Chaos Attraction

I'll Miss Our Screams Together

2022-10-02, 8:35 p.m.

Sunday: attempted to sleep/sleep in, didn't, bleah, the usual. I swear I'm sleeping on weeknights and not weekends lately. Admittedly this may be due to my busy partying schedule, but I went to bed early Friday night and still didn't, so.

Thankfully, no toilet issues today on the last day. I note that somehow with "sold out" and a waiting list, there were still empty seats. I presume some people have covid, but still? Anyway, at least we got another standing O--this show has gotten the most of them I've ever seen.

Quotes from the dressing room:

"We're in the girl's dressing room--boobs and food." -Jean

Rachelle says she keeps having a boob pop out during the battle scene. I guess not in any way anyone else sees, thank goodness.

Katrina wore her Urinetown shirt to the theater today, on purpose. This was appreciated.

Sarah: "I can just go out in tennis shoes, right?...Steve would laugh, but he wouldn't laugh."

Julia said some guy was handing her and Ryan business cards for his handbell choir, randomly.

Annie: "Last night, you almost took me out with a hoe."

It's Alisa and Jared's 18th anniversary. What are they going to do? "Strike the set."

"One more wolf scene to go." -Katrina "One more silly girl smackdown." -Sierra. Sarah offered her her eye makeup if she wants to fake a black eye.

I was once again trying to figure out how Babette and Lumiere get it on as objects, especially when he could light her on fire. "Not in the hot way. Er, the sexy way." Eve: "And that's the reason why they haven't gotten tired of each other."

Alisa: "Who's calling me? It's my mom. Doesn't she know I'm in a show?" Annie's dad did same.

Sarah: "One time I did dinner theater Princess Bride and people threw food at Humperdinck. They were a little drunk."

Quotes from pre-show re: bathrooms:

"It could have been a shitty situation." -Scott "
I was ready to do Urinetown again." -Sierra
"We have half the cast." -Katrina
"Would have been better if it was in Urinetown." -Kimmie
"It all came out in the end. See what I did there?" -Brian

Kimmie on the bird's name: "I'm the one that names him for every show."

The reason why some of us didn't originally get shirts? Steve left them in a pile by the floor by the bed. Dannette yelled down from the booth, "THIS IS WHY YOU SHOULD USE A GOOGLE FORM!' Steve flipped her the bird while pretending to rub his nose in response. Steve also said "damn" in front of the kids (they do not care) and Sarah was all: "Theater is such an education."

Kimmie on Maurice's invention: "That thing is coming on the stage and I get to take the first whack at it." Jared made sure to film it before it was dismantled, noting "Maurice, ahead of his time with the gaffe tape."

Sierra: "I'm going to use my cuteness one last time."

Sarah on being told to imitate using some kind of typing-ish machine on the line about check-in's at noon: "Steve said to do it even though it made no sense." Also, he likes to throw in Fiddler moments.

Various people were throwing a glowing ball of Maya's around and playing Bowling For Humans with it. At one point it landed in Ryan's back. Amy: "Hey, isn't there something in the contract about not bullying cast members?" Ryan: "Not if it's me." Sage: "I feel like we're inventing a new game every 5 seconds." At one point Stacy chucked the ball into the audience and Kimmie saw it and was all, "Is that from you? Go get it!" Kimmie: "Children, recess is not for another four hours."

Omar: "I'm going to do EVERY SHOW THIS SEASON...even Newsies." Impressive, sir! Impressive!

Stacy took a shot of me sitting in the Beast's throne. Very fancy.

Boris: "Kill the beast!"

During show:

Jared hasn't done a video yet for B&tB the way he did for Evita pre-show-ish, so he was going around filming things as they got weird, which they certainly did. Alisa did a bit of filming too, at one point Steve shoving his face into the camera and demanding she be fired. (Kidding.) Steve was also filming backstage while we did set moving, and went into the pit to film Jared's costume change from beast to prince. Pretty cool, I had wondered how they did that in the tiny space.

Ryan said that he, Lucas and Other Steve have like an hour before they go back onstage again, so theoretically he could go get Taco Bell....

The Silly Girls "really went for it" tonight during their fight. I didn't see it, but heard the sound effects. Ryan was all, "They said they were really going to go for it tonight. I gotta go see if any of them got injured." Sierra: "We were a little more aggressive with each other." Rachelle apparently said "oh hell no" onstage, and it "sounded like someone said shit?" Katrina: "No regrets."

I walked out backstage to see Jillian and Alisa dropping each other.

Just as someone said "we haven't broken another mug," Jan jinxed it and did it.

Boris to me at intermission: "Are you going to say, stick a fork in me, I'm done?" After it's off, yes.

Steve to me: "Fork you." Me: "Fork you too!" (I later signed the wall with "Fork you.")

After show: Mom and Roger briefly came up to me and then left pretty quickly, but Mom did give me a random stuffed animal-- a squishmallow mammoth. It's adorable. Mostly I ended up talking to (a) some random nice sisters who seem to have a lot of history with the theater (one wanted a pic with Julia, I arranged it), and (b) Scott's relatives again. This time, one of his aunts and his cousin and his grandmother came back again. She's as adorable and sweet as ever, said she wants to go to Christmas Carol, also said something about how she wants his mom to throw a party and I said, "hey, I heard she wants to throw some kind of housewarming party after they're moved in." (I'm surprised her mother hasn't heard that--pretty sure she told me that last time I was in the store or so?) They actually wanted a picture of Scott and me together--I haven't gotten that one from him, who knows if I will :P I took one of the family. I talked to them more than my own relatives.

Post-show set strike: fairly contentious-ish, mostly a lot of arguing about where to put stuff. Kimmie said that during Mary Poppins, Kyle talked Steve and Jan into going to eat instead of helping and that was a lot less arguing. Sage: "There seem to be a lot of conflicting opinions." I removed fabric/staples, moved things to the prop room, moved the occasional pieces of furniture or wood or whatever.

We ended up having a big ol' snack break with the remaining food for last night while we waited around on other people. At one point the kids were all, "What if Kimmie came over here," of course while she was doing that. I was all, "Y'all knew she was coming, right?"

Steve decided to start a rumor that Sierra was pregnant. Sierra announced that no, she's not, they are having a 2 month dry spell, and also, "I AM NOT PREGNANT. I WILL DRINK A BEER RIGHT NOW." (She did later.)

Ryan said he found out Gaston's last name was Legume, because he has that small of a brain, and "Most of my brain power is focused on growing hair."

Alisa to me: "I'll miss our screams together."

After strike finished, we ended up going to Woodstock's. Scott did sit by me. I remember doing a bit of celebration for Jared and Alisa's anniversary, and Steve showing us videos he did backstage, including Jared's transformation to the prince in the pit. Pretty cool to see that one. Ugh...I'm too brain dead to recap this? I remember Jean got a ride over with Scott and then started kinda freaking at 9 because OMG HOUSE OF THE DRAGON IS ON and dragging us out the door...I do remember saying to him it's weird that we won't be doing shows together ever again (no response to that 'cause Jean started dragging). Hugged them goodbye and that was...it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com