Chaos Attraction

Over 500 Measures Long

2022-09-26, 10:06 p.m.

A thing I forgot to mention re: Sunday: I may have recruited a few other DMTC people to go to tap class. I was telling Jean and Elissa about it and both of them sounded interested. I sent the information on to them and Morgan, Jean said she plans to go Wednesday. We'll see, I suppose, but I'm amused that this idea is going around. Particularly with Jean, who originally told me she got cast in 42nd Street, having never tapped in her life, and then was surprise! forced to learn how to tap. (I note that she did do tapping in The Producers.) She said it would be good to learn the right way!
Monday: I called in sick to work today and stayed in bed till 11. Too tired. Slept 11 hours plus whatever dozing I did. I did manage to do my hand wash, shower, and clean up all of my clothing avalanche I've made in the last month, and also write two book reviews. The one for "Shy" literally took me hours and hours and hours, good god. I feel like I have no time these days--I get about an hour for food and that's about it for my free time any more. If it's not a show night where I'm out past midnight socializing, I'm going to bed once I get home. Blech. I know this schedule only goes for around another week--after B&tB ends, I at least somewhat have some weekend free time except for set building--but it's feeling like a lot.

Dawn's husband is in the ER...again, apparently.

I need to write up um....a bunch of stuff. Which I mostly managed: two book reviews, writing up journal entries from the last few weeks, listening to potential audition songs for Avenue Q, and watching "Band Geeks: The Musical" since I decided I love the "Lost in the Brass" number. Then I started on "Reboot," which is genius. I still need to work on "Be The Serpent" (review and blog writeup), but I have used my writing brain space up for the day, l think. Then I finished the hem on this giant skirt. Huzzah, that's finally done.


Rehearsal: "Abundance and Charity," "Christmas Together," and "Will Tiny Tim Live?" (not my department, I think that's wardrobe change time). Felicia and Sage were trying on clothes before I got there and Felicia said she wasn't fitting into much and they were going to have to order a sexy ghost (Christmas Future) costume off Amazon. Which apparently is...quite sexy/booby and Jan said something would have to be done about that. Not the most fun for Felicia. I had costume try-on during the break and am getting an entirely BROWN outfit for being a Christmas caroler. Words cannot express my lack of excitement about being dressed in poop brown shade. Why do people think that wearing dark brown looks like chocolate? On Project Runway they straight up said, that looks like poop. On a better note, since we are not a bunch of very thin women, the skimpy Santa outfits are being scrapped and we're all wearing nice bright green dresses with red sashes. Jean had three around already "for boobilicious girls" so I got one of those, she has to make five more. Also Old Joe is being turned into "Old Josephine," which I figured. "Two percent down," Jean said of how many more costumes she has to come up with.

Boris is quietly Not A Fan of Christmas Together because it is over 500 measures long.

Quotes: Scrooge Scott: After it's pointed out that A&C sounds a bit like Hercules in places: "Menken steals from himself all the time. Ever see Galavant? The first song is "If I Can't Love Her," but slower."

Boris: "Here's the hardest part, ho ho ho ho ho. We're going to spend another half hour on that." Scrooge Scott: "I resemble that remark."

Scrooge Scott: "Do you want baritone to do anything there?" Boris: "No. You guys get 2 measures off." Scrooge Scott: "Whatever shall we do with our time?" Don: "Go to the zoo."

Omar: "Jan, am I tap dancing for this song?" Jan: "No." Omar: "Damn!" Jan: "You want to? You tap?" Omar: "Yes!"

Jan: "And ignore where it says Emily" (is a drunk), "that's the weirdest thing."

Boris: "This is the song that doesn't end. This song is deja vu yesterday."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com