Chaos Attraction

Murder on the Orient Express

2022-10-14, 8:58 p.m.

Work: I finished Quarterly Project today, as other people actually have moved their butts of late and I got it done by the end of the day. I also CHECKED THE SHIT OUT OF THE NAMES and made darn sure I tediously went through everything, even if my boss got bored. I said every time I used a filter and made this "easy," it got effed up, and I'm not doing that again! I feel sorry for my coworkers having to sit through this shit and being bored AF, but what can you do, it's supposed to be a "team" effort, except my speed reading is way too useful to pass it on to mere mortals, plus I'm fine with that. Just as long as someone else spots any errors while I'm in the middle
So, it's done, I'm tired.

They posted the new position they are creating today--with a partial draft, which doesn't even have qualifications listed (ARE there any? It's a new job nobody's done before, who the hell knows), but they wanted you to email a manager by next Thursday with your qualifications to do it. I looked at the listing and GOOD LORD, IT'S AWFUL. It's counted as a supervisor position somehow(?!?!) and the job description makes it sound very, very painful. "Painstaking" and "scrupulous" are words used in there, I got the feeling "nitpicking" was a word they wanted to put in, and lots of stuff about working with that shitty branch of the government with regards to people getting funding. KILL ME NOW. I dutifully printed the listing, but dear god, I don't think I could ever do the job. Maybe that should go to my coworker who used to be in the military, that shit would actually make sense to her.

Today I was listening to an interview with the She Loves Me Broadway cast (didn't save the link, oops) and Laura Benanti said something about how someone said to her she ends up with the wrong guys because they tell her who they are and she doesn't believe them. That rung a bell with me, for sure. I'm more ready to cut the cord than ever, in some ways. I should wait until after tomorrow night just in case, but...he didn't want to be in a relationship or love me. Duh. Don't believe how someone acts like they care, cause they don't.

I am almost done with the Encanto blouse for matching stuff from the pics on the Internet on it, and only have somewhat more to go (maybe 30% to cover) on the back of the purse. Those things were small enough to bring into work to work on, yay.

Tonight I went to see "Murder on the Orient Express" (yes, it's a play now!) and I really enjoyed it and it got a standing ovation. I really enjoyed the whole train setting--they even got a specially made curtain for this thing, and the railroad station sponsored it (smart move there). They pared down the suspect list to 8 actors, who were of course the most fun characters from what I read in the books. I particularly liked the doctor/countess and the blowsy blonde, who was definitely having fun in THAT show. I note the lady next to me was all, "I saw the Johnny Depp movie, but I don't remember him in it." Me snickers "He wasn't in it long!" She didn't remember whodunit, I didn't say anything. That said, I did laugh when someone said at intermission, "I think Poirot did it." LOL.

I do like this one, it's one of her more famous/inventive murders--and that's what I'll tactfully say about THAT. I was also amused that Poirot liked the countess--gorgeous and capable--and at the beginning there's a waiter copying his mustache and claiming Poirot is French (HE'S BELGIAN!) and that he met Poirot once. Then when Poirot's friend comes over and drops his name, the guy's reaction... LOL.

It was opening night there, so they had a nice snacky food spread and drinks. I sadly had to restrain myself from the champagne, but the sparkling cider and snacks were good. I had a good time. Mom texted to say she's at a Nelson Brothers concert (with Neil deGrasse Tyson...this is kind of an odd pairing?) in Modesto with Roger, staying at the Doubletree. Hopefully she doesn't somehow run into my ex there, but probably not. God knows he's not likely to end up anywhere classy. Hope they stay safe.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com