Chaos Attraction

Anniversary Party

2022-10-21, 9:16 p.m.

I forgot to mention yesterday that Yemi was all "Oh yeah, we kept a turkey in the kitchen when we lived in Nigeria." I asked if it pooped all over and she said, "no, it was well behaved, kept to its nest." And then they killed and ate it. I'm still boggled at the idea of a not-obnoxious turkey.

Ashley spent the night in the ER turning blue at one point (actually that was yesterday, I guess she's still not doing great though, but we did make some jokes about looking like a Na'vi), and Meg got covid from Sarah Brown and her husband visiting for 3 weeks--sounds like they brought it with them? SIGH. Her husband's not home right now, at least. Said it's just cold symptoms. Scrooge Scott updated to say that his PCR test (which he'd gotten the day before the rapid test he took at the theater) came in negative. THIS IS CONFUSING. Says he's going to take another test and go with 2 out of 3.

There is no set building on Saturday, just Sunday (both paint and build). faint Whatever shall I do with a free Saturday? More yarn, probably. Maybe go to the movies?

Another super boring day in the office with not a lot to do and a lot of time to kill. Like we had a big group project for an hour and I did some emails and stuff and mostly it was a lot of dead time stuck there. I spent the afternoon plotting the next big knitting project--the Isabella Encanto dress. I managed to find a website where I could buy a LOT of orchid DK yarn for extremely cheap (huzzah! 10 balls of 300 yds apiece for $2.99 each!), hopefully the yarn feels nice?). I also realized while looking at dresses that the one I bought off Amazon awhile back and ended up with 2 with by accident when one appeared to get lost in the mail for days (still have the second) could very well work as a basis for that outfit...I ended up ordering the yarn anyway because I love orchid pinky-purple shade and maybe I'll make a full on dress, maybe not, maybe just add things to the dress... I dunno. I've got ideas, I'm pretty sure I can put that to one use or another.

I need to figure out what size yarn gauge you get if you knit with two fingering yarns together. I saw a cute sweater pattern that claims that two fingering yarns together comes out as worsted weight, but I highly doubt this.


After work (and more working on the skirt in between going) I went to Arthur and Dannette's 20th anniversary party. Surprise, surprise, Scott actually came to that--after picking up his best friend to take him to the ER after his Tesla got hit. (Note: I would not want to get one of those anyway thanks to Elon Musk being world's dumbest genius, but apparently that will take months to fix and involve their lone car being shipped to Washington for that. Oy vey.) So there were some hugs and he worked his way across the party and did eventually hang out around me for the latter half of it. Mostly talking about home remodeling and the various dramas that Winters is going through lately.

We were having various conversations throughout the night about various theaters and the joys of finding venues and whatnot. Found out some DMTC history via Dannette on that one and why various other theaters (Runaway Stage) went under from others. Apparently Winters wants to bring back Miracle Worker (again? I'm surprised they're still trying after 2 years and losing cast members from 2020) next, but who knows where since the church/"Grand Princetorium."* they are using for the next show is as disliked by the city manager as the theater company is. I said "Are they doing it with or without Jesse?" (director of it) since last I heard he and Linda had some kind of falling out. He said he didn't know. I think he gets all this from his chiropractor who used to be on the board? God knows I can't get Cameron to say much.

Seriously, this is apparently the name and the lady who bought it is in a Prince cover band. I did hear it's very purple. There was also discussion as to whether or not it has enough bathrooms, Andee vouched that it does because she's sung at it and used them all.

On a related note, Scott talks Cameron up to the skies a whole lot, including all the times they've made out onstage, which he claims to find hilarious. Uh-huh. I bet he never talks me up like that, but then again, he doesn't think I have talent. I gather the one time I came up in conversation was when the family was trying to get rid of a piano recently and his parents gave it to my coworker/former supervisor, who used to work for them back in the day. Go figure on that one.

I did try asking him for the photo of us at B&tB, he said he still hasn't gotten it from his aunt yet. Sigh. Well, at least that's on his aunt.

Funny moments:

Andee is doing costuming for the Spelling Bee show and said, "We're not going to have someone under 18 sing "My Unfortunate Erection." I cracked up so hard, and made her repeat that later when Scott came over. Jean (costumes) was all, "But people at 12 are already having those, it's not like they don't know."

Jean realizing that she'd seen Scott in "The Viewing Room" and then straight out said, "That was boring." He didn't argue the point. I was also kind of amused that Jean thought last week's ghost show shouldn't have cost $33 ("no orchestra, not a lot of sets or people, it was homegrown so they weren't paying anyone to do it...") and "only season ticket holders and us probably went." Eh, I enjoyed it, at least, even if I concur with everyone else on certain sudden plot elements being uh, sudden.

A good time was had by all who hung out, we left around 10.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com