Chaos Attraction

Wandering Around Bored

2022-10-17, 9:04 p.m.

Meh, another fucking day. At least I slept. I found out one order wasn't processed at all months ago, apparently? The email was very confusing and she keeps wanting to talk on the phone and I keep saying no, it'll make even less sense that way. Bleah. Other than that, meetings and being asked weird questions about old documentation from 2007 about which I had literally nothing.

Continuing to work on the giant skirt while watching "Welcome to Wrexham" (finished Abbott Elementary). It helps to satisfy your Ted Lasso feelings, for sure.

Rehearsal: on the one hand, easy day, no dancing. On the other hand, BORING DAY because it was doing all the opening ("Hear the Bells" to "Nothing To Do With Me") again. More standing around and singing and wandering the stage doing not bloody much of use. The first few numbers are caroling*, that's fine, but "Nothing To Do With Me," is (a) long, (b) full of various plot scenes involving Scrooge, Smythes, Cratchits, Fred, the three ghosts in human garb, and a funeral, and (c) the rest of us milling around "shopping," i.e. bored off our asses wandering the stage back and forth and round and round. We barely sing anything in the number and it's pages and pages of waiting around boooooooooooored. At least we got out around 9;35-ish? So there's that.

Morgan got the fishmonger part (probably all for the best, those lines are hard to deliver and I know Morgan is practiced in various English accent pronunciation, plus she actually gets a part) so Other Jennifer can kid wrangle. I'm tired of being told, "come up to the front!" Um, is it REALLY IMPORTANT to have Old Joe wandering around with a cart in front while the Cratchits are doing lines? It really isn't. This is not a plot point until the end, I did my foreshadowing, can't I just like, leave, ditch the cart and come back as a caroler? (Other Jennifer and I proposed this before her character switch and were denied re: costume, though we can ditch carts.)

I note those of us comparing notes on costumes about this were all "mine are boring...." On a related note, Jean is posting costume notes that aren't showing up on the page for like, most of a day and she was all annoyed at Felicia and I for not seeing "come early." Which we had anyway so really, NBD, but I can't help that she posted it this morning, I did hit refresh this afternoon and it didn't show until tonight. Sigh. I don't know, man.

I didn't get much time to take notes because I had to slowly wheel an imaginary cart for like hours, but Noel did make a lot of vegan chicken jokes, which ranged from "I'm going to go out and get some vegan chicken," to selling vegan chicken, to noting that her chicken selling outfit "is beige, like a chicken. I'm dressed like a chicken." I said she needs one of those turkey hats.

I did find out from Noel that the whole bones part of "rags and bones" is for making gelatin and soap. Good to know and also saved me some creepy Googling I was afraid to do.

What I did get to write down:

Don: "Why don't we just jam something up something and make it more interesting?" HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Omar during break: "Drink water, everybody!" Scrooge Scott: "Drink Scotch, everybody! Or whiskey! Anything but gin, it tastes like drinking an evergreen tree."

We are off from rehearsal Wednesday, since they forgot there's a board meeting. Woot. Tap class got moved to 7 (sigh), but I can catch one last one before being out for 3 weeks.

I got a party invite! Arthur and Dannette's anniversary party on Friday. There's an open house at the dance studio from 5-7, so then I can pop from one place to the other. I'm still wondering if there's going to be a watch party for Beauty and the Beast (and if so, if I can make it), but so far no news there.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com