Chaos Attraction

Lost Mail 4

2021-10-13, 6:15 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Tonight I'm Getting Over You - 2021-10-18
"Strong Energy" - 2021-10-17
HAMILTON 2 - 2021-10-16
Another Baby Yoda Day - 2021-10-15
Lost Mail 5 - 2021-10-14

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I don't know what the upstairs neighbors were doing, but I went to bed around 10-ish last night and from 12:45-1:15 or so they were making some horrendous weird racket that earplugs would not block out, it was wallshaking. No, it wasn't sex noises, my best guess was "why are you doing middle of the night home remodeling?" That said, I did manage to get back to sleep that night and actually got 8 hours, which is shocking for me.

In-office day today and the rest of the week, sigh. It started RAINING when I left the house, even. Not for too long, at least.

My coworker Christine came into the office today to pick up her stuff and we had a nice long chat about how job hunting continues to suck here--her current contract is going until next August but she's still freaked about finding another job since it takes SOOOOO LONG here and she can't get any interviews any more. I said "yeah, that's why I quit job hunting." Sounds like that hasn't gotten any better--not that I expected it to in pandemic, of course.

I mentioned that one of my coworkers came from (Equivalent Giant Org In The Next City Over) and I keep wondering why she came here when here sucks so bad, and she said that her husband used to work there and (a) they don't pay for shit, and (b) they stalk and watch everything you do on your computer. I'd heard rumors about that last one. Well, that explains that. Though I guess the good thing about my giant org still using technology from circa 1990 is that they CAN'T stalk our every move on the computer. "If they can't get the printers to work...." Christine said. True dat.

I do hope that if we ever can get job openings again, she could land one...I mean, she probably doesn't want to go back to the service side again, but it sounds like she needs ANY job, so....

I spent the morning ,doing, guess what, more international mail, as all of the Important Documents, including the platinum rush reordered ones, did arrive today. I started in on another pile of them first, which I'm glad I did. It took all fucking morning and I had printer problems again (of course) and blah blah blah...and then right before lunch, I get an email from the mail division saying "These have all been located. They will show movement today." So, right after we spend a ton of money and have these things rushed here...OH NEVER MIND, WE FOUND THEM!!!! Well, at least I hadn't started processing all of THAT yet. And my boss is out today. But seriously, we just spent a ton of money and now it's too late. Though Grandboss pointed out that we should keep the things anyway in case they all got bent in the mail....which, legitimate fear there.

(Note: I didn't bother to mention this last week, but I actually did a prayer to St. Anthony to find the lost packages, by printing the list of the lost ones and their tracking numbers, writing a request on the other side, folding it into a paper airplane and then throwing it into the nearest recycling dumpster.. I should have put a timeline on it, apparently, because Too Late Now, sigh. Well, good job anyway, St. Anthony!)

I will note that I started looking up the missing ones and so far, I don't see movement on the DHL's (i.e. most of them). Three of them were UPS and I saw that those have been more or less designated lost and found out that while the shipping company we work with tried putting in a claim for reimbursement, she said it won't happen because we can't prove that shitty UPS ever had control of the packages. That figures. I will be checking tomorrow to see if any of the labels got scanned.

In other news, I did not hear about That Scammy Situation from the other day all day. No word as to whether or not they're going to try something else or cave in to the inevitable. Now we're down to ONLY this guy holding up a thousand-plus people....sigh. I'll leave it to my boss to nag him tomorrow.

Jim had his Achilles tendon surgery today, so good for him. He sent some photos and a picture of the captain from Wall-E, which is a pretty accurate comparison. I'd suggest it as a joke for a Halloween costume except nobody in their right mind would want to wear that onesie.

After work...I bought this book on manifestation a few weeks ago and she was doing a manifestation ritual thing starting at 5 p.m. my time today. Unfortunately (a) I had to go to the office today and couldn't get out of it or leave early, (b) couldn't stay in the office to watch the thing because a manager has to be in the office if staff members are there and poor Penguin Girl shouldn't have to do that (and it went till 6:30 anyway, as it turned out). So I ended up phonecalling into the Zoom and walking home for 20 minutes. The phonecalling in was a pretty good idea because at one point the phone hung up on me, but I could just call back in, as opposed to if I'd been booted out of a camera Zoom and then someone had to let me in the waiting room again or whatever. Also, unfortunately, I was fucking STARVING and ended up eating through most of it even though I shouldn't have been.

Anyway: the reason why I like this author is because she actually acknowledges the negative side of things with regards to hippie shit, and she took a good chunk of time to focus on that today, having us write down a list of why we can't have what we want and then focusing on the worst one (in my case: "I can't have love because...I'm ME and apparently I'm not allowed to"), which made me kind of cry through the whole thing. Why can't I have it? I don't know! How come my jerk aunt and uncle found true love in high school and have been happy ever since? How come the most boring person I know managed to get married? Why can't I? Why, if this person is around my neighborhood, can't I run into him? This lady also did EFT/tapping, which is a good idea and I really should be doing more of that.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com