Chaos Attraction

My First Singing Audition

2021-09-28, 11:58 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Snarking Over Comms - 2021-10-03
Steve Standup Comedy Hour - 2021-10-02
The Recurring Cue - 2021-10-01
Didn't Make It In - 2021-09-30
Drunk On My Patio - 2021-09-29

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

My therapist went to get her cast off at 10 a.m. and that didn't finish until 12:30....my appointment time is from 11-12. SO THAT WENT WELL. And then she canceled for next week to go to New York. SIGH. Oh well, at least nothing's on fire this week.

Audition! This went well. I went over to Ashley's for about an hour beforehand to rehearse, and discuss outfits. She went shopping today and was all "I went over to Winters and the store is gone" and I was all "yeah, they lost the lease for one of the stores and moved it all to Vacaville" (and privately was not real happy to have this come up in conversation multiple times...oh well...I didn't say "I'll go with you!" on that one.). She went elsewhere to shop.

Jim drove us over--I insisted on leaving about 7:30 for a 20 minute drive when I didn't start until 8:05 just to make sure we didn't have any got-lost incidents or anything. Not that that was likely since even I knew where the joint was, but I cover bases. (I note that there was some crazy yelling guy hanging out in the area....sigh. At least he didn't bother to notice us for all his yelling.) I mention this that we got there at 7:50 and Jim headed to Osaka Sushi across the street. I walked up and said "hi, we're early," the guy checked our vax cards and said come on in, and Amy (from Camelot/Mary Poppins) had the slot before I did and she was doing "Wouldn't It Be Luverly." So we got started right away and it's good we came in early!

I give high props to the pianist: he actually worked with me on what pace to play the music at beforehand and let me sing along for a bit before going on the stage to do it. Huzzah! Props to this fellow! So I did well enough, hopefully, at both songs. I feel pretty good about it, anyway.

We did both get asked if we wanted to look at the songs on the list, so we weren't cut off, yay.

Ashley was nervous beforehand but said she was fine once she was on the stage. She said the guy was quite startled when she started booming at the end of "She Used To Be Mine" (it's the Ashley effect). She had a bit more trouble with "Beautiful City"--she said the pianist was trying to change the key for her, something like that--but they seem to have figured it out overall? Anyway, she's a bit angsty on that, but overall, she had fun!

After that, we had sushi with Jim and it was really good. I've been craving good sushi rolls for awhile and got some, so huzzah! The store came up again in conversation (sigh) and Jim did bring up that "Scott has basically dropped off the face of the earth" and I was all "yeah, he doesn't like me any more" and told that story. Jim couldn't figure out why Scott did that and then was all "yeah, none of my business really," which, true enough. But...yeah, he's gone and I said it, so there's that. Jim asked about other people too, but I've barely heard from the rest more than Scott. Don't really know what's going there.

We had a good time hanging out, debated if it was worth schlepping to Vacaville for more dive bar karaoke and then decided not to, I recommended where to get more tie-dye shirts to Jim, and then went back to town and called it a night!

Supposedly we hear about the show "soon," I would presume that what they do is pick out what singers they like and then figure out what songs to assign to them. Might take a week, who knows there. Anyway, I'm happy with what I did and now I can do....whatever? I guess?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com