Chaos Attraction

Steve Standup Comedy Hour

2021-10-02, 5:45 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Lost Mail 2 - 2021-10-07
Lost Mail - 2021-10-06
Booster Shot Day - 2021-10-05
You Could Have Just Googled For That - 2021-10-04
Snarking Over Comms - 2021-10-03

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Today: woke up too early, woke up too exhausted, kept dreaming that someone stuck me with a fish I couldn't get rid of. I kind of wanted to keel over and go back to bed, but could not lose consciousness.

I picked up Rae at her new place (which is huge and nice and looks like a mini-house) today. I will note that she was wearing a sweatshirt, scarf, and fuzzy pants and it was like 70 outside and later I was all "wanna go back home and change clothes, because you are gonna boil and it's gonna be like 94 today. " So she did. Anyway, we went to Farmer's Market, got hot dogs and popcorn. I tried to look for a black-with-rainbow-butterflies mask and found out that does not exist--the vendor said she hasn't seen any fabric like that. Ah well, tried. My old yarn vendor is back again, so I got some yarn from her. We said hi to Ashley, but her sister's visiting this weekend.

Then I took Rae to the Spirit Halloween store in Vacaville, which she LOVED and went back and forth as to what to buy before picking out a Jack Skellington. I considered buying a NASA jacket, which was lovely, but was $50 and do I need it when I literally have a closet full of jackets? Probably not. We attempted to go to Starbucks before Rae had to go to lunch with someone else, but that did not go well--the first Starbucks I tried to find didn't exist after all, and the second one had a giant drive-through line and the walkup was closed, so we gave up.

I felt completely exhausted and tried to nap upon going home, but that didn't really work. I tried for 1.5 hours, don't think I lost consciousness, still felt wrung out. I finally just drank some Pepsi and felt a lot better.


Mary Poppins, Night 8: They did filming tonight, which I was quite relieved to hear that they weren't waiting until the last week to do it on. Y'know...just in case pandemic fucks it all up again and all that. Things went quite smoothly with no major issues. I slightly missed a cue but not in a noticeable way (YOU try keeping track of how many times they sing "supercalifragilisticexpialidocious" in a row for awhile and see how you do at it), but that's it. I got Kimmie to get Steve to remove the unwanted cue, so that wasn't a problem. Sound was fine, props worked, flying worked, huzzah!

Steve is doing the introductions before the show--telling people to turn off noisy devices, notices to season ticket holders, complaining that the rent went up twice during pandemic, what shows are upcoming, which events may or may not occur because who knows in pandemic, etc. etc. This gets on Kimmie's nerves after awhile, and I do admit it's a bit of Steve Standup Comedy Hour, but I'm fine with that myself. I did crack up at Kimmie muttering tonight, "Can we just black him out already? Think he'd notice?"

I could actually SEE the filming tonight since it was right in front of me. (Alas, poor Don said the cameras were blocking his view of the stage.) There were two giant monitors and a bunch of little monitors and two cameras, one on the left that was filming the entire stage, more or less (it got adjusted occasionally) and the right side one that he used to do manual closeups. I guess that way you have editing options. I never have watched the filming of Camelot since I got the DVD to potentially show to other people, but I wonder what they do on it? Especially since the Camelot one got done really fast.


Quote from the Washington Post I relate to: "Part of the struggle, which I just have to get over, is that I am 41. And really wanted a different story for my life at this point. But I won’t get that different story with this guy."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com