Chaos Attraction

The Director Joins The Show

2021-10-10, 6:03 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Another Baby Yoda Day - 2021-10-15
Lost Mail 5 - 2021-10-14
Lost Mail 4 - 2021-10-13
Scammy Situation - 2021-10-12
Elf Coat - 2021-10-11

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Mary Poppins, Day 12:

I walked in to see the directors getting stuffed pillows and being applauded. I was a little confused...hahahah. Tylen (musical director) actually got up and made a speech about George's last scene in the bank. (Recap: After being suspended from work without pay for most of the show because George didn't give a loan to a person he thought seemed scammy/shifty and supposedly that person then made their rival a lot of money, George is called into work and told that the bank owes him a whopping apology because that person turned out to be a total scammer and ruined their rival. He's asked "could you give us the word" as to how he figured that out, and George randomly busts out singing "Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.") Tylen was all "Why would you do that, and wouldn't that seem really weird to the people of the bank? And also, one word?" GOOD POINT, SIR. I love seeing a fellow nitpicker of the plot.

Show went pretty well. I was hoping to not screw up any cues on my last one and uh...nope, at one point my finger hit the back button. DARN IT! At least cue 377 was removed when I got there. I actually worked on/finished hand sewing my butterfly skirt during act one and ran out of yarn on my current project during the end of act 2.

It was about the fullest I've ever seen the theater--not a full house exactly, tu so full that people were actually IN THE BACK ROW, right by me, I felt bad for them having to deal with the lights I had to have on back there.

Tessa (ensemble, one of the chimney sweeps) somehow pulled a stomach muscle halfway through the show and sat the last half out. Kyle, the director/choreographer, LITERALLY STEPPED IN LIKE IN THE PRODUCERS to do her part in "Step in Time." He even had an outfit and everything! I asked him about this after the show and he said no, he hadn't had one before, Jean just found him one backstage. Matched and everything! (I note that Kyle is quite tall and probably wasn't able to use Tessa's wardrobe.) He said it was karma because in his first show someone had to step in for him. Amazing.

I did get a card after the show and got called onto the stage--I wish I'd actually bothered to wear something nice today because for once I was wearing a T-shirt, yoga pants and a fancy hip belt :P Ah well. Here's a fun thing: after the show Cameron (the flying guy) was showing Don, me, and the ushers (Virginia from Camelot and her husband, I think) how the flying cables worked and what the harnesses are like. Judah, doing flips, had a more elaborate one. There's calibrated weights for each person and two sets of ropes: one set that Cameron himself is pulling on WITH FULL BODY WEIGHT--I'm talking going from jumping to lying down on the floor--and then another person (Anna the park keeper, who stepped in) to pull the person back and forth across the stage. The person is hanging on cables that are attached to the harness.

And then Jori (Mary Poppins) walked up and said, "Can I have one final flight?" SQUEE, WE GOT TO WATCH HER FLY!!! Cameron did all kinds of yanking--jumping, pulling back--on his end while Anna pulled her back and forth. Jori pointed out that she's actually signed the wall way up high there now, how adorable. That was really cool.

I don't quite want to be in Titanic per se (though I am amused by Don's stories of playing 4 parts, "3 out of the 4 die, and a lot of them have wives and one of them has a concubine...." and he's marked on the rehearsal schedule as "Don and his many parts....") but I will miss these people. It's gonna be weird without theater for at least four weeks until the next auditions, darn it. pouts That said, I just signed up to audition, and Jean from TnT is doing it too (different night though).

After that, I went to the grocery store and Dollar Store. I found at the latter SEVERAL PRODUCTS that I haven't been able to find much for for months or years--i.e. my favorite "Suddenly Salad" and more of those noodle dishes I found at the 7-11 the other week. I STOCKED UP.


Last night I dreamed that Scott was doing a podcast and I was listening to it and he sounded depressed and I was all "awwwwwww!" and then he was starting to do some movie review with his dad and then I woke up. And felt sad. AGAIN.

I really feel like I need to work out my shit in the event that I actually end up seeing him again. Like I do NOT know how to behave around him if it comes up. I honestly feel like "avoid him as much as possible" is what I would HAVE to do. Like he wants to avoid me too, so ignore him/don't speak is probably best ethically speaking.

I decided to count how many days it's been since I last tried to talk to him and it's been 105--my previous record was 107.

On a related note, I read this. "You’ve had enough time to think it over, hope for Christ to get here or some other miracle to occur and spent time precious just doodling around. Now either get out there and fix what’s broken and holding up progress, or ask for help. But it’s the moment to move forward, even though you probably still can’t definitively say what you want to happen or how you want the whole deal to go."

I'm listening to this video (#2) and this sounds right on the money. "I feel like you offered your heart to this person." "Your person did something to betray you. Maybe they rejected your offer. "Even if your person wasn't meaning to do something selfish and rude, they did." "I think you both are at a crossroads." This person really hurt you and you are considering giving up on them entirely, you're not really sure what to do, if you should cut them off and leave. HEAR HEAR. You don't feel like they are sorry for what they did. They need to learn how to accept love in general. You communicate in two different ways, very subtle. Do you even have any feelings for me at all? "You guys don't know how to communicate to each other." They don't know what to do either. They recognize that you went out of your way to give them your heart, and he was all "what do I do with that." They don't know how to do this. It doesn't mean they don't like you, it means they don't know how to deal with it. Teaching someone how to understand emotions/love. Teach them that they're worthy/deserving of love. They are teaching you that not everyone understands how you communicate. Show your love in ways you never have before so they get what you are trying to say, be more patient. Take on some of their logical viewpoint as to what the best action is for you. Retreating. Allow this person to come and apologize. Forgiving and learning on the back of the deck. Trust that this person will come back and apologize. Understand where the other person is coming from, you're on 2 different wavelengths. they bury themselves in their work because they don't know how to deal with this.

6 of cups, Past Life Love, Apology cards ("You can expect the apology you want to hear."

"I do think you will find the way back to each other." "You will get what you want. You just don't get to choose how you get it." "you are the key to unlocking this person's emotions."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com