Chaos Attraction

Park and Bark

2022-10-12, 8:55 p.m.

Work:

(a) Got another list of problems, most of which were not actual problems and one of which should have been fixed by tech instead of me, so what the hell? Meanwhile, the two people we had actual problems with are fine. GO FIGURE. As for the one I had to fix, our computer database sucks and should have fixed it, but OF COURSE NOT.

(b) Most of the managers are out at some Six Sigma training today, which is causing problems because someone is calling and screaming and wants to talk to a manager about our new policy of Throwing Important Documents Away because they called in 2019 to have their saved and then guess what? They never got it and, well.... Nobody paged me to take that one, thank gawd, or I would have been fucked. In other news, what is the point of Six Sigma training? We did Strength Finders and nothing came of that (I note I told my boss yesterday it's pointless to be a Maximizer here, and she said we can maximize one out of a thousand problems).

(c) I can't get my next round of proofreading/finalizing done until the afternoon because I have to wait around for my coworkers to be free to sit there and watch me do it. This seems rather like a waste of time because why am I training them on doing this when odds are high one or both of them will be gone by the time they'd get trained enough to handle it themselves? I could literally have Quarterly Project done by lunch if I didn't have to. Okay, fine, we did it, were done pretty quickly...

Otherwise, it was a slow day, no therapy, and I got a lot of crochet applique put onto the purse. Huzzah.

Tap class: good news for the instructor as she just got hired to choreograph The Nutcracker. Bad news is that starting next week she wants to change the class time to 7 due to that, which Felicia and I can't do until rehearsal is over. Wah, but there it goes. (Kinda wish I hadn't bought a new dance card RIGHT before class now, though.) I told her we were tapping in the show and she got excited and wanted to go. I hope she does, that'd be great. Otherwise, it was pretty challenging today, I'm not sure if I got a lot of it or not, but the teacher didn't seem to think I didn't..and I got the last step at the end, so there's that!

Felicia has some barely used tap shoes and the heel is already coming off one of them. She can't afford to get more anyway, and the show is wanting us to have high heeled tap shoes. She wants to hold her ground and NOT get more shoes/expensive stuff for this show, which I agree with--I don't want to have to do any more shoe shopping this month either--but I doubt she'll win the argument and I keep thinking I'm going to have to book out on a Saturday to go shoe shopping again anyway, sigh.

In between, I got a phone call from Rae--she has a new boyfriend and her mother approves. I'm very pleased. Rae's mom asked if I ever asked someone out at theater--"yes, and he said no...it's a whole thing, I'm not going to get into it and bring everybody down."


Felicia and I were all "Yay, rehearsal doesn't start until 7:50! Twenty more minutes to do whatever!" Another short one too, we were out at nine again, huzzah. We did the end of the show, what Dannette called "park and bark," i.e. stand there singing whatever.

We had more people back (Sage/Soji back, at least), but Virginia is "very sick, but not covid."

Noel went on about Febreezing her son. LOL. I also showed her photos of my royal corgi.

We were told that Steve wants to get a snow machine. We'll see.

Quotes: Boris: "Good work, go home!" at 8 or so. When Jan was calling for the Smythes, Scrooge Scott: "Baby Smythe, Scary Smythe..."

At home, I started watching Abbott Elementary since everyone raves about it. Is Michael Schur's company involved? Because this is very much in the style of The Office/Parks and Rec: documentary crew, simple episode names, a Leslie Knope-esque optimist heroine, some Jim-and-Pam with the hot substitute... I like it so far, mind you, and those plot elements and style certainly work, but I can recognize that by now.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com