Chaos Attraction

Another One Down

2022-10-20, 9:15 p.m.

Went to bed at 9 a.m., woke up at 5 a.m. Very weird.

In office day: spent 3 hours sorting out mail. Spent the afternoon having to train people in stuff. Then sat through a meeting that seems to boil down to "the new guy has to fix something before we do it." New guy is someone who worked here pre-pandemic--I think he quit to start a martial arts studio or something...?--so I guess that didn't go so well. Oh well, he seemed cheerful enough being back at something else. Otherwise I still didn't have a lot to do and my temp coworker asked if I had anything, and I was all "here's my secret stash of stuff I only do when there's nothing else to do" (it's not crucial fixing, just like, deleting redundant records). I don't think she actually did any though! Oh well...

Other than that, I took MORE shoes back to UPS (sigh), got a book on Victorian life Noel recommended out of the library, knit during lunch, and ran into my buddy from another office again and agreed to do lunch next week.

Singing lesson: Morgan is doing well, says it's "cold symptoms" and she and Hugo are fine, she can sing deep-voiced, which works out given what we're doing of late. More "Maybe This Time," which continues to be tricky. I have listened to Kristin Chenowith adding extra bits onto long notes too much, apparently, because I keep wanting to imitate her and Morgan is all "no, just keep the one long note, please" about it (which is fair). I think maybe I feel like I should be making it more interesting or something? :P Anyway, that continues to be fairly hard compared to everything else--I think other songs we've moved on after a few sessions, not this one so much :P Which is fine, knew that was going to be last and hardest of the bunch as is.


Rehearsal: another one down, as Scrooge Scott came in for his solo rehearsal before this, "wasn't feeling well," took a rapid test and guess what. So he went home and he's out for...awhile. And Omar never showed up/answered his phone tonight, so hopefully he just like, slept through rehearsal or something instead of car accident or covid. Don's back though (not covid), feeling almost better. So...yeah, that's how things are going on that topic. Dannette set up a perpetual Zoom rehearsal room and had a great setup for Morgan to watch it tonight, so that was excellent. Sage's entire family masked up and um, them and me were about it. Guys, y'all might want to since someone literally came down with it IN THE BUILDING TONIGHT....sigh Everyone has to keep testing (I'm still fine). I told Jan her five day wait starts again today since he got it. She still hopes people will return fast, but I dunno. I figure Morgan will be fine fast, but Scrooge Scott is old.... :/ and Don said he'd been sick before.

Otherwise, did "Dancing On Your Grave" and got out at 9:15 again, which is a yay for Maya and her homework load. (Her: "I have to do ten minutes of reading." Me: "That's not bad." Her: "In Spanish." Me: "Okay, not quite as good." Plus a big ol "plan a trip" math assignment, which sounds a lot more fun than what I did in middle school.) We also talked about Evita a bit and her meeting Evie after B&tB. "That girl has sass." Darned right!

Felicia's ballet is lovely. I managed to get the "Old Joe" voice down tonight--creepy without raspy, I CERTAINLY HOPE I REMEMBER THAT FOR THE REST OF THE SHOW. (Other Jennifer liked it.) Morgan is going to be added on as an undertaker um, whenever. Apparently the other three are going to be spun around and wrestling sheets--have fun with that....? And we all did EVIL LAUGHS, so finally my laugh is good for something around here. Jan was loving giving instructions for that. Me: "Is this your favorite part?" Her: "It's fun! I'm a character actress!"

Funniest part of the night: as the Cratchits (minus Tiny Tim) are mourning on one side of the stage, Maya walked out on the other side, slitting her throat. We laughed and laughed.

I messaged Kimmie after the rehearsal to ask (a) is there a set construction plan/requested people for the weekend, and (b) you may need to advise on lifts again for "Dancing On Your Grave" when they get the shovels. Noel was all, "I hope they're plastic shovels" and "I can't lift much," and I said I think plastic ones may not exist to buy...I guess we'll see on that topic.

I have 38 covid tests (all of the free variety since I just used my $100 of paid fors) in my house right now. In a giant box, organized by expiration date. This is my life now.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com