Chaos Attraction

Yay, A Cast Party!

2021-10-09, 6:01 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Lost Mail 5 - 2021-10-14
Lost Mail 4 - 2021-10-13
Scammy Situation - 2021-10-12
Elf Coat - 2021-10-11
The Director Joins The Show - 2021-10-10

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Mary Poppins, Night 11:

Pre-show:

Kimmie can't find anywhere to stash the green screen, there was overall conversation about the difficulties of doing tech, Don said he doesn't want to do sound any more because of his ADHD and having to pay intermittent attention to turn people's mics off and on. Kimmie was all "yeah, when I did it, I wrote plusses and minusses in the script to keep track of that stuff."
Don' wants to move to Spain to get out of this crapass country. Good luck to him on that.
I asked if he and I have to help with strike tomorrow (taking down the sets) and he was all "Heck no, that's the benefit of this job, we can just leave. I'm going to go to Costco."
I talked with one of the other Jennifers about crafting--she had to give it up due to hand pain--and how her son makes a job as a crafter working craft fairs in San Diego. I end up having that conversation a lot: why don't I have my own business and do something I actually want to do with my life, it's too hard, etc. She said yeah, it can be less fun if you HAVE to do it.
Had two cues go wrong, both blackouts. I'm not sure why the first button didn't go while I was clicking on it, but the second time THAT EVIL CUE we had removed CAME BACK ONTO THE BOARD AGAIN. I had checked the last 2 nights before the show started to make sure it was gone and didn't bother this time...mistake, because there it was again! Grrrr, argh. I left myself a Post-It to check tomorrow, i.e. ask to have it removed again tomorrow. Why does the thing come back?

Afterwards was the cast party--yes, an actual party during pandemic! Steve made his "famous" stir-fry, which was legitimately delicious--great sauce, had mushrooms in it. It was sort of potlucky. Jean had awesome meatballs, there were some appetizers and desserts. I mostly sat alone since the other tables were crowded, but hung out and talked with other people later. I do like the other Jennifer, as we talked about her favorite musical (Bright Star) and how her husband wants to play in the pit sometime and has a giant collection of musical instruments. Cameron's (note: guy doing the flying during this show) daughter noticed the Sweeney Todd poster on the wall and ah, that had to be explained, hah hah. Chatted with some other folks, which was fun. It went till around 12:30-ish and I got home around 1.

I got the last of Jean's strawberry Fresca so I could try the rum punch at home, and told her how my trying to do rum punch at home alone ("I wouldn't have served you, you're working") hadn't gone so well. It's...about the same. Maybe I just have some bad cheap rum.

Oh, and I found out that Winters has scheduled The Miracle Worker to play in mid-November to early December...but doesn't have a location yet, apparently? Tomas was all "I'll post it on Facebook when I know!" Hmmm. I wonder if there will be a group get-together for that one?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com