Chaos Attraction

Tonight I'm Getting Over You

2021-10-18, 6:42 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Pre-Show Jitters - 2021-10-23
Go Blow - 2021-10-22
Whomp Whomp - 2021-10-21
The Universe Taunts Me - 2021-10-20
Designing Women: The Play - 2021-10-19

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Last night's sleep was crap. I got 2 hours and 45 minutes in before the upstairs neighbors started with their racket again (my new theory is that they have an inflatable mattress and they're re-inflating it). Sadly, I could not lose consciousness again no matter what I tried: the Calm app, binaural beat recordings, reading off the phone, reading an actual book, nothing fucking worked. Way to waste a day off not sleeping. Then there's the trash guys who come on Monday mornings, and the public works guys are outside my window with flashing lights right now for something...?

I'm jus so sad and mad about the whole Scott thing. I'm really sick of it. I keep going back to it and it's depressing as fuck. I want 2019 Scott back around. I thought "Gee, if we were okay I would have told him about seeing Hamilton," but what's the point?

I spent the afternoon finally well, trying to exorcise my feelings for Scott. Like "Tonight I'm Getting Over You" sort of stuff. I don't know how much better I felt at the end of it--mostly tired-- but I'd like to hope this exorcises my feelings for him entirely. Why bother, right? Though I admit that going to karaoke after this, where people brought him up to me (SIGH).... I did read this article in the NYT about someone doing a cord cutting ceremony on an ex and then the shaman tells her that the guy will feel it and contact her, and he did 2 days later. YEAH RIGHT in my case, of course. Though I admit part of me wants him too...but yeah, right.

After that, I got an email saying that my tires were too low (33) and I went back to the place I got them reinflated at last week and asked, and got told "No, they're fine, they're at 34, sometimes it fluctuates." Sadly, he did not inflate them further....argh. Like, why would you not do it fuller when they are supposed to be at 38 and it takes you like two minutes? Goddamn, I hate tire filling. I absolutely CANNOT DO SUCH A SIMPLE THING MYSELF, I hate having to get help to do it, and it's a problem for the SpeeDee people to just do a quickie, but this place said they would, and ... .arghhhhhhhhh.

Per a recommendation by Val, I went by this farm on the way to karaoke where they had a petting zoo and she said it was fine to go there without a kid attached....Yeah, no, I wasn't there long.

Karaoke: When I got there, Jim was directing setup and Rance (the karaoke DJ from UOB, his bestie) and Ashley were setting up, and Ashley ran karaoke that night. This went very well, at least from my POV. There was one incident where these randos from Fresno came into the bar and one of them, a fairly tattooed guy, was looming over Ashley trying to get her to move him up in the song list, which was making Ashley very unhappy and Jim giving him the nickname "Double Dragon," commenting on his "I wear my sunglasses at night" look, and being all "I'd like to stab him with your crochet hook." (Probably not the most effective way to do someone in?) I did explain to Jim what that's like for girls--Ashley actually asked me, "Are you explaining to him?" and I was all yup, I am.

Other than that, I think people had a good time. Jim was introducing Rance to our cast of regulars and the like. Jim also had a very good time drinking and not working and claiming he was going to retire and stay home. I was all, dude, you are not going to stay home.

At one point Walt tried singing "I've Got A Lovely Bunch Of Coconuts," which went...poorly....it was going faster than he expected and at one point he was all, "Oh crap." We laughed and laughed, he recovered by the end.

After that, since I did not have to go to work the next day, I agreed to go continue doing karaoke at Miss Darla's, where the DJ on Monday nights (unlike that bored slacker dude) was actually very good at her job and provided microphone condoms ("Don't lose your condom!"). As per usual, I saw some other folks there I recognized, having a good time.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com