Chaos Attraction

So Much For Cord Cutting

2021-10-23, 7:08 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Shirt Signs - 2021-10-28
Confession - 2021-10-27
Today's Therapy - 2021-10-26
Butterfly - 2021-10-25
Hallmark Movie Reviews: Divorce Drama and Dying Trees - 2021-10-24

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

(written next day but covering late Saturday night/early Sunday morning)

Oh, what a night. I'm worn out today. Not sure if I've lost consciousness or not, but I have been getting up and going back to bed all day since nearly 4 a.m. Might as well, it's the Storm of the Century out there and rainy as heck, though not horrendously windy here as we were to expect and we still have power. I'm too awake to sleep but too tired to have much energy to do anything.

Last night: It was raining a fair amount when I left, but nothing too hideous, thank goodness. After figuring out how to desteam my car again--I'd completely forgotten how to drive in winter night rain--I made it there in time. I was wearing my beloved purple wig and was super amused that Janene had a similar wig--longer hair, same shade of purple but with blue streaks.

Then Scott showed up and I ignored him arriving, thankyouverymuch. I tried, I should say? My plan was to just not say much? Then we get into the building and Robert* was all "you guys haven't seen each other in a long time, right?" and Scott said as much--and then we had a verrrrrry long hug there in front of everybody. The "I haven't seen/heard from you in a long time" did come out of him a few times throughout the night (more on this later). He also bought me the bag of props to throw and whatnot during the show I will also note that he had on one of the masks I got him back in March.

Discussion of other shows: I'm told that Jean got into the concert show I auditioned for, Robert said he's vaguely pondering auditioning for The Producers but isn't feeling great about crowds, I said that nobody came down with it during Mary Poppins and I think it's about as safe as that can get these days if he wants to. Scott said he actually considered doing Titanic and then decided to not try to do it last minute. It sounds like this group in general is considering moving over to DMTC since to quote Scott on this, "Winters is doing fuckall." I asked about hearing that Miracle Worker is postponed again and he said that they're probably doing it 2 years after they were supposed to be doing it, which is now a problem since Alexis (who was playing Annie Sullivan) is now going to college...in Reno...and the kids obviously have kept on aging. I didn't hear anything on a lack of performance venue, but it doesn't sound like they're doing anything else at the moment.

As for the actual production: they ha a high school theme--Rocky Mountain High (at one point they're playing the John Denver song and I was all ugh...) but the rest of the song choices before/middle of the show were delightfully dirty. They dug up "Blame It On The Rain," hahahah. They played a lot of Britney. One of the "phantoms" did a pre-show dance to "Telephone." There was a midbreak dance contest to "Toxic" which I dearly wish I'd been invited into but was not--I think it was people the dancers knew. Awesome dancing though. I was off dancing in the aisles myself and I managed to dance so much my corset came entirely unlaced! They also liked the light-up skirt I had on. They also played "Big Balls" and Scott started singing along, of course. I said that people mentioned him doing it at karaoke, but no response there.

The wall decor: there was a lot of penis graffiti. There were two "Sign Frank's Yearbook" signs that I wish it had occurred to us to sign, darn it. Didn't figure out we could have until later.

"Frank, Glad I passed my "oral" exam!! -Brad Majors"
"Hope you enjoyed it as much as I did! Fuck you later." -Frank
"I hope your summer is a real time warp." -Riff Raff
"Hope you have one long hard time!"
Other signs that I ran around photographing: * "Rocky (Mountain High crossed out) Horror, Home of the (Broncos crossed out) Dildos Est. 2014" * "RHS High Presents Bye Bye Birdie Tomorrow at 8 p.m. in the gym" with nipples in the O's in Tomorrow (I have a photo of Scott literally pointing that out) * "Go RHS Dildos!" * "For A Good Time (Vote crossed out) Call Columbia for Vice Prez." * A "How To: Time Warp" poster that came out later.

I wish I could have photographed the sets--they're performing in the gym with the "Home" score being 69 and the visitors being "00" as nipples. They had prom signs, of course for the "Enchantment Under The Sea Dance." There was, of course, a giant light up penis sign onstage off and on. The dancers were cheerleaders. Frank wore recreations of famous outfits, like Britney's "Baby One More Time" video outfit and the yellow outfit from Clueless. I think they threw in extra lines, which was fun. I had a very good time watching it. I did kind of wish they'd have made some kind of reference about Frank creating Rocky as a science project for school, though. I note that Dr. Scott and Eddie were played by the same person--logically makes sense other than the age difference since they don't overlap/are related.

I had planned to NOT sit next to Scott during this, but guess what happened there :P He is....very into this. Does all the dirty callbacks, I kept cracking up. There was some planted guy in the back that was also doing this quite loudly that was amusing. While I did have to ah, be careful during the Time Warp, it was good to be sitting next to him ah...touching again...

(So much for cord cutting, eh? So much for "I really am over him," eh? Yeah, I still like him, sigh.)

After it ended, we met the friend of Robert's in the show who gave him the comp tickets, she was very nice and said this was her first in person show in about ten years, and she's going to Disneyland for her birthday. We took a lot of various photos of ourselves--I'm next to him in all of them. Yes, he wanted a picture of us together (though I grumble today that he hasn't gotten around to sending those out...okay, so he's at work and I should not push.). He was parked out back and followed me out to talk to me for a bit, even in the pouring rain, mentioned again how he hadn't seen/heard from me in a long time, hugged me goodbye...

There's slightly more to it: I've been only wearing my glasses to drive these days, and when I went to get them out of the case, the case was EMPTY. I promptly freaked out, went through my purse and the car multiple times, went back into the theater (which was cleaned and they weren't there), and continued to freak out. I tried calling Robert but he didn't answer. So...I called Scott and he said he'd turn around and drive me home if necessary, then figuring out "how to get the car back without being towed" could have been an issue.... Then finally I found the darn things fell down under the seat, somehow. So he was saved from doing that. I felt bad about bothering him since he had to work the next day and this was all happening at 2;30 a.m. as is...but it would have been interesting to get to talk to him alone for a long period of time, I must say.

The drive home was extremely wet and while it wasn't heinously windy, and there weren't very many cars on the road to backwash in my face, the roads were kinda skiddy and I kept driving slower and slower (usually between 45-60), and the drive felt longer and longer and I wanted to get home faster but I couldn't...it took about 45 minutes for a half hour ride under the circumstances. I was trying to listen to my audio book and I cranked the volume ALL THE WAY and still couldn't hear the people talking over the rain, that's how that was going. I was very relieved to get home around 3:30 a.m., having not died. I texted Robert to say "don't worry about that panicky message," texted Scott to say I got home (no response) and attempted to go to bed.

So yeah, I don't know what to make of things now.... but at least he doesn't hate me. Still seems to like me on some level, anyway. At least noticed at some point (if only tonight) that I haven't been around at all.

So now what?

I'm debating whether or not to try talking to him about what happened. May revisit this in therapy on Tuesday.

Mom called and I told her. She said, "Sometimes it is good to have somebody miss you. That said, he could put himself out there too."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com