Chaos Attraction

Lost In The Brass

2022-09-29, 10:10 p.m.

Today at work they vaguely announced that they are supposed to be creating a new position, which they as usual won't be able to actually hire for any time soon, so they (at SOME POINT) are going to interim hire someone within this office to do it. Other than it's not a phones/front counter job, it sounds pretty fairly awful, working with a population that's the antithesis of my personality, possibly involving financial crap ("financial knowledge a plus!") and working with THE WORST GOVERNMENTAL WEBSITE IN THE WORLD. Why will I need to vaguely consider applying for it? See phones/front counter is why, and also if it's a new job, they can't go on "who's already experienced in doing this?" and gets your foot in the door of no longer being yet another shitty assistant. Of course, my reputation is complete shit here so I probably wouldn't get it anyway, but also I wouldn't care about not getting because it doesn't sound good anyway. I won't make the decision until I see the job listing anyway, mind you. I just don't look forward to yet another one of my teammates getting the job because we only got full once again this week, so that means one of them will go for it, of course.

That's the major news for the day. It was Interim Big Boss's last big meeting, sigh. I'll miss him.

I also had to work the front counter today. Luckily this wasn't too bad, overall. Could have been worse and I've had worse. People were nice about it, at least.


Singing lesson: I played her the Old Joe stuff so far--god, it sounds weird anyway and even worse playing her the recording of the creepy voice. She was all "you could talk-sing it as long as it's on the notes," but said she'd rather work with a recording of just that bit, which I said I'd work on (i.e. recording Boris's and then just only recording the snippet) later. ..yeah, it's weird.

Then the rest of the lesson we discussed the Avenue Q audition, which she might do as well (yes, I knew that, she loves it too-also said she auditioned for it elsewhere and didn't get it), and yes, I'm fine with that, I know my place here, my goal is to audition at a few places and that's it rather than actually get into anything at strange theaters unlikely to take me. (Meanwhile, she's all "Rent in Stockton, also Newsies, also... I forget what all else she's considering at the same time....)

I sent her a few song suggestions off theatretrip.com for that show and I mentioned the one I liked best, "Lost in the Brass." She was in favor of that as well, and then told me which part she thought I should do for the audition. Which was...surprising. I figured she'd go for what I would have, i.e. the nerdy parts of the song ("Flutes don’t sparkle quite like batons / There’s no visual attraction / No stimulus reaction / Pretty music, that’s all the pretty that i got / I’m special in a quiet way / At least that’s what my parents say", or alternately, "So i don’t wear makeup / I don’t stick my hair up / With some awesome-tactic pink beret / No, i’ll never be a majorette / I’m plain, i’m basic / And i sweat when i get nervous / I suck at popularity / People just don’t notice me."). No, she went for this little section:

Listen i’m not background noise Listen, i make music See me, i’m not one of the boys I shine, i shine, i shine On my own

Doesn't exactly sound like me, does it? Big booming bit? Morgan said, "find a short something that shows off what you need to show off," so a 30 second bit of enunciating and singing big. Which went pretty well, actually? She'll look for the sheet music somewhere. It kinda almost makes me want to cry to sing that, in a way? It's the opposite of my life, where I seem to only get noticed for the bad reasons and if I'm not blending in, things get bad.

I did ask her about the "um, why do people think I'd make a good Mrs. Lovett?" and she agreed because ah, you don't have to be a good singer to do that part. Hah hah. I suppose so in that case.


Rehearsal: "Link By Link" dance number. Not too bad, though I was all "nope, not crawling like a frog on the floor during the opening of this, NOPE" to it, so I get to drag Scrooge's chair around, a la Urinetown. (I had some texting going on with Sierra about this, of course.) I did end up using those knee pads for a few dramatic floor drops, but at least I don't have to be flat on the floor in a white dress and heels, something I was pointing out to people and they were all "um....maybe we should wash them?" and I was all "I bet they leave them dirty for the whole of the run." We literally dance around with chains, mostly waving them above our heads or smacking them on the floor. Not too bad for choreography, though she said we're not getting back to this for 2 weeks and I bet we forget it all by then.

I note that Don wore a band shirt that says Ghost on it--some kind of fake Satanic band, apparently? Appropriate costuming!

Quotes:

Felicia:
"I just need a thousand dollars to outfit for musical theater."
Steve, wondering where Jan is: "She just muttered something about Tahiti and wandered off."
Noel, playing with her chains in a certain way: "I'm the poi ghost."
Scrooge Scott on spinning in an office chair: "I used to be able to do this for hours and not throw up."
Scrooge Scott as we drag him about: "Some of this might not be acting, argggh."
Jan: "Take 5." Scrooge Scott, still in chair: "I already am."

Felicia: "This may be my new favorite number." Me: "Until there's a kickline." Her: "I do love a good kickline." (There's ALMOST a kickline...but it's cross legged walking instead.)

Bad news when I got home: Steve announced that "a cast member got injured" (dunno who, didn't say) and they have to reconfigure all the big dance numbers at 6 tomorrow. Dammit. I wonder what happened? It's not anybody involved in Christmas Carol or I'd know that one. Possibly Annie, She Who Is Perpetually Injured And Already Kinda Was On Sunday, but they wouldn't have to redo the entire number for anything she's doing, I don't think. He asked for all the object numbers + Gaston, so presumably it's someone in all three of those.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com