal pearl in it! I got a teal one in the "draw a pearl" thing! * a cheaper Renfaire-style dress to wear on regular days * three decks of tarot cards for $25! I suspect they are knockoffs (they seem smaller than the decks in stores?), but don't really care because CHEAP. * And finally I ordered a custom purple velvet holster vest from the same chick I get a lot of my pocket belts from. I saw one I LOVED the color of (most of the ones she sells are in pretty dull neutrals) but it was kind of big, and she said, "I have tons of that fabric, want a custom one?" and I said yes. That was a huge splurge and I won't get it until late winter, but what the heck. (After that I quit the shopping.)

I didn't eat much there because the food lines for actual food for lunch were soooooooooo long until like 3:40 that day, at which point I was all "not much point in eating late lunch and then not being hungry for dinner and having to work all night." So I ended up having kettle corn and a huckleberry lemonade for lunch and then later spent a long half hour wait getting ice cream and soda and water because I was so thirsty. The ice cream--rainbow sherbet--helped to perk me up, though. When I got back to my car it said the temperature was 106 and then I was all "ohhhhhhhhhh, THAT's why." Then I was glad I hadn't brought anyone else because I felt like a giant sweatball and I ended up leaving a few hours early to go shower before tonight.

As for the shows I watched: * Merrie Pranksters: as snarky in between dances as ever, awesome. I note that the guy from my work building wasn't there this year? Bummer. Wonder what happened to him. * Duelling Dames: a new one, I thought it was going to be ladies showing off how to sword fight, but it was really more silly comedy for kids and I got bored and walked off, even though they were certainly putting their all into it and I felt a little bad there. * Knights of Mayhem: jousting. Once they get to the actual joust, it's fairly entertaining and god knows the announcer guy loves his snark. I actually watched it twice and got into the line for ice cream circa 3 and was still in it circa 3:30 and some people were all worried about getting there in time for the joust and I was all "don't worry about it, they're not even going to start that stuff for like another 15 minutes." Indeed, I did arrive in time for that. I did also think of the joust song from Camelot during it, hah. * Daring Daniel: the juggling act I remember in which he's balancing on a board on a tube on a table while juggling knives. * Dotter's Knot: didn't know what that was, it was ladies singing traditional folk songs and um....that kind of thing bores me/isn't terribly funny and I walked out.

I skipped "Captain Jack Spareribs" (though I was amused at his car in the parking lot), I was in the line for ice cream during that show, and I skipped the Bard guy again since he just tells the same one story every bloody time. No falcons this year, wah!

Other fun moments: * seeing two guys wearing "I Am A Thor Variant" and "I Am A Loki Variant" shirts. * This one lady brought her two bunnies, IN A LITTLE CAR, with a blankie and treats, and they are bothe wearing little pairs of glasses... and they were kissing each other...SO CUTE!!!! I note that their names were Hudson Hawk and Nugget Nation.

Mary Poppins, Night 5: * I didn't make too many bloopers and the ones I did were pretty easy to overlook. Steve made darn sure to be there for the entire first scene instead of running up at the last minute or missing the light cue entirely. * The mirror Mary Poppins hangs up went crooked AGAIN...sigh. * At one point I heard Kimmie saying over the comm, "Very sexy, both of you." I seriously wonder what that was about! * At one point the smoke machine went off when it wasn't supposed to--something bumped it, I guess--an I was all "There's smoke on the stage right now...." No, not a fire, just the smoke machine.... Kimmie made a crack about how the house is close to chimney sweeps. * I saw Becky in the audience and waved to her when she spotted me. She waved back. * Kimmie was all, "I'm glad to not be stage managing on Titanic," she'll do sound, Kyle the director of Mary Poppins wants to do lights, and James's kid Sam wants to stage manage. (GOOD LUCK, I say, King George style.) So I don't have to get involved with Titanic and I don't feel bad about not doing it. * I looked at the cast list tonight after seeing Andy (ushering, said he got to be the ...telegraph operator, I think?), and Steve saying "we need a few good men" for the cast. Seriously, hardly any female roles, tons of male roles, and "TBA" for like....MOST OF THE DUDE ROLES. SEVENTEEN GUY ROLES. Eeeeek! Good luck with that! One main role and a bunch of...I dunno, random dudes on the ship? * I continue to be kind of stumped as to why so many people are so into that show, other than "the music!"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com