Chaos Attraction

Exposed Again

2022-10-18, 9:05 p.m.

Work: spent 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. doing nothing but Important Document drama. It looks like the PDF's were ordered (yay) even if I did them wrong, but I wrote out "um, is THIS what you want?" level of trying to interpret the instructions. Apparently yes means no and no means yes for this? Unclear. Oh well, I avoided The Emails, so muahahah on that, let the other teammates do that stuff. Though one lady emailed me about financial things and I wrote back "forwarding to a supervisor" and she said that I'm the only one who ever responds to her and I can't tell her no. SIGH.
I got the slippers I ordered (in lieu of espadrilles and proper sandals that I can't get) for the Encanto costume. They fit and don't hurt. Yay. They came in an extremely large box that made me think, "Was Amazon completely out of smaller envelopes and boxes? Apparently so."

Still working on the skirt.

Went to karaoke with Ashley, did three songs, ordered pizza, Jim paid for it, all was well.* Small but mighty group over there. They now have a pizza with jalepenos and HOT CHEETOS on it that Ashley insisted on getting (I took photos) and said she loved it, it wasn't hot and was "sweet." I took her word for it since I am not a fan of the flaming hot Cheeto. The sad thing was that pizza sounded delicious until the hot shit was put onto it.

I will also recount this moment: Jim: "What holiday happens at the end of October?" Larry, yelling out: "CHRISTMAS!" Jim: "Which means I sing this song" (Little Red Riding Hood) "at least 10 more times."


Rehearsal: and we're back to castmates having covid again. Steve told me when I walked in the door that Morgan got it. Me: "THIS IS WHY I LEAVE MY DAMN MASK ON ALL THE TIME." Steve concurred, and yet hasn't exactly masked up tonight. (I note that Sage and Soji did, that was it. I would have been running to grab one if I was oh, anyone else.) People think I should relax: well, look what happens when you do! Also I was around Ashley unmasked tonight, dammit. (Had to warn her, no response to that. She may not care at this point.) At least I'm not AS worried as I could have been had I been running around free faced and breathing heavy. So far, so good on tonight's test.

Hugo is "extremely sick" (unsure what day that happened on, I'm gonna presume today?), they got back from Disneyland presumably Saturday night or so, she "had the sniffles" Monday so was told to wear a mask at rehearsal, tested negative earlier today and then positive by 7 p.m. tonight. Waaaaaah. And they ran into Clocky while at Disneyland* and apparently Clocky and Scrooge Scott work at the same college and Clocky was hanging out in Scrooge Scott's office today. And Don hasn't been feeling well off and on the last few days (has been in and out) and wasn't there today, has a fever but so far his covid status is, I guess, unknown. Steve is requiring testing again--daily for the next few days and then twice a week again, days to do it on unknown.

I hate to slam on Disneyland and I know it's an engagement trip for them, but I think like 80% of my castmates who have gone to Disneyland have come back with it? Rachelle and Boris are the only people I can think of who didn't get it there, and half of Rachelle's family did anyway. Man, I don't even want to go any more. Random thought: they ran into someone at Disneyland? Hell, I couldn't even find my high school class at Disneyland.

I texted Morgan to say I assume lesson (currently scheduled for Thursday) is canceled this week, let me know when she's up to it again, and so far she said she feels fine, but we'll see by Thursday. I wonder if we should move it to Wednesday (free day from rehearsal anyway.) before she gets really sick, but who knows. Come to think of it, she briefly mentioned having a touch of...something....on Zoom Sunday, but since she sounded fine singing at the time, I didn't think much of it. So presumably for her it's come on Sunday/Monday/Tuesday, so for the rest of us it'd be Sunday/Monday/Tuesday...okay, so that'd be two days since exposure, but so far so good for me, so...

Steve set up the iPad so Morgan could watch rehearsal, at least, but the Internet kept cutting out on her briefly. I assume that's on DMTC's end since we normally don't have that issue. Okay, on to actual rehearsal...."Link By Link" again and the Marley scene before it, which they did before my arrival. I came in and they were realizing that the semi-large platform they set up to wheel Scrooge around in (it has the chair and a night stand? Why the heck do you need a nightstand?) is really too big/possibly wobbly to do that with, so back to the drawing board.* At one point I saw Scrooge Scott slowly running around the chair being slo-mo chased by Marley.

Note: they didn't have wheelie office chairs back then, right? Has this not occurred to anyone that wasn't the sort of thing they had around the house to drag him around in?
One of the publicity photos will be us torturing Scrooge with chains, so I guess I end up in one of them this time. Rehearsing of this went pretty well, missing people aside.

I found out what book Noel is reading for all these Victorian facts: "How To Be A Victorian: A Dawn To Dusk Guide to Victorian Life" by Ruth Goodman. I should check for that at the campus.

Quotes: Scrooge Scott: "Scrooges wobble but they don't fall down...It'll be an exciting show, then."
"Maybe you" (whoever) "got it" (covid) "from Mickey Mouse." Me: "He's quite the spreader."
"Omar can loom like no other."
"Always happy to put my butt in the chair. I can walk...barely."

He was saying that he won't respond to "Scotty." I told him how my parents would have named me after "Watching Scotty Grow" as a baby had I been a boy. He said, "That song was really popular when I was seven. If 7-year-olds could take out mob hits, I would have put one out on Bobby Goldsboro."

Scrooge Scott is fun to hang out with, what can I say.

Steve on testing (I note this is ghost rehearsal night): "You're all dead, so it doesn't matter."

Jan was referring to putting Steve the Beadle into the number. Every time Steve hears this, he gets nervous.

Out of nowhere: "I am so glad I invested in the NFT market."

We got out early again tonight ("don't get used to it!"). I asked Felicia if she's going to go to tap class tomorrow since it was moved to seven but we don't have rehearsal and she was all "My shoe totally broke, so no." Bleah. I was planning on going, but they don't want you to go if you were exposed. On the other hand, I had an N95 on the entire time and if I test negative tomorrow/still have no symptoms, and we wear masks the entire time at class anyway, I frankly would feel safe enough to go be around others under those circumstances. I do not feel particularly "exposed" under those circumstances. So...ethical dilemma here, especially since after this Wednesday I can't go for the next 3 weeks and I'd like to get more experience in before we do it in a show.

SIGH. This fucking shit again.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com